The Test

What if everything in our lives is a test?

What if we have to live our lives to get answers to formulate who, exactly, we are.  At the end, our answers are tallied and our score is given.   I’m not sure if I would pass.  Then again, I don’t know the answers to score my answers anyway.

What if every person or situation that we come across is a test to see how we handle ourselves.   What if every chance encounter of disagreement a grade is given to see how we handle ourselves?   I know, it’s only ‘what if’.

But…what if….it’s so?

We all have beliefs that we hold dear.  That are true to us and it doesn’t make sense that others don’t hold these beliefs true as well.  It confuses us, that others don’t agree.  What if the test isn’t about getting others to think like you or agree with you.   What if the test is about how you handle yourself in knowing someone else is ‘wrong’.

Well, if you indeed, know you are right.  I am pretty sure if life is a test that I am mostly failing because I never know the certain answer.

What if I am right, and you are wrong, and I hold it against you that you’re wrong.   Does that make me more right?  Or just as wrong?

What if, to pass the test, I am graded on how I treat those who I don’t agree with and who I perceive as wrong.   It’s not about the subject we disagree about.  It’s about how we treat one another while we disagree.

What if part of the test is standing strong in my convictions and not swaying to popular, or unpopular, persuasion.  I know I would fail, because I know I am usually swayed by a person’s emotions and humanity, than I am about being right and strong  about my convictions.

What if part of the test is about absolutes.   And I have absolute belief that I am not capable of applying blanket positives for or upon every person I encounter.  I don’t feel absolutely sure that what I know for me is right for you.  But if this is a test, than other people’s certainties and absolutes leave me feeling like I’m just out here flailing along, and failing.

What if part of the test is knowing Who to trust and I fail by trusting someone who isn’t in charge, isn’t in control, isn’t any different than me.  What if I fail because I trust someone….like me.   Someone….capable of failing.  Capable of being…wrong.   I know I’m capable of failing, capable of being wrong, I wouldn’t want anyone picking me to give them the answers.

I kind of think our life is a test.  Whether we are graded by others, or Someone greater than ourselves, or self graded.  I don’t know this for certain.  I kind of suspect it is, a test I mean.  Sometimes I wish I knew better answers.   But if this is all about ‘what if’s’ than I guess I can hope that if life is a test…..  I’m not the only one who isn’t sure of the answers.   And I hope I’m not always wrong.   And I hope I’m not always right.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

19 thoughts on “The Test

  1. Mustang.Koji says:

    It would appear that in your case, Chatter Master, your wisdom is far greater than any measure of being right or wrong.

  2. bikebrown says:

    I think the important part of the test is taking it, not how you answer. You need to take part instead of sitting on the sidelines. Life is a participatory activity. I’m positive you have nothing to worry about.

  3. tests make me panic! oh and by the way i am always right so if you ever need advise…
    😉

  4. I like the zen inherent in your last two sentences–and Husband’s perspective that what matters most is playing the game–that life is participatory. Sounds simple, but often it’s easy to forget.
    Hope you’ve had a good day, my friend, and have finished your green smoothie!
    Hugs,
    Kathy

  5. No bike ride. By the time we were able, it had begun to rain. We’re gonna do it first thing in the morning to be on the safe side. Have a great day tomorrow, my dear!
    Hugs,
    Kathy

  6. yazrooney says:

    What if…all the answers lay with YOU and not others? What if…you had to learn to trust only you? What if…all your ‘what ifs’ were not ‘what ifs’ at all but absolute truths because they came from within?

  7. Robin says:

    “What if I am right, and you are wrong, and I hold it against you that you’re wrong. Does that make me more right? Or just as wrong?

    What if, to pass the test, I am graded on how I treat those who I don’t agree with and who I perceive as wrong. It’s not about the subject we disagree about. It’s about how we treat one another while we disagree.”

    I have been pondering something similar for the past week after a recent disagreement that I didn’t realize was a disagreement (or an argument) until I get hit with some harsh (hurtful) words from the other party. Then I found myself pondering what I did wrong in the situation, how I might have been the cause (I was certainly half the cause) of what happened.

    Brilliant post, my new funny toe shoe wearing friend. 🙂

    • 🙂 Funny toe shoe wearing friend. Ha! 🙂 I will always think of you when I see those shoes.

      I hope the situation resolved with out any more harsh feelings. It’s amazing what we say to one another isn’t it? I know I say things and later wondered what ever possessed me to say something to that person like that.

Leave a Reply

