Into The Wind

When the wind is blowing hard.

And you’re pushing hard to just stay up right.

In To The Wind

And then the wind suddenly stops.

When The Wind Stops

I’m sure this represents things other than ‘just’ wind.

Though the dramatics used in this recreation were real they may be slightly exaggerated. Β At no time were any face plants involved or coffee in danger of being spilled. Β But let it be known, that when the wind stopped and forward pressure against the wind was still active there was a comic over stumbling that resulted in this story with hidden meanings.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

39 thoughts on “Into The Wind

  1. Gibber says:

    I was worried about that coffee..
    Hidden meanings?

    • Coffee was safe. I guess it wasn’t really ‘hidden’ meanings as much as ‘double’ or ‘other’ meanings. As I was writing it, it occurred to me that it could be about other things. It reminded me of a training we went to years ago. The speaker had us stand up, hold our hands out in front of us, another person stood opposite us and put there hands against ours. We pushed against one another’s hands. The speaker would tell one of us to quickly step away, and the one still pushing, would stumble forward. They were using this demonstration when talking about people fighting with one another. If you remove the opposition, the fight, the willingness to participate in a fight (argument) you don’t want to participate in….you are no longer fighting, even if the other person is….the one who stumbles. Does that make sense? After I did the story,, it reminded me of that.

      • Gibber says:

        It totally makes sense and it’s a lesson I’ve learned this past year. Sometimes, the only way to diffuse a situation is to stop arguing it. Going hand in hand with you’ll never “win” against a narcissist.

        • I’ve found myself arguing solely because the other person is still arguing. I’ve long passed the point of trying to convince or change someone else’s point of view. I have decided my place is not necessarily to change other’s views. But if I have a point, I want to express it. Doesn’t mean I’m going to stand toe to toe with someone forever. I may be the wind that stops blowing. Or, I may be the one the wind stops blowing against. πŸ˜‰

  2. Yes, I’m lost too. I can only imagine what else the wind may be referring to.

    • Here’s what I said, above, to Gibber: I guess it wasn’t really β€˜hidden’ meanings as much as β€˜double’ or β€˜other’ meanings. As I was writing it, it occurred to me that it could be about other things. It reminded me of a training we went to years ago. The speaker had us stand up, hold our hands out in front of us, another person stood opposite us and put there hands against ours. We pushed against one another’s hands. The speaker would tell one of us to quickly step away, and the one still pushing, would stumble forward. They were using this demonstration when talking about people fighting with one another. If you remove the opposition, the fight, the willingness to participate in a fight (argument) you don’t want to participate in….you are no longer fighting, even if the other person is….the one who stumbles. Does that make sense? After I did the story,, it reminded me of that..

      I wonder too if it doesn’t kind of represent other things we push against and then that ‘thing’ is gone and we find ourselves stumbling. I’m a thinker like that! πŸ˜‰

      • Thanks for taking the time to explain that. Judging from word count, it may have taken longer then it did to write the blog in the first place! Heh, heh! Yes, it makes absolute sense! I am just wondering if removing opposition always would make us stumble or whether it would just make us walk on and upright. I could see both possibilities!

  3. I know the hidden meanings…well and truly, I’m fighting against that wind right now.. Hugs x

  4. Perhaps akin to leaning into uncertainty or discomfort? Happens a lot. πŸ™‚

    • Perhaps! Indeed. If you glance at the response to some of the others….after I wrote it reminded me of a training exercise I participated in YEARS ago. Though I had no partner this time other than the wind! But it kind of played out the same way. And I suppose the ‘wind’ could represent other things. Or it could just be that the wind was blowing EXTREMELY hard, and then it wasn’t. And it caught me off guard! πŸ˜‰

  5. April says:

    Haha! I used to do this to my kids when they had a beef with me about how unfair things were. I would leave the room or send them to their rooms and told them I wasn’t participating until we can talk with respect. I witnessed a few deflated sails. πŸ™‚

  6. reocochran says:

    You are sure great at creating images in both your drawings and your words, Colleen. I loved the book I read in middle school called, ‘To Spit Against the Wind.” It was all about Thomas Paine’s life, who really did almost as much for our country as Benjamin Franklin. The title stuck with me and seemed to fit your meaning, too.

    • Thank you Robin. Yeah, this does seem to kind of go with what you are saying! πŸ™‚ I’ll have to do a little reading on Thomas Paine, who I’m aware of but don’t really know much about. I probably know more than I think, but don’t know it’s “him” to attribute what I know.

  7. Glad that the coffee didn’t spill! πŸ˜‰

  8. Robin says:

    Glad there were no face plants involved. So much meaning to this, hidden and otherwise. Sometimes it doesn’t pay to push too hard or resist too much. πŸ™‚

  9. I love the drawings. πŸ™‚ There could be a lot of meanings that could refer to.

  10. markbialczak says:

    Sometimes push doesn’t come to shove, it comes to oh, shoot! Great drawings, Colleen.

  11. NotAPunkRocker says:

    I love the disclaimer!

    Well done, as usual. I always love your words, but your drawings bring extra smiles and thoughts.

    • πŸ™‚ Thanks NAPR. I do love the drawings. Not because I think they are great. But because even in their simplicity I manage to see what it is I’m trying to capture. And that makes me happy. πŸ™‚

  12. tric says:

    Ah life in a picture. Well done

  13. niaaeryn says:

    Love the metaphor (and the disclaimer, thatw as awesome!), and the fact that the coffee was okay too. πŸ™‚

  14. Mustang.Koji says:

    Sometimes, it is good to have someone behind you…

Leave a Reply

