AY MAYTEENTH Changed My Life

I remember the moment I first learned about her.   My daughter called me as my coworker and I parked on a street to go in to an investigation.   We sat in the car while I took the call.   She said “mom, don’t ask me any questions, please, but I need to talk to you.   Can we come out tomorrow.”

I honored her request and didn’t ask anything.  But I looked at my coworker and told her “my daughter is pregnant”.

The next night my daughter only confirmed what I already knew.

And my life changed.

I remember the very first time I saw her.   The other grandma, hence forth known as “Nana” and I accompanied my daughter to the ultrasound.

And that moment when her little self was shown to us my world expanded.

And my life changed.

I remember the day she was born.   All the families, my family, Nana’s family, all of us were up at 3 a.m. to go to the hospital.   To celebrate her arrival.

None of us knew her name before her birth.    When her father came out to tell us she had arrived  and her name was presented to us the name echoed in my old soul.  A queen’s name.  A queen’s life.   Queen Grace O’Malley.  I coronated her that very moment.

And my life changed.

Tomorrow is AY MAYTEENTH.   I celebrate it with nothing buy joy in my heart and gladness in my spirit.

A grand day for a grand baby.  How do you not love and adore something that forever more makes you a grand in life?

A day like none other.   A day that no other person owns like she does.   Ay Mayteenth.   Her day.   Her very own day.

I thank God for that day.

And I thank Him for changing my life.

(Times four, blessed)
Tagged , , , , , , ,

31 thoughts on “AY MAYTEENTH Changed My Life

  1. Brittant says:

    😉 so sweet mom!

  2. Mary says:

    The Irish Pirate Queen is has found her treasure in her wonderful family! And once again Colleen,I think you should write a book:). Blessings to you and your wonderful family. Enjoy Grace O’Malley’s special day:)

  3. msampson999 says:

    I love her so much! She’s a beautiful child, inside and out!

  4. lexiesnana says:

    Yep they are a blessing and thet do change eveything that is for sure!

  5. bikebrown says:

    A baby fills a spot in your heart that you didn’t even know was there.

  6. Beautiful post. Beautiful Baby. Enjoy your weekend. 🙂

  7. brittany says:

    That day is very special and changed my life as well! 😉

  8. Anka says:

    I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, you are an AMAZING mother and grandmother! Your grandchildren are blessed to have someone so committed in their lives.

    Happy Happy Birthday to Queen Grace! 😉

  9. What a delightful story! There’s something so perfect in the grandchild-grandparent relationship. My little darlings have certainly changed my life in every way, and it isn’t possible for them to be any more precious to us. Queen Grace is a blessed child to have so much love! 🙂

    • She (and the others) are loved so very much. It is special isn’t it? And so amazing! And though I knew I would love these babies, I am floored by the power of it. 🙂

  10. viveka says:

    What a wonderful name … she got. What a lovely story you shared with me too …. don’t have any children so I will never become a grandma neither, but I have seen what grandchildren has done to my friends.

    • Thank you Viveka. I called her Queen Grace O’Malley so much when she was little that when you asked her her name that’s what she would say! The full title. Her dad said we had to stop because it would confuse her in school. 😉 Eh. She does know her full name, but she also knows my full name for her. 🙂

  11. Oh, that’s beautiful! I have seen so many adoring posts recently about little girls born in May (mine included)…I think there must be something about these girls born in May! Also, I kept trying to figure out what Ay Mayteenth was (I thought it was some Irish holiday)….I finally figured it out when I read your tags!! WHC!!!

    • 🙂 She has always said it that way. And always will. My nephew is getting married today and I refer to it like that to him and to the world. It sounds better! 🙂

      And little girls are very special (barring the teenage years).

      😉

  12. dogear6 says:

    We went through this recently with our daughter when she thought she’d gotten pregnant. I kept telling her it wasn’t the end of the world. She kept saying she wasn’t ready for it. I kept her focused on she could do this if she had to. It turned out she wasn’t pregnant, but it was a tough couple of weeks for her when the pregnancy tests kept coming back so weird (even her blood test was undecided).

    I’m glad to hear you were good about it and your daughter got through it all okay.

    Nancy

    • She did get through it quite well. And she kept crying. I promised her there was absolutely no way I was going to start that baby’s life out by being angry. No way. Surprise, maybe. But so many surprises in life are the absolute best. I hope your daughter is okay after all of that. It would be emotionally draining to not know…

  13. Mustang.Koji says:

    This ancient Japanese man has deduced “Ay Mayteenth” means her birthday?… Or that I am fashionably late for the party?

  14. Brittany says:

    She has changed all of us forever!! I love my little Amelia Bedila. ❤️

  15. Mustang.Koji says:

    Happy birthday once again from this old Japanese man! Wow… A year already…

Leave a Reply

