Then He Was Gone

As is my healthy, considerate and appropriate habit I was washing my hands before leaving the bathroom at work.   There are four sinks.  And a very long mirror facing those standing at the sinks washing their hands.

I don’t know how many thousands of times I have stood in front of those mirrors and paid no attention to the reflection looking back at me.  For all I know there may be hundreds of times when there was no reflection…..  but I wasn’t paying attention so I couldn’t say for sure whether there was always a reflection or not.

You know how it is.  Your mind wonders.  You’re sure the phone call you’ve been waiting for, for over an hour, is coming in while you run to the bathroom.   Or you walk in and are awash in smoke from an illegally snuck cigarette in the bathroom.  Or you’ve seen yourself so many times you don’t even notice when you do see yourself in the mirror.

The point is….

Today I didn’t see myself.

I’m just scrubbing my hands in the foamy soap and putting them under water when I glance up and see my dad looking back at me.

Whoa.

I stood up from the sink I was bent over to wash my hands.  For a nano-flash my hands just hung and I stood shocked.

He was there.

Nope.

Then he’s gone.

*
*
*

Just me.                                                                                                                                             And dad.

Image - CopyHis Face

I’m pretty sure it was just me.   With a little bit of dad.   I’m glad he stopped by for a visit from heaven.  It made me smile.  There were probably more appropriate places to visit.  But  Dad always liked a good prank.   Well done dad.

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

26 thoughts on “Then He Was Gone

  1. ahaha! i love this and that you saw your Dad. 🙂

  2. Ah that’s such a great post. You look like your handsome dad, same smile. I love my daddy and hope he comes to visit me too. He was a silly Englishman so am sure if/when he does it’ll be fun. 🙂

    • Thanks Paulette! I am sure your dad will do exactly the same thing. When you aren’t looking for him and at the oddest moments. The bathroom???? 🙂 Thanks for sharing the belief and the fun of it.

  3. Robin says:

    How wonderful of him to drop in on you like that! My mother pulls that little trick on me from time to time. Sometimes in the mirror and sometimes in reflections. All of sudden, there she is. You certainly have your dad’s smile. 🙂

    • I pulled these pictures because I thought they were pretty similar. But I didn’t even have to go looking. The picture of me was from this weekend and I knew what picture of dad would be so similar. Isn’t it surprising when they do this to us? I know I look like my dad. But sometimes, it truly seems like it’s him looking back at me when I particularly look like him for that second!

  4. Anonymous says:

    Lovely post!

  5. bikebrown says:

    I’m sad I never got the chance to meet your dad. I think I’d like him.

  6. Anka says:

    What a wonderful surprise! I’m sure it was a blessing to catch a glimpse of your father. Even if it was for a split second. Love BOTH of those photos. Thanks for sharing this story, Colleen! 🙂

  7. billduff says:

    I guess maybe you had been reflecting on him so much – it was his time to reflect on you! What a wonderful experience – and a tribute to your Dad. I’m happy for you, Colleen!

    • Thank you Stacey! 🙂 I was literally surprised to see so much of him in me it was like, for that moment, there he was. And sure enough, that’s how I believe it to be. I was supposed to see him in me. 🙂

  8. Irish Katie says:

    *gentle smile* … besides that fact that you have your da’s smile….it was a nice visit. I am sure it was a nice visit for him too *smiles*

  9. I catch a glimpse of the other side now and then and am glad I do. Sometimes from the corner of my eye sometimes in the face of a passing driver or pedestrian.

    • Amazing isn’t it? I look at some pictures of him and see only my brothers, or one brother, or three of them. Then wham, there he is looking at me out of me! I like the visits. 🙂

  10. Wow! Of course I think it was him! Our loved ones find ways to make special appearances! But my goodness I am overtaken by the resemblance between you two! Your eyebrows arch the same, your cheeks crunch the exact same way as you both smile, the smile lines around your mouth are in the exact same place and your lips are identical! I also wouldn’t be surprised to find out you both had the same personality!

  11. Anonymous says:

    hmmmm……looks as if I am cropped out. nice story….not sure how big jim would feel about you croppin me! =)

Leave a Reply

