Whether They Like It Or Not

I don’t think you should sing as if no one is listening.

I think you should sing because you need to sing.

Tonight I found myself singing because no one was listening.

And it occurred to me that I only sing when I think no one is listening.

So I don’t sing.

And that’s just wrong.

I want to sing.

Regardless of who is listening.

And whether they like it or not.

If it’s something I have to do,

Then I’m going to do it.

Sing

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

70 thoughts on “Whether They Like It Or Not

  1. I can actually hear… when you are singing. It’s a Colleen vibration, a familiar, appreciated frequency. 🙂

  2. mewhoami says:

    I wish you the best in this. I too love to sing, but getting past the ‘stage fright’ is hard to do. But, why not? Sing – we only live once right, so why deny ourselves?

  3. What would you do if I sang out if tune, would you stand up and walk out on me , lend me your ears and I’ll sing you a song, and I’ll try not to sing out if key.

  4. Mustang.Koji says:

    I’ve heard you sing…and… ☺

  5. NotAPunkRocker says:

    Sing, sing, sing!

  6. As well you should just like dancing as if no-one is watching. Go for it. ❤

  7. Gibber says:

    Just let me get my earplugs and then sing away! 😉

  8. I have on two separate occasions had someone remark on how poorly I sing, both times after I had let loose and sang because I was absorbed in the moment. Those remarks had a devastating effect on my confidence and I’m still trying to dig myself back out. So I know what it’s like to want to sing but not. Sing away, I say! I’ll join in. 😉

    • Shame on them. I’m glad you’re joining in. I know I don’t sing “well”. There’s no need to have it pointed out to me. But whether I sing well or not does not diminish the impact of music on my emotions, well being, healing, etc. It still impacts me and works through me. That says more about them, then it does your ‘ability’ to sing. 🙂 Sing !!

  9. Anonymous says:

    poop, where is the video!!!!!!!!!!

  10. CINDY says:

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY WEENIE, AND I’M SINGING THAT!!!!!!

  11. Robin says:

    Good for you! I hear it’s your birthday so I shall sing Happy Birthday to You. 🙂

  12. reocochran says:

    I would sing, whether or not, there are listeners, too! I tend to sing at work, I enjoy humming too, since I don’t know all the words (usually!) ha ha!

  13. Hmmm interesting. I love it, we should all try it.

  14. markbialczak says:

    Sing for yourself, Colleen. If people don’t like it, they can stop listening. I’ve told I should sing solo. So low nobody can hear me. Ba-da-boom.

  15. niaaeryn says:

    Heck yes! Sing! 😉

  16. Michelle says:

    I sing in the grocery store because it embarrasses my kids. Well..it used to..they grew up and don’t care as much now.

  17. dogear6 says:

    I feel the same way about my diaries and photographs. I do it because I want to do it, not for any critical acclaim or recognition. Good topic (once again!).

    Nancy

  18. Me too. Singing is a release. It should be done at all times.

  19. […] Colleen at The Chatter Blog had a wonderful post about singing because you have to sing.  Her post is enthusiastic, […]

  20. dogear6 says:

    Thanks for the picture and that was perfect! Here’s the pin:

Leave a Reply

