A Child’s Compassion

Her little four year old self was busy nosing through everything she could.  She would pick up every item and ask what it was.  Can she have it?  What’s it for?  Where did it come from?  Who’s is it?  Can I have it anyway?

She picked up a roll of Necco Wafers sitting in a cup.   She asked what it was.   I told her it was candy like my dad used to buy us when we were kids.

She asked if she could have it.

I told her no, I’m sorry.  Someone bought it for me because it reminded me of my dad.   She said “oh” and didn’t understand why that mattered.

I told her my dad had died.  She looked at me without fully understanding.

I said “my daddy’s not here any more.  He’s in heaven.”

Her little expression changed.  And she said “that’s so sad”.

I told her “it is”.

She said “okay” and put the Necco Wafers back in the cup with a nice little pat.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

35 thoughts on “A Child’s Compassion

  1. ahh beautiful story. ❤
    Diana xo

  2. mewhoami says:

    Aw, so sweet and so sweet of her for understanding.

  3. Understanding from one so young, so sweet.

  4. dogear6 says:

    Awww. How nice that you kept rephrasing it until she could understand it. It’s so hard for us adults to do that.

    Nancy

  5. How sweet! I’m sorry about your loss.

  6. NotAPunkRocker says:

    Such a sweet story. May she continue carrying that natural compassion as she grows older.

  7. Gibber says:

    Awww such a sweet child. 🙂

  8. markbialczak says:

    Beautiful moment of shared understanding, Colleen.

  9. So poignant, and lovely. If it’s referring to a personal loss of yours, I’m so sorry to hear this. ❤

    • The Necco Wafers were candies my dad used to get us as kids a few decades ago. Someone got me them when they saw them after not seeing them for years. My father has been gone since 1998.

      Thank you Paulette. I’m glad she understood they might mean something to me.

  10. Aah. Ripped my heart out. What a sweet, sweet child. ❤ ❤ ❤

  11. Robin says:

    This is a beautiful little story. And the second one I’ve read today involving Necco wafers.

  12. niaaeryn says:

    She was so sweet. 🙂 It is great someone found those, I have not seen them around in some time.

  13. viveka says:

    Wonderful how big wonders come in small packages. *smile – she knew that she had reached the end of the road. *smile

Leave a Reply

