True Story

On our way to deliver two small children back to their parents we meandered about the countryside looking for other sites to stop and visit.   On one country road we saw a gravel road that veered off to the right as our road veered left.  I pointed and husband driver veered right.  Because there at the top of a knoll was a grey, old and possibly haunted church.

All abandoned buildings hold the potential for hauntings.

We all clamored out of the car.  And walked about the graveyard.  I explained to the kids that we should be respectful of those resting in the grave yard.  They wanted to know if there were skeletons there.  In the yard.  I told them that the bodies were buried there, yes.  But the part of the people that laughed and talked like we are now, and had thoughts and feelings, that part left the body and went somewhere else.  So they don’t need the bodies any more.  They had no problem understanding that, and have their own concept of heaven already.  So they figured the spirits of the people had left and gone on to visit with Jesus.

Unless they were still ‘here’.

So while we explored the graveyard, and the abandoned building, they continued to talk about the ghosts that had to be there.  They were convinced it was haunted and spoke freely about the ghosts meandering about.

The Church

I’ve been trying to fill my life with exploring and adventure.  Even local and short adventures are better than not discovering anything.  So today’s little side stop at the church was a nice way to top off our little ‘esploring’.  By the end of the day I thought we had Ricky Ricardo with us.

I thought as we returned to the vehicle that was the end of the exploration of the church.

But as we drove away the littlest, the four year old, said she had seen a little girl.

At first I didn’t put what she was saying with where we had just left.  I thought she was just talking, as she had been all day, about everything.

As she continued to talk while everyone else in the car was talking I found myself tuning in to her.

I flipped the visor down so I could watch her in the rear view mirror.  I asked her what little girl.

She said the one she saw in church.  I asked her when.  She said today.  I asked her if she meant the church we were just in.

She said yes.

Suddenly the church we had just been to in the light of day, seemed a little greyer to me.

What's Inside

I asked her if she was a big girl, a little girl, bigger than you?

She said no.   She was “liddle”.

I asked her what she was wearing.   Thinking if she said a bonnet and dress and high top shoes I was going back to that church to camp out and get some pictures.   But she said pants, and a shirt.  And shoes.

I thought she was messing me with me.  But she’s four.  How much can a four year old mess with you?

I asked her again where she saw her.  She said the church.  I asked her if the girl was inside or outside.  She said inside.

Go In-I Dare You

I asked her if she was absolutely sure she saw that little girl.  She said “yesh”.

I glanced at Po sitting next to me.  Driving.

Even the bigger sister, age 7 and who doesn’t pay attention to four year old sister, was paying attention.

We were all quiet for a heart beat.  I was really ready to go back.  I ain’t scared of no ghosts.  I wanted to see her.

I asked her where we all were when she saw the little girl and she said we were all outside of the church.  And she was inside by herself.  I knew she had not gone inside by herself.  But, what didn’t I know?

I asked her again if she was sure she saw the little girl.

She said “yesh”.

Old Church

Okay.  What could I possibly say?  I didn’t want to tell her she didn’t see the little girl.  I wanted her to convince me she did see the little girl.  Talk about adventure!  We were going to find out this story for sure.

I asked her what happened to the little girl.

She said-

Big Foot and Baby Big Foot came in and got her.

Damnit.

She got me.

Four years old.

True story.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

44 thoughts on “True Story

  1. Just wait till she’s a teenager!

  2. I’ve been “got” by youngin’s too. 🙂

  3. markbialczak says:

    Not only did she get you, she tied you up in a big old bow, Colleen. Big Foot and Baby Big Foot! Precious stuff from a 4-year-old conniver. 🙂 Well spun by an older tale teller.

  4. niaaeryn says:

    Heck, she got me too! 🙂 That chuch is lovely and scary looking simultaneously. Love a good ghost story and that is a great setting for one.

    • And I have to say Niaaeryn, the church and yards are well cared for. It’s not locked up and forbidden, there are no signs saying stay away. It really has more of a peaceful feeling than that child indicates with her story. 🙂

  5. Nice post Colleen. Kids have an open contact to what ever it is until they become almost 10 years, then it close and when they grow older, they can work to open that connection again.

  6. Little devil had me too. Great story Coll.

  7. bikebrown says:

    This reminds me of a story Mamo told about having tea in Ireland.

  8. Victo Dolore says:

    Perfect! Love her! 🙂

  9. I cannot believe a four-year-old got YOU, Colleen. Out of the mouths of babes. I do LOVE this. This child has a whole lot of PO-ten-TIAL. 😀 😀

  10. Robin says:

    LOL! Brilliant four-year-old. 😀 That is a beautiful church. I’d love to go “esplore” it. Ricky Ricardo. lol!

    • I was so surprised how well it was maintained. Other than it falling apart I mean….

      It was clean. There was graffiti but nothing too bad. And it appears so….encouraging to go see. I was stunned when we saw it. 🙂

  11. NotAPunkRocker says:

    Future fiction writer 🙂

  12. Out of the mouths of babes. And that you got to experience it first hand. Precious. 🙂

  13. bernasvibe says:

    She got me too! I was a somewhat believer until the Big Foot part..Superb imagination/creativity she has though!

  14. April says:

    Our daughter used to tell us extravagant stories full of details. I would always listen in awe, until one day as I dropped her off at preschool, her teacher told me that she couldn’t go on the walk to the pond to see the ducks the day before. I had already signed a paper allowing her to go. Apparently, she told the teacher that her mom wouldn’t allow it. As the young years flew into kindergarten, more teachers told me how she used her mom as a way of getting out of things she didn’t want to do. So, I had a little talk with her. I asked her why she was telling her teachers that I didn’t want her doing something. Things we had talked about prior to the event. Things she was excited and all on board with. Then it came out…it wasn’t me that didn’t want her to do things, it was her Elephant Mom. Which happened to be one of her huge stuffed animals. Yes, a hard explanation to give to her teachers. 😀

    • HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA! I love it! Reminds me of one our little grands who kept talking about “Eric” who always watched TV with her at her Grannies. We all knew about Eric but had never “seen” him. Finally when I was there one day I asked her if I could meet Eric. She took me in her Grannie’s room and to one of the four corner bed posts that had bulbs bigger than her head on each post. She climbed up, sat down, put her arm around that post and said that was “Eric”. 🙂 I love that story. 🙂

  15. Brittany says:

    What a little story teller I have on my hands. According to her the court house in new lex in the witches castle.

  16. Gibber says:

    Clever 4 year old! lol

  17. Lovely story, a natural storyteller, that wee one. And the church is evocative of so many stories… Great shot!

  18. Well, did she convince you she didn’t see Bigfoot? Sounds like a grand adventure. 🙂

    • 😀 No, I didn’t want her to. And she continued on from there but the tale got a little twisty and curvy. You know how four year olds get…..so chatty and needing the story to last. It did, for quite some time. 😉

  19. viveka says:

    What a storyteller … what is going to come out her one day. But I have also met a ghost … and I don’t really believe in ghosts, but after that I’m not that sure anymore. Whatever she saw and what ever her imagination made out of it, is just amazing and maybe big foot had something to do with it. What would we grow ups know after all???!!! Lovely story and your images are fantastic. You have talent, Colleen. Love the window one.

Leave a Reply

