On The Chair In My House

Today I am climbing a mountain.  I will stand  atop that mountain.  Or a tree stump.   Or a chair in my house.  And pound my chest.  And exclaim with all of the drama (good drama, like Oscar Award Winning drama) I can muster that this is my domain!  This grey matter between my ears, this soul that occupies my aura, this heart that beats within my chest cavity….it is mine!

And when I stand atop this mountain, tree stump or chair I will proclaim with every fiber of my being, with every ounce of energy my blood holds:

Today!!!!

I will believe.

I will believe in my worth, my value and my abilities!

I will not doubt.

I will not doubt for one minute

What it is I can do,

What it is I will do!

I will be the one to determine

How I feel and what I think.

I will bravely question the injustice I see.

And I will own the cowardice I hoard.

 I will not falter, today, in who I am.

I will not give my self away-

And no one will take from me what it is

That is my realm.

I will not decry my influence!

I will not belittle the power of me.

Today, today,

Today!  I will believe.

And with my last line as I stand atop my mountain, my tree stump, or my chair I will fling my arms back – I will arch my powerful self -arms flung wide-hair too short to flow in the wind or the air of the ceiling fan – and I will know it!

I will stand there for my moment of might, my glory of empowerment.

I will glance down the mountain.  Or in to the yard.  Or around the kitchen.

I will climb down from my perch.

But I will remain high atop my claim.

Today.

I own this.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

53 thoughts on “On The Chair In My House

  1. christina debi author says:

    Yes!!

  2. When do you start swinging from the chandelier?

  3. I can actually visualize the too short hair flowing – wildly. 🙂 Preach it, Colleen!

  4. We are your cheerleaders! Rah Rah Rah Rah!! Speak for us all!!! 🙂 I feel better. Do you?

  5. Gibber says:

    I hope that you don’t get caught in the ceiling fan or hurt your chest..;-)

  6. I love it! Yes, own it Colleen! ❤
    Diana xo

  7. Powerful words Colleen ..claim it..own it..conquer it.

  8. ksbeth says:

    you go, colleen!

  9. Anonymous says:

    Go gettem!

  10. cindy says:

    Love it! Dammit I’m gonna pound and climb and my hair will blow in the ceiling fan when I own it today!!! Today I TOO will not doubt! This has the great makings of some Dr.suess illustration…… Or a Collen stick girl on top a…….

  11. I hope your balance is good and you don’t suffer vertigo, but I’ll be there to clap and cheer you ON! ❤

  12. NotAPunkRocker says:

    Awesome 🙂

  13. Great things to own and start the day with. 🙂

  14. Robin says:

    Fantastic way to start the day. Better than a cup of coffee. 🙂

  15. dogear6 says:

    I think I need to get up on the chair and do that one myself! And if I say it enough, maybe I’ll believe it too (rough day today).

    Nancy

    • Hang in there Nancy. I’m sorry it’s been a rough day. I challenge you to find your mountain top and climb up there!!!!! That’s exactly what I was hoping for. For someone else to say YES! And own it!!!!! Here’s to a better moment, very soon! colleen

  16. Oh I like it. I like the power in your words. My hat off to you Colleen. May your hair flow with the fan, mine doesn’t either but I hope it will. I think I may stand on my couch. It has been a strange week.

    • 🙂 Jump up on that couch MediatingMummy! It will feel so wonderful. Don’t let the strangeness of the week own you. Right this moment I’m letting these words empower me. Maybe they won’t feel as strong tomorrow or next week. But when they work….I’m using them! And thank you! Flowing hair or not….lets go for flowing spirit! 🙂

  17. markbialczak says:

    This is how I picture you every day, Colleen. 🙂

  18. niaaeryn says:

    Figuratively and literally…so true. Nice Oscar style exclamation as well. 🙂

  19. reocochran says:

    Today, Colleen believes in herself!
    Stand proud, my friend!
    Yay!
    Today, I believe in me, too!
    I like the idea of saving this and reading it to reassure yourself on those days that may come where you need these motivating words!

  20. A few days have gone by since you wrote this! I suppose you had to climb down to get some rest, but keep that chair handy! It’s a good perch! 🙂

Leave a Reply

