The Smiling Man

We were out driving.  Technically, I was lounging.  Husband was driving.  I was navigating.  It was a rare few hours of leisure, we were on our way to a book store.   In essence, on our way to a small piece of paradise in my opinion.  I told my husband to turn on to a certain road.  When he did  I told him “when this road finally meanders it’s way to the stop light we’ll turn left”.

There was a slight pause I thought nothing of.

Then he said “when the smiling man what?”

I’m not sure what the code is.   I haven’t broken it yet.

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

43 thoughts on “The Smiling Man

  1. Finally meanders…smiling man….I see the resemblance… I suppose he was in his own world.

  2. mewhoami says:

    Ha! That’s too funny.

  3. I love it Colleen. Don’t break the code yet. It’s too funny.

  4. Made me laugh. And, smile that you were on your way to a book store, an endangered species. 😉

    • Oh I hope not endangered. I saw one close in a big city up north. The next time we went back by golly there was another book store there and thriving!!!!! 🙂 I was quite thrilled!

  5. gpcox says:

    I don’t know quite what to say… O_o

  6. April says:

    My husband has a secret code too! However, he never lets me navigate.

  7. reocochran says:

    Oh, ha ha! Colleen, I absolutely am chuckling at how he misinterpreted your directions. Which by the way, resemble the way I give them… ha ha!
    I will tell you that my funniest moments are when I mis-hear someone. Or don’t catch the correct lyrics of a song playing and I sing it with the wrong words, someone hears me and then we laugh.
    This reminds me of the old “Telephone” game where we sat in a circle, when we were kids and the message would get passed around. My grandson liked this idea so much, that he tried it at his 10th birthday party. It made us roar to hear how mangled the messages came out!

  8. inmycorner says:

    The smiling man hears what he wants to hear – how wonderful he hears such happiness! grin. He must be in awe of your presence and skill!

  9. markbialczak says:

    It’s all a matter of selective hearing, Colleen. Or real hearing something else in his world other than your voice. I know, it happens to me, too, with MDW Karen, and that pause was YDH deciding whether to say “what” or fake it. He faked it. Yup, been there, unwittingly making up code.

  10. haha that happens to me all the time Colleen!
    Diana xo

  11. LOL! That is funny! He must have been in a good mood to think you said, “smiling man.” Cute!

  12. Gibber says:

    Oh to be a fly on the wall..

  13. dogear6 says:

    My husband does the same thing! He also makes up words and what’s funny is when he uses those made up words in public, people DO know what he’s saying.

    Nancy

  14. I almost burst something laughing. 😀 😀 😀

  15. Mustang.Koji says:

    Call me dense. I don’t get it… 😦

  16. Methinks this is just another one of those ways in which he’s letting you know he loves you. Twisted, perhaps, but I’m thinking good intention.

Leave a Reply

