One Second

I don’t want to place an entire year’s worth of burden on a one second time change tonight.  So instead of wishing for a full happy new year, I’ll start a little smaller.

I hope tomorrow that all of my friends, family, loved ones, or just kind of liked ones, wake up safe and sound.   I hope the same people wake up a little happier than when they went to sleep.  I hope every one weighs one ounce less than when they went to sleep, or one ounce more, depending on their weight wishes.  I hope any aches are a little less painful, and a little more bearable.  I hope that there is one more smile during their day, than there was today.  I hope there is one less reason to cry.

I hope there is one more comic to grin over.   One more story to read.   One more brilliant idea to act on.   One  more step  taken to achieving a goal.  I hope for one more prayer said for someone else.   One more kind act taken on behalf of a stranger.

One more thank you would be nice.   One grateful acknowledgement of someone in your life.   One more selfless act.

I hope everyone can look in the mirror and wink back at that charming face grinning at them.

I hope there is a little less hate in an angry heart.

I hope there is good food shared with laughter and chatter.

One more hand than yesterday reaching out to someone else.

I hope there is one more person singing a Doo Wah Ditty or Twinkle Twinkle Star kind of song.   One more person being sung to.

One more heart feeling the burst of new love.   One more heart healed and ready to love.

I hope for a moment, for everyone, every day.   A good moment.   A reflective moment.   A prayerful moment.   A love moment.  A friend moment.  A happy moment.  A content moment.   A contemplative moment.  A peaceful moment.

A moment of power.

A moment of grace.

A minute to be alone.

A minute to share.

A moment of thanks.

On this one second time increment tonight when time changes from the year we’ve just lived to the year we will yet live-I hope it is the first second of the first moment of the first step of any change you wish to be.

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

52 thoughts on “One Second

  1. markbialczak says:

    I second your hopes for that second Colleen. You said it perfectly. Happy New Year, my dear, dear, dear friend. One is not enough for my feeling about that, you know.

    • I see what you did there Mark, 🙂

      Thank you very much for broadening your wonderful circle of friends to include me. You’re starting my day out making me feel very good Mark. Thank you my most amazing friend!

  2. dogear6 says:

    What a wonderful blessing on us. Thank you so very much!

    Nancy

  3. This post was absolutely wonderful! I loved what you said and how you said it and the meaning that is behind it. But I have a question. Is this New Year’s Eve? 😀

    • duncanr says:

      we call today, 31st Dec, ‘hogmanay’ in Scotland 😆

      • duncanr says:

        http://tinyurl.com/lzrlnk4

        my mother was the youngest of 7 kids so when I was a lad our New Year celebrations started on Hogmanay and continued into the 2nd week of January until all her sisters and brother’s houses had been visited in turn on consecutive nights for a party to bless each house

        • I love that Duncan! My mom had 11 siblings. That would have been a wonderful and very long tradition!!!!

          I’m enjoying reading about your Hogmanay!

          • duncanr says:

            it was a great time to be a kid, colleen – not only did we get to stay up way past our bedtime to see in the New Year but then we had almost 2 weeks of partying and playing with our cousins (and as part of a large catholic family we had a lot of cousins!). Giving my age away, but this was back in the day when families literally did make their own entertainment and at these parties everyone, even us kids, was expected to do a ‘turn’ – be it sing a song, tell a joke or a funny story, recite a poem, play a musical instrument, or dance

            ah, your post has brought back lots of happy memories – thanks !

            a guid new year to you and yours when it comes !

            • Duncan I don’t think progress has done any favors to our kids and family’s life styles. We’ve lost a lot of great traditions and family fundamentals. You’ve painted a beautiful way of life that many many people will never ever know.

              Thank YOU for sharing them.

              And thank you for the wishes, to you in return!

      • I am going to look up HOGMANAY!!!!

    • Thank you Priceless!

      It is New Year’s Eve here, when I published. Grant it, it is VERY early New Year’s eve. We have the entire day yet to go!

  4. Happy New Year Colleen!

  5. mewhoami says:

    You are such a beautiful person! I love, love, love your words! Oh and I’ll take “one ounce less.” 🙂

  6. NotAPunkRocker says:

    Another perfectly said post. Happy new year to you, dear friend! ❤

  7. gpcox says:

    Happy New Year, Colleen! 🍸

  8. murph says:

    I want to have Hogmanay!

  9. Mustang.Koji says:

    A most wonderful thought, Chatter Master. Very, very nice!

  10. Wonderful thoughts-Thank you

  11. Lily Lau says:

    I wish the same to you 😀

  12. niaaeryn says:

    Good hopes and wishes. May they come true 🙂

  13. April says:

    Happy New Year, Colleen!

  14. totsymae1011 says:

    I hope the same. I think I’ll be at least half a pound lighter, I’ve been working on it anyhow, I also hope some dollars find their way in my bank account. Something like an unexpected gift in a large amount would be lovely.

  15. Thank you Colleen, this is so beautifully said. May your wishes come true this year. I walk away singing Doo Wah ditty ditty dum ditty doo 😀

  16. You have written a beautiful blog for the new year. Thank you. May you have peace and contentment during the coming year.

  17. russtowne says:

    I wish that all of your wishes in this post come true for all your loved and liked ones and you.
    Happy New Second, Minute, Hour, Day, Week, Month, and Year.

  18. russtowne says:

    As I read your post I wondered whether you have written any books. If not, I hope you do as I’d love to see more people exposed to your heart, sprit, and wisdom. Please let me know if you do write a book as I’d love to buy it. So many of your posts resonate so well for me that I thought, “Wow! Wouldn’t it be cool to attempt to collaborate on a book together with Colleen?”

    • You are so kind Russ. I have “written” books. But done nothing with them as much. Not had the inclination to do so yet. I suspect when the time is right, I may. I feel like I am writing now, to stock pile for things to work through when more time permits to edit and organize and search out proper ways to deal with such things. Collaboration would be wonderful! 🙂 I look forward to the day when I can!!! 🙂

      • russtowne says:

        I’m glad you have interest in considering collaborating some day. I’m in no rush and have other projects on which I’m working.

        I too used revisions of some of what I believed to be my best posts as part of the content for a few of my books.

        I have some ideas in mind and would love to hear yours as well. I have an editor, interior layout and cover designer, and printer, who I’m happy to work with, or you could suggest yours. I’d also be happy to handle the post-writing, printing, and publishing coordination (with your prior consent and approval each step of the way) to free up your time if you’d prefer.

        By the way, as you probably already know, most books do not sell well and the odds of any book by relatively new and unknown authors doing quite well financially are not good, but I love writing and publishing (even on the books I haven’t yet made enough money to pay for the cost of publishing them). I view each book published as a seed that is planted. Some may become flowers whose beauty is experienced by relatively few, while others may bear fruit enjoyed by many. I look forward to planting a writing seed with you some day to see what will sprout.

        Please email me at russtowne@yahoo.com when you would like to discuss ideas or learn more.

  19. “first second of the first moment of the first step of any change you wish to be”, Brilliant.

Leave a Reply

