Do As I Say….

….not as I do.

Let’s see, someone asked me today ….’what’s the best piece of advice you’ve given someone that you failed to take yourself?’   (Someone being a prompt in my email from Daily Prompt people.  So technically the above statement is true.)

In honesty and fairness to myself I have weaved in and out of listening to myself.  Sometimes I’ve followed my own advice but sometimes I don’t.  So since I don’t always  take my own advice I can’t say I always take my own advice.  So technically I fail to take my own advice.

It’s kind of like my belief in “integrity”.   You can’t have integrity “sometimes”.   You either do or you don’t.  Yes, that is truly similar to what I’m saying here.  Even if it doesn’t make sense to you.

Some things I say or said, but at some time have failed to follow.

*Don’t drink your calories.  (Iced capps are just too good.  But for the most part I have given up milkshakes.)

*Don’t get married at 18.  (Okay, I didn’t say that until long after I married at 18.  And just because I said it doesn’t mean I really believe it anyway because I’ve seen it work beautifully.  So it’s probably a good thing everyone doesn’t listen to me.   Or even know me to hear me say things.)

*Don’t eat so many carbs.  (Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha….)

*Mix up your workouts.  (Biking every day and reading something different IS mixing it up.)

*Listen more.  Talk less.   (I really want to follow this one.   Wait, maybe I haven’t really said it yet.)

*Don’t cuss.  (Don’t judge me.)

*Don’t say you don’t like it if you haven’t tried it.   (What I told my kids does count.  And I do wrinkle my nose and say “GAH! NO WAY!” when it comes to fried bugs.  And liver.)

*Protein people!  Eat protein!!!   (I’ve said this to myself, in my head.  Does that count?)

*Save money.  (It’s soooooo hard to say no to everyone!)

Oh wait….the best piece of advice ….

Please disregard this post.  I don’t have a “best” piece of advice.   Just a bunch of stuff I have said over the years.

Sorry ’bout that.

 

Tagged , , ,

27 thoughts on “Do As I Say….

  1. Funny stuff, Colleen! I hear ya on the carbs/protein thing. Who actually gives up bread? Not me! As for how you characterized integrity, I couldn’t agree with you more. A person either has it or they don’t. Integrity happens to be a quality I really value in people. Fortunately, my husband is an emblematic poster boy for integrity!

  2. bikebrown says:

    Eat less, workout more and don’t eat junk.

    Yea right.

  3. Yaz says:

    Oh dear Colleen, what if I said that I have integrity every now and again….when I feel like it…….

  4. Mustang.Koji says:

    You mentioned (er, underline) integrity. You are spot on with “you either have it or you don’t”.

    Integrity – or the absence thereof – is at the core of our society’s ills. Latest is this Benghazi/Petraeus/Rice stuff.

    But I do read some great commentaries from Michael Josephson. He wrote:

    “Abraham Lincoln was very concerned with character, but he also was aware of the importance of having a good reputation. He explained the difference this way: “Character is like a tree and reputation like its shadow. The shadow is what we think of it; the tree is the real thing.” Put another way, your reputation is what people think of you, your character is what you actually are.”

    And that includes integrity.

    Good stuff, Chatter Master.

    • Koji thanks for that share. I really like it. Makes the point very clear. I remember the first time I read this about integrity and I actually had to stop and stare at it. What a mantra to include in one’s life.

  5. This is great! I’m definitely guilty of many of these!

  6. The Heretic says:

    I am just as guilty of not listening to my own advice at times as well.

  7. [...] Do As I Say…. « The Chatter Blog [...]

  8. “. . . since I don’t always take my own advice I can’t say I always take my own advice.” The logic here, my friend, is genius! I take this to mean you’re honest? LOL
    Hugs,
    Kathy

  9. lexiesnana says:

    Do as I say not as I do was always one of my favorites.I got married to Hungarian Work Horse two days after I turned seventeen.Best decision I made in my life and in a way I guess you were right I never got married when I was eighteen.I love this post Chatter Master.

  10. Anonymous says:

    Giving great advice to others does not mean it is great for you….the cussing thing would just be wrong…..wait, cussing is wrong? Right?
    Always Check teeth for seeds….that is good advice!

  11. cshowers says:

    I totally enjoyed your post… I guess all of us have those “Do as I say, not as I do” times. I really love your sense of humor. Thanks for sharing a great post!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,752 other followers

