Imperfect

How many of us have that imperfect person in our life?

That person who never gets it quite right?

They don’t quite know how to do what ever it is that needs done.  But by golly they are the first person to show up to help you get it done.

They don’t know how to cook well but they love to have you over, they burn the meat and the noodles are chewy. And you aren’t quite sure what kind of fruit is in that fruit pie.  But they spent hours making it just for you.  And you look forward to it every time.

And when you’re sad and need something said all they manage to say through their sobs over and over again is they wish they knew what to say to help.

When you’re gathered for fun and everyone is retelling stories and jokes they never quite manage to get the punchline, or the memory right.  But the laughter is as genuine in the memory because it was shared, and it’s an ongoing joke in the forgetting of it.

They don’t seem the most graceful.

Or have the answers to most problems.

But they are nearly  perfect in their imperfection.

Because when you see them-

You envision the role in your life they fill.  Your heart expands at the sight of them.  The thought of them.  The time spent with them.  No matter what needs done you manage to get it done together.  No matter what needs gotten through, you manage to get through it together.  No matter what tears need shed, they are softened by the laughters shared.

The only thing that they have to do to get it right-

Is exist with you.

Imperfect

Imperfect

Angels

Exist

Perfectly.

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

49 thoughts on “Imperfect

  1. Victo Dolore says:

    Beautifully said! 🙂

  2. NotAPunkRocker says:

    Love this ❤

  3. 1jaded1 says:

    Love this to the point of tears.

  4. willothewizp says:

    I think I’m that person 🙂 Thanks for sharing

  5. This post does my heart good. Thank you, Colleen. ❤

  6. russtowne says:

    The beauty of your heart and spirit shine brightly in this post, bathing my my heart and spirit in its warm glow.

  7. russtowne says:

    Reblogged this on A Grateful Man and commented:
    This post brightened my day and I wanted to share such love and beauty with you.

  8. This is a great post…but definitely not about me!! (Right?!) Humor aside, very touching Colleen.

  9. markbialczak says:

    Filling their roles perfectly, yes, indeed, Colleen. You sure got this right! 🙂

  10. Colleen, thank you for reminding us that everyone has a role. It is the intention behind the act, not just the act itself that matters.

  11. Red says:

    I have had quite a few in my life. They make our worlds fuller.
    xxx

  12. pepesapam says:

    love this…i am smiling after i read this…:-)

  13. I definitely had someone come to mind, and I don’t always appreciate her quite as much as perhaps I should. You’ve given me a lovely perspective to come back to. Thank you, Colleen.

  14. April says:

    Perfect! I’m an angel and didn’t know it. 😀 However, my cooking isn’t too bad.

  15. reocochran says:

    I loved this one, did not see the ending coming. So glad it came out this way, I had my fingers crossed for the one who could not see to tell jokes, cook or do most anything very well. Together all is made better, Colleen. I like how you told the ending: perfectly!!

  16. reocochran says:

    “see” should be ‘seem’ I left the ‘m’ off that word, thanks! rc

  17. mewhoami says:

    No one is perfect, but they are just who we need them to be, when we need them to be who they are. That was tricky sentence. 🙂

  18. Anonymous says:

    So sweet weenie

  19. tric says:

    I married him. Imperfectly perfect every day. I despair and curse him and love him in equal measure.

Leave a Reply

