She Sleeps So Small

I don’t know where she is going.

I am not sure what she will see.

I dream of the things she will accomplish and hope to share in some of them.  I wish I could go with her to all of the places she will go and share the full and long life she will have.  But by the time she is the age I am now – I will likely be gone.  And this makes me sad.    There are so many great things that will happen for her.  Because of her.  With her.

I’m kind of jealous I won’t be able to do some of the things she will be able to do.  And I’m kind of scared of what this world will present her and her generation to fix, to resolve, or to repair.  Her world now is full of love and support and comfort.  It is “us” that protect her and build her world around her.  I don’t want that world to leave her.   But I know that all of the love she gets now will help her become the protector, the builder, the strength to guide those who come after her.  She will become what I am, some day.  Just as I, once, was where she is now.    I have glimpses of what her future may hold, and of course I don’t really know what that may be.  But I have hope.  Hope that if we fill the little ones with love and hope and weed out the hate and the angst they will be better than us.  Isn’t that what every teacher, mentor, parent wants?  For those who come after us to be better, do better.  To live well and live rightly.

I may not know where she is going.

But where she is right  now….

Right now she sleeps so small.

 And this gift of her now is gift enough for me.

But when she wakes.  And as she grows.  She will go.

And where ever she goes I hope she goes greatly.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

35 thoughts on “She Sleeps So Small

  1. I’m sure she will! She has you to guide her!

  2. Such a beautiful post Colleen. We can only protect and hope. Loved your prose too xx

  3. niaaeryn says:

    So sweet and great imagery 🙂

  4. jmgoyder says:

    This is beautiful!

  5. NotAPunkRocker says:

    Small sleeps=bigger dreams

    Another beautiful post, CM ❤

  6. bikebrown says:

    Your spirit will be with her always.

  7. Jean says:

    Beautiful

  8. The wish of every mother and grandmother. The young hold such promise, my eyes glow with the possibilities.
    I’ve said it before and it bears repeating. You have a way of peeling away the layers, Colleen, to show the message within. ❤ ❤ ❤

  9. I love this!
    Diana xo

  10. Very beautiful post Colleen

  11. reocochran says:

    I absolutely embraced these words, Colleen! Loved their depth and I wish her to sleep with sweet dreams, stress free childhood and dream big! I love how you said, wherever she goes, I hope she goes greatly. Exactly how I feel about my little grandchildren. So touching.

  12. tric says:

    I love to read your posts. The variety and the way they are written always makes me click them in anticipation.
    This was beautiful. I hadn’t a huge relationship with my own grandmother but my children have and hopefully in time I will with my own.
    Reading your posts I cannot imagine, regardless of the length of time they know you, you not leaving a big impression on a future generation.
    Lovely post.

    • Thank you Tric. You spoke directly to the part of me that worries, wonders, and knows I won’t see these children at this point in their lives that I am now. I shouldn’t look that far ahead. But I can’t help but be curious about them and their entire lives.

      I appreciate your wonderful words! You’re my favorite today. ❤

  13. markbialczak says:

    Maybe her generation will make things greater than ours has, Colleen. Let us hope that. 🙂 Great writing today, my friend. Big writing about your little one.

  14. April says:

    Your post is so full of love. The gift of right now is the most wonderful gift..once you know how to live in the moment.

    • Thank you April. 🙂 I can’t help but watch their little sleeping faces and wonder so much about them. And the great things they will do. “Great” being acts of kindness, love, tolerance, positive change. And laugh. 🙂

  15. Gibber says:

    She has a good start!

  16. I think of some of the same things, Colleen. I try not to let my mind go too quickly through the catalogue of what I more than likely won’t experience with my precious granddaughters, but I sure do invest heavily now, and rely on what I hope will be strongly implanted memories. I worry about the world they will know, but then I remember my grandmother had the same concern. It’s still sobering. I hope for a lot more time, that’s for sure!

    • I like to imagine, and believe, that our children and grandchildren will start to turn things around. Bring back “community” and simplification (by choice). I have faith in that Debra. 🙂

Leave a Reply

