I Have Become The Shield

To the child

Who feared to speak

I will now shout.

To the child

Who feared to try

I try try and try again.

To the child

Who felt so unbrave

I applaud your courage to exist-

And grow!!

To the child

Who hid from life

I have found it and rejoice in it!

To the child

 Who did not know what to do

I have learned to search and ask until I know.

To the child

Who did not believe in self

I have discovered value, worth, and power.

To the uncertain child

I have learned that there is no shame in uncertainty, in faltering, or in falling.

So I learned to continue on.

To the child who was-

Part of you still remains

And

I thank you

For all that you brought me through.

All that you brought me to.

I will shield you.

Forever .

I do not hide behind a shield in fear-

I stand before my fears holding a shield of courage.

***

colleen

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

34 thoughts on “I Have Become The Shield

  1. April says:

    Embracing your inner self. 🙂

  2. Excellent! “You’ve come a long way baby.” LOL!

  3. Val Boyko says:

    Beautiful and empowering!

  4. To the child that was you and to the children that will learn from you.

  5. russtowne says:

    Beautiful, powerful, and inspiring. May the child and the adult continue to courageously grow, share, and spread their warmth and light with others.

  6. That’s a lot of growth, child! Happy when this happens and a new child emerges. 🙂

  7. Growing and acquiring knowledge to see circumstance and life differently.. You have expressed so well 💜

  8. Cynthia says:

    Awesome!! i love this

  9. Look how well you turned out. ❤ ❤ ❤

  10. reocochran says:

    Oh Yes, Colleen! You have a part of your own child inside you. Along with how you are the one who will keep an eye out for those children who need protecting and their voices heard!

  11. niaaeryn says:

    This is awesome! You have come so far and still have her with you in the best possible sense. I love it. 🙂

  12. markbialczak says:

    To the child. Three powerful words there, my friend. Thanks, Colleen, for this.

  13. Gibber says:

    You sure can bring it!! I almost had tears. 🙂

Leave a Reply

