We Saw You Hit That Car

My husband and I drove a couple of hours from home today to go hike in a beautiful gorge.   Pulled in to the parking lot all excited to go hiking.  We’re pulling on our cold weather gear and KACRUNCH we hear, and husband sees a black SUV Jeep crunch in to a red Toyota pickup in the parking lot.  We continue to put on our gear.  Expecting the driver of the black Jeep to get out and check out the damage.  I heard it hit but didn’t see it hit.  Husband heard it and saw it, he actually saw the red Toyota be moved by the impact of the black Jeep hitting the vehicle.

The driver never gets out while we’re standing there.  I’m buckling on a waist pack. Putting on a vest.  Then I put on  a pull over.  Then my camera back pack.  Then putting my camera on around my neck.  Getting my hiking stick out of the back of the car.  We were taking our time.  Not in any hurry.  The parking lot was packed with vehicles but we were the only people there.   When we pulled in there were only two empty spaces.  The black Jeep took the last place.  We started to walk to the trail and as soon as we stepped out of the parking lot in to the trail we heard a vehicle start in the parking lot.  We back tracked to the parking lot and the black Jeep had started and was backing out.   My husband was closer to the parking lot and went to the black vehicle backing up to leave and took a picture of it’s license plate.  The lone person, the driver, saw my husband and stopped the vehicle.  Still not getting out.

He walked back to me.  We watched for awhile.   She never got out.  We don’t know.  She may have done the right thing.  She may have been calling someone asking them what to do.  She may have been writing her information down.  We don’t know.

We finally went on our hike.  We didn’t want to be confrontive.  We have a picture of both license plates.  And we asked people along the way if they were driving that vehicle.  None of them were.   And on our return, both vehicles were gone.

I almost didn’t post this.   I wrote it.  Then was hesitant.

After I wrote this, a friend posted on Facebook that for heaven’s sake if you hit a car in a parking lot please leave your information.  Her car was hit today while she was inside of a grocery store.  The responsible party did not leave the information.  Now she is stuck with the cost and at least a $500 deductible.  Through no fault of her own.  I wish I could help her.  I can’t.  Maybe I can help the red Toyota owner.

I hope the black Jeep driver did the right thing.  She may have.

But if she didn’t….

If you were driving a red Toyota with New York license plates in Ohio and went hiking and returned to your vehicle to find it damaged and don’t know what happened…..  If you need information on who hit your vehicle and the person did not leave you information, we have it.   And will gladly give it to you.

Just contact me via this blog.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

48 thoughts on “We Saw You Hit That Car

  1. 1jaded1 says:

    Hi Colleen…I’m not for telling anyone what to do. Police have anonymous tip things which I’m not naive enough to believe are anonymous, still. Easier said than find, I know. Just saying. Did you leave your blog addy? I’m sorry this happened.

  2. On behalf of the owner of the red car, thank you. Hope something positive comes of all this.

  3. Good for you! A friend of mine was visiting me and when she went to leave, her driver side door was bashed in. No notes – nothing. I’m sure it was my neighbors directly across the street’s daughter. But, we have no way of knowing. She hit and then ran. Then took her car to the finance company and dumped it on them. (They were going to come pick it up anyway from lack of payment). The insurance companies have to cough up that money. Here where I live, everyone is required to have uninsured motorists insurance. I am so glad those particular neighbors have moved away.

    • It’s so frustrating Priceless. I’ll be honest. I did waiver about even posting this blog. I wrote it, saved it, and since Husband was driving I went to Facebook and the VERY first thing I saw was my friend saying she just got hit in the parking lot at a store and the person did not leave the info. I felt horrible. SHe had not even made the first payment on her car. I immediately went back to the blog and added her story and posted it.

  4. inmycorner says:

    Geez, Louise! I hope the right thing happened too – have to have some faith sometimes. I would be fretting too, though. I”m sure all is well and the honourable thing happened. right?

    • I am hoping the honorable thing was done too Stacy. It does happen, a lot. We don’t even know if there was much, little, or no damage. I hope I hope I hope she did the right thing.

  5. niaaeryn says:

    Yikes! I hope she did the right thing too…but it is hard to say. Glad you have the photos though, so there is hope.

  6. markbialczak says:

    She don’t think she did the right thing or she wouldn’t have started her car and have been waiting for you guys to leave the area so she could then depart unseen. I like the tip above suggesting you call the area police that govern the park where you were hiking. They can track down the car that was hit and see if the driver needs the information. That’s the right thing. If the hitter already reported herself, no harm is done by you making that call. If she ran, a lot of good is done by you making that call. I’m really glad you guys took the photos, Colleen. Good job.

  7. There’s only one right thing to do. We call this being in integrity.

  8. jason says:

    A little over a year ago I was at work and happened to be outside helping a customer. I watched someone back into my vehicle. They saw me watching them and indicated they would pull back into the parking lot. I proceeded to write down the vehicle license number and description. Big surprise, they left. I gave the police all the information and a description of the person driving and their name which they had given me minutes before to complete a transaction in the store information worked at. After a month of hassle the police informed me that there was nothing they could do because the person had borrowed someone else’s vehicle was driving under a suspended license and had multiple warrants. I was stuck with the responsibility of fixing it myself. Even when you have all the information, it still may not work on your favor if the other person is dishonest.

    • I remember this!!!!!!!!!! And WHY couldn’t something be done with eye witness accounts???? And information in hand? There’s more to it than that. But that’s for another discussion NOT on here.

  9. dogear6 says:

    Unfortunately, even if you have the information of who hit your parked car and then left, the insurance companies (and police) might not act on it since you didn’t see it yourself. There’s a reason people think they can get away with it. . . because they can.

    Nancy

  10. I hope she did the right thing too Colleen. ❤
    Diana xo

  11. lexiesnana says:

    Thanks on being of the car that got hit. It happens to people all the time and no one helps.

  12. Elisa says:

    I say give the numbers to police. I keep thinking of that woman that you know who is a drunk. And what if someone had outed her and shifted her bottom a wee bit from where it was for her. (i suppose all of that is imagination)

  13. Ohmy, I feel for the one whose care was hit.

  14. Isn’t there some sort of database of state license plate numbers where you can find out the owner’s name and contact info of the person that got hit? If so, I would pass along the other car’s license plate number. My car was hit once in a parking lot, but they left a note. There are still responsible people out there!

    • I don’t know about the database. But we’ll pass the information along to the police for the park. It’s a state park related area as well so we can contact police and the state park.

  15. If I were in your shoes, I would have confronted the driver and called the police immediately. I hope the driver did the right thing, but you can’t trust people anymore.

    • I’m not all that confrontational. When it happened it didn’t even occur to me that someone wouldn’t do the right thing. But when we walked off of the parking lot and on to the trail and heard the car start we both looked at each other and had the same sinking reaction. That’s when he hustled out there and got the picture.

  16. Robin says:

    I, too, hope she did the right think.

  17. Mustang.Koji says:

    I happens frequently here… sometimes even when someone is in the car that got hit. The perp still take off knowing they will not get caught…even when they suspect the lot is being video’d. And even if you pay for uninsured motorists, the insurance company won’t pay unless you have a plate number. Things are out of control in CA.

  18. Oh Colleen so glad you decided to post. Good on your lovely husband for taking the photo and how wonderful that you checked with everyone on your hike to see if they drove that car. I hope the Black jeep did the right thing. I live in CA and Koji is right, it is out of control. I am always paranoid it will happen to me. I park in a lot by the trail where I run and it is pretty crowded, so much so, I park all the way at the end. I don’t mind one bit.

    • We generally park away from others as well. That parking lot didn’t give anyone an option it was so full. Insurance companies, and police departments, that are handed the information on crimes committed and don’t follow through….I don’t get it. THAT should be against the law as well.

Leave a Reply

