To Serve And Protect

It may be unpopular to do so at this time but I want to take a moment to thank some men and women among us.

In light of all of the negative reports surrounding questionable law enforcement activity I want to thank the law enforcement who get it right.  There is a large force of uniformed men and women who serve us every day.  Who don their badges with pride and honor and do all that they can to earn the respect that should come with that badge.

This is not a commentary on what is wrong.  I acknowledge that there are changes that need made in some areas, in some training, in some people.   This isn’t about that.

It’s a recognition and thank you for those who get up every day and go in to do the best job they can.

Because those people do exist in law enforcement.

This is to the men and women who also see the news.  Who hear the chants.  Who see the anger.  Who have access to the exact same information that we all have access to.  This is to the men and women who I imagine stand there watching the news feeling helpless.   Fearful.  And maybe…despair.

How many of them are saying “but that’s not me!”

How many communities and law enforcement agencies have worked together to develop programs to build healthier communities.  Communities that address under privileged children.   Struggling families.  The aging and alone population.  How many law enforcement officials have worked diligently to address problems like these and have been successful?  How many law enforcement personnel donate their personal time to programs within their communities so that they are closer to their communities, because they are part of their communities?  How many law enforcement officials, agencies, and communities have made themselves better?

I work in a field where I interact with law enforcement on a frequent basis.  Police and Sheriff more frequently but on occasion the State Highway Patrol.  I have never seen an act of disrespect towards a victim or a perpetrator.  I have witnessed well trained individuals exhibit patience, wisdom and calm.   I have seen skilled techniques when de-escalation was needed.  I have felt safe just by their very presence.  And I appreciate what it is they do.

And I know that I could not do what they do.

These men and women do exist.

While there are situations that do need addressed let’s not forget that there are many more situations that can be, and should be, appreciated.   For all of the negative that is being highlighted that does not negate the extremely difficult and necessary work that our law enforcement must face  every single minute of every single day.

I think it’s as important to acknowledge the good, the stellar, and the well done.  If we can pin point the negative and cull out the tactics and inappropriate methods that’s only part of it.  We need to also recognize and build on programs and skills and tactics that do work.  And though it may not be popular to say at this moment, the role of law enforcement will often times put these men and women in a position of having to use force.

To our men and women who protect and serve us well, thank you.   We do appreciate you.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

38 thoughts on “To Serve And Protect

  1. bikebrown says:

    You are totally correct. Thank you to those who are protecting us every day.

  2. RMW says:

    I agree…. I would not want a job where my life is on the line every day.

  3. Honestly, I have had a lot of negative run ins with law enforcement. (Bu then again, what would you expect? Ha!) No, but in all seriousness, there have been the positive to so thank you for acknowledging.

  4. russtowne says:

    Well said, Colleen. Thank you for taking the time to say it.

  5. Kentucky Angel says:

    You are so correct Colleen. I have done ride-alongs with our local police officers, and during those times have seen things I would never want to be involved in. Even though I had to remain in the cruiser, it was scary to see the situations they had to face alone, with a mob situation possibility in front of them.

    • I’ve never had the desire to be in law enforcement. But I’ve been relieved on more than one occasion when they have been around. Not to mention I am aware of programs that the individuals participate in outside of work to help within their community. I appreciate anyone who does that.

  6. daveb42 says:

    I also worked with and around law enforcement for years. I agree completely.

  7. reocochran says:

    Overall, we must appreciate those who serve and protect us, day in and day out. It is another of those ‘thankless’ jobs, where people let one bad experience or a few national events influence their perspective. I am always happy and thankful that we have people willing to put their lives on the line, daily. To keep all of us as safe as possible, in a crazy and sometimes violent world. America is not as bad as other countries, while not the best, we need to appreciate what we have. In some countries, there are lower and higher crime rates. Thanks for this post and thanks to all who are out there keeping us safe!! hugs to them!

  8. dogear6 says:

    My husband and I were just talking about that this morning, how it’s socially acceptable to paint all cops as being bad even though many are good people doing a tough job. And the two recently involved cops were both cleared by the courts but the media won’t accept that sometimes bad people have bad things happen to them. I hate it when the momma gets up there and wails but my baby, my baby, and her baby has been a violent, vicious thug for years.

    Great post. I’m glad you said it.

    Nancy

    • Thank you Nancy. I know there is more involved than what I am aware of. And even reading all that I have read, I am well aware that I still don’t “know” every thing. I just know that it’s a job that is rife with stress and difficulties and risk. And I greatly appreciate the service provided by these men and women.

  9. tric says:

    We went through something totally different but similar here. Widespread child abuse by the clergy was finally exposed. It destroyed every priests reputation. There were of course many who were not guilty, who had not done any wrong nor had they facilitated abuse by remaining silent. However all were tarred by the same brush.
    On a positive note many changes were made for the better and reputations will be rebuilt when trust is restored. It will take time.
    The first step is to acknowledge wrong and the next is to do something about it, both to protect those very good men and women you obviously have in your police force and expose those who are not.

    • Tric this really makes sense to me. Being raised Catholic and having this touch close to home I can connect these dots very easily.

      I do hope that any changes that are needed are addressed. And that any acknowledgements that are deserving are just as quickly noted. We can learn from both ends of the spectrum.

  10. markbialczak says:

    Well said, Colleen. Salute the good. Appreciate the hard work and honorable everyday actions. Address the problems. And do the same thing regarding the people who live in the neighborhoods that need our help.

  11. Robin says:

    Well put, CM. My father is a retired police officer, my brother-in-law is a current police officer, and numerous cousins are on active duty in the police force as well. They are good people, and I know they work hard to keep people safe.

  12. Wonderfully said Colleen it almost made me cry!

  13. lexiesnana says:

    I so loved this post. I feel the same way about it when people complain about the military. You were right on with this one.

Leave a Reply

