Going Home

Some times the best gift you can give a friend-

Is a gift of home.

Home may not be the same.

The house may be tumbling in.

The neighborhood may be long past it’s prime.

The cobblestones long ago paved over.

The people known and loved – moved and passed on.

The world it was – is alive in memory only.

But it lives.

Home…

Remains in the heart.

In the place.

That you share with your friends.

So much so that your friends feel it’s magic.

And want to be there with you.

And they see it through your eyes.

The way you see it.

The Magic Of Home

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

32 thoughts on “Going Home

  1. E.x.a.c.t.l.y. ❤ ❤ ❤

  2. markbialczak says:

    You are so right. The door to home sits between the ears, Colleen. Beautiful thoughts to go with that gem of a photo.

  3. One can only hope. I love this message but I have seen so many cities change like in The Pretenders song Ohio. I would only hope that you csn go back and show people the city you once knew.

    • We went back, for the day, to take a friend for her birthday. For years we have heard her growing up tales. So no matter what it looked like we saw it through the telling of the stories for all these years. It was a wonderful day. 😉

  4. This is lovely. Why not a larger photo? I would like to see more of the crumbling building.

    • The pictures were taken in a not prime situation. I did not want to disclose location or identity so went with this cropped form of this picture. And it actually plays a very pivotal role in the story of our day. We wanted to go take a picture on THAT spot. The person standing there, is looking at the spot where her parents picture was taken, and that picture has hung in her office her entire working career. The doors in the background are pivotal to the entire day. Thank you for asking, it is very much a part of the story. 🙂

  5. dogear6 says:

    I also think home changes as we get older. We can’t go back, but we can find the same feelings and emotions as you’ve described here, whether through our friends or even the storytelling we do with family who were there with us.

    Nancy

  6. Mustang.Koji says:

    Now I get the story behind the photos!

  7. mewhoami says:

    Home can be anywhere or with anyone, but what makes it wonderful is that it’s home. I have a few homes and each one is special and unique.

  8. So many layers of meaning here. But where I pick up for myself is hospitality. I don’t think there’s a good reason for me to hold onto a house at my age except that it is shared with others. I have an open house policy and enjoy offering a consistently safe haven. ox

    • And that open house policy surely creates an atmosphere of comfort and acceptance for many. Which lends it’s self to building a bank of memories….where ever the home is. 🙂

  9. My heart will one day make this house a home. I till miss my old home and can’t even drive past it now.

  10. Robin says:

    Lovely, CM. I think I’m only just beginning to learn about home, and how it’s something I carry with me. 🙂

  11. reocochran says:

    I am one who loves the expression, “Home is where the heart is.” Colleen, you were such a good friend by going home with her. Being with someone, that makes it more meaningful. The sharing part and the way you wrote this is perfectly expressed.

  12. You capture home very well

  13. jmgoyder says:

    Thanks for this beautiful post – our first Christmas at nursing home rather than home. I feel so emotional about this but one of the emotions is joy (with a dash of relief!)

    • I’m happy to read this Julie. I can actually still picture your little home with Anthony. I remember the pictures and I can see Anthony’s little chair and cupboard. And I suspect it has become more home to him with your presence, his girl. 🙂

  14. April says:

    Always the oddball with my reading comprehension, I see an entirely different story you have beautifully written–and the photo is great as well. Home doesn’t have to describe a building, but an open and warm heart that is contagious. 🙂 Maybe I have that pre

Leave a Reply

