Dear Omar At AT&T,

I want to thank you.

After talking to your cohort Megan earlier today I had a very sour opinion of AT&T.

Your patience and kindness and consideration spoke well of you and possibly saved me from completely disowning AT&T as my long time provider.  We’ve been together a very long time.  As of this time tonight you are the only reason I will even consider staying a customer.    You and I couldn’t fix the problem but I appreciate your patience and explanations.   I also appreciated your good humor and laughing with me.

Please forward this to your boss:

Give Omar A Raise.

Sincerely,

He’s The Only Reason I Stopped Looking For Another Phone Provider Tonight

Tagged , ,

41 thoughts on “Dear Omar At AT&T,

  1. LOL! Glad you got it straightened out, at least with customer service. 😀

    • Well, to be honest Priceless, we didn’t get one single thing ironed out. But Omar was patient. He explained the new changes which will not benefit AT&T customers at ALL. And if possible I hope many AT&T customers go somewhere else. We will be looking in to other options. Can’t say for sure we’ll have many options, but we are definitely going to look. At least Omar had the decency to answer questions and explain the changes, not just repeat a one line statement.

  2. NotAPunkRocker says:

    So glad Omar was able to help resolve everything after all. 🙂

    • We didn’t resolve one single thing NAPR. But he did take the time to explain everything. And he represented his company well. Though his company is really putting the screws to their customers. But he did explain everything and answered every question I had with as much information as he could find, regardless of how much time it took him to find the information. So that was nice.

  3. So nice of you to write this to him.

  4. Victo Dolore says:

    There is a woman in our IT department who jokes with me as she is putzing around trying to “fix” my computer. She is the only reason I haven’t smashed the damn thing. Not because she ever fixes anything. She makes me laugh about the whole dang situation. That and she never tells me it’s “user error”.

    • She’s a good woman! Like Omar, he kept apologizing for the other person hanging up on me. And he kept laughing when I told him he and I weren’t fixing anything but I appreciated him at least trying to explain things. I appreciate effort and humor so much!

  5. markbialczak says:

    There are human beings who work customer service. Thank goodness you found one tonight, Colleen. You keep being you, Omar. 🙂

  6. Well it’s nice to know that you aren’t one of those who only complains about bad service but never commends the good! Good for you!

    • I was telling him I was going to brag about him. He just kept saying thank you and laughing. 🙂

      • I have, on rare occasions, commended customer service to management. I was once at The Gap and needed a particular pair of jeans that were not at the location I was in. The guy was so patient in tracking down the jeans and ordering them from another location, I ended up telling the manager to give him a raise!

        • I love giving good feed back. I had a fella at a guitar center just a few weeks ago really take his time and help us out. I had him give me paper and pen and I wrote a note to his boss, “Dear Drew’s Boss”. His name was Drew. And I made him point out his boss. And I said nice things and told him to give Drew a raise. 🙂 It feels good to be nice. 🙂 And someone once told me years ago, if you want to tell someone they’re doing a good job, tell their boss. So I try to do that.

          • Yes, definitely the best thing to do. Good customer service is getting so much more rare today!! (as evidenced by Megan). It’s nice to single people out when they are doing a good job for a change!

            • And those doing the good job obviously appreciate the positive feedback. I had it happen to me not so long ago and I was incredibly touched by the effort someone took to tell me thank you.

  7. mewhoami says:

    Did you send some kuddos to his boss too or post it on a AT&T forum? Maybe his boss will see it and give him that raise that you mentioned. Very thoughtful post Colleen.

    • Thank you. I was telling him I was going to brag about him, and that he had been the only thing to stop me from looking for another provider “that” night. He said he had his supervisor with him listening. I did go to an AT&T site to try and find a way to post something and could not find anything. So I was happy enough he had his supervisor listening.

  8. Gibber says:

    Patting Omar on the back!

  9. I truly believe these large service-oriented companies have far more Omar’s working for them. My sense is you just encountered the bad apple that spoils the bushel.

    • I agree Eric. I do believe in being kind and considerate to anyone on the other side of the phone, because I have to do an awful lot of phone work for my daily work life. So Megan and I were not having a bad conversation, no tempers, just no real communication. And then she hung up on us!!! I know AT&T doesn’t care much about “one” customer but Omar really prevented me from doing all I could today to get a new provider in place. He took the time to explain and answer questions. Nothing was resolved but at least he didn’t tell me I would save money by spending it. 🙂

  10. niaaeryn says:

    Good save to Omar! The good side of customer service. I love the balance here. Hope he reads this too, and his boss. 🙂

  11. It’s satisfying when someone takes the time to try and help at least. Attitude, honesty and customer care go along way in keeping and maintaining customers. Yay Omar!

Leave a Reply

