Screaming To Be Set Free

The floors are filthy from a week’s worth of tromping in and out of the house in the snow and ice.  Though we kick our shoes off at the door, we still drag winter in with us on our coats, the cuffs of our pants, the gloves we toss in our tiredness on the closest surface to catch them.

Everything in the house is coated with layers of dust.

The cupboards are near bare because there’s little time to shop during the week between work, working out and responsibilities.

Laundry is piled and waiting to be washed, or folded, or put away.

Recycling needs recycled.

Things need done.

And no matter how often we do these things, no matter how much time we spend today doing them, they’re going to need redone again.  And what happens to today?  It’s gone.  Gone.

And I won’t get it back.   But I’ll definitely get the dirty house, dirty laundry, and need to go shopping back.

It’s January.   It’s sunny.   And my responsibility laden life is yearning, screaming to be set free.

And I’m listening.  I hear it.

I’m responding.

If I’m not in the house…. then those things don’t really need done.    So I took a different path today.  And left responsibility for someone else to find.   I went looking for some other stuff.

Broken Curse

Mud

Rocks

DSC_0810 (4)

Trails to tromp

DSC_0814 (4)

Brrrrrrrrrr

DSC_0826 (4)

Ice Ups

DSC_0833 (4)

Standing at attention

DSC_0837 (5)

Playing in the shadows

DSC_0839 (6)

Puzzles chilled

DSC_0841 (4)

Trying to beat the freeze

DSC_0843 (4)

Getting caught in it

DSC_0849 (5)

Rushing

DSC_0855 (5)

Pausing mid-air

DSC_0866 (4)

Crashing

DSC_0873 (4)

Winding

DSC_0881 (5)

Hanging out

DSC_0882 (4)

Someone even sent trumpets to greet us!

DSC_0900 (4)

No

DSC_0904 (3)

Responsibilities

DSC_0912 (3)

To be

DSC_0916 (4)

Found

DSC_0918 (4)

Here.

Plenty of

In The Gorge

 Other stuff.

And me.

And This Fella

And this fella who kept following me.

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

62 thoughts on “Screaming To Be Set Free

  1. dogear6 says:

    I totally agree with you. About the only thing that is helping me do stuff inside is that the weather is so bad on some days. If this wasn’t winter, I wouldn’t be in the house or anywhere close by.

    Check out my rant on this last fall (and your comment underneath it too!).

    http://livingtheseasons.com/2014/09/08/i-hate-chores/

    Nancy

  2. These are great pictures Colleen! You really have an eye! And good for you!!

  3. Watch out for those wilderness stalkers! 🙂 Good on you for leaving it all behind/for another day and simply enjoying the time as you did!

  4. Jess Gruber says:

    This is lovely! I enjoyed the narrative and the colors and shadows of photos

  5. 1jaded1 says:

    Beautiful pictures. Glad you were able to capture the day in such form.

  6. mewhoami says:

    What a wonderful way to spend a day! So beautiful, and winter adds that special touch that only it can give. And the little trumpet is neat!

  7. You live in a beautiful part of the world, gorgeous photos. Housework…work in general, close your eyes, it can wait, open the door and see what really matters. Lovely x

  8. Gyslaine L. says:

    I like your pictures and this place. Where is this marvellous place ? Have a good day 🙂

  9. bdickinson says:

    You captured my thoughts of the past few days so well. Except half of my pile of laundry is clean.

  10. duncanr says:

    I think the late, Joan Rivers, said it best about housework . . .

    “I hate housework! You make the beds, you do the dishes and six months later you have to start all over again”

  11. jmgoyder says:

    And here it is way too hot for housework haha!

  12. And here the weather changes every day so who can plan housework, lol! Those photos are beautiful.

  13. Sometimes it’s better to take a walk than worry about all life throws at us. ❤ Great idea, Colleen. The photos are fantastic. I enjoyed this walk with you. Thanks for sharing.

  14. markbialczak says:

    You made the beautiful choice, Colleen. The same house stuff will be there today, tomorrow, next week, next year. The nature stuff will be different today, tomorrow, next week, next year … Thanks for sharing these glorious photographs, buddy. Oh, happy Sunday for me.

  15. reocochran says:

    I loved this post so much, Colleen!! Set me free on a sunny day any time of year and I will take the opportunity and who cares about all the things in the house that need to be done? The photos were awesome, too.I loved the playful comment, this guy who keeps following me! You got me grinning a big smile, Colleen!

    • 😉 He was every where! And yes, I am all about the sunny and the adventure any more. Where I used to dust and sweep and scrub and all that I should do. Now I believe it’s more about doing a littttttttttle bit more. 😉

      • reocochran says:

        Doing what you enjoy revives you for the next week of work…Way to feel refreshed!

        I believe that everything we do should be considered like that Tim McGraw song, “Live Like You Are Dying,” only like it were your last day on earth… not dying in a dreadful way but enjoying all that is heaven on earth, Colleen.

  16. afairymind says:

    Beautiful pictures! You definitely made the right choice – housework can always wait. 🙂

  17. Gibber says:

    I like the way you think. It looks like fun! We hiked in our conservation area yesterday. We got to see a couple of moose. Of course it’s the one time I didn’t take my camera. lol

  18. Nature is our best and cheapest form of therapy. Gorgeous pictures. Thank you for sharing parts of your life. It makes my heart smile.

  19. Mustang.Koji says:

    Ahhh… Another “Should Be” moment(s)!! You are a marvelous photographer; your pictorial here is wonderful… and good ol’ Po… Wait a minute. He’s also having a Should Be moment…

  20. niaaeryn says:

    Wonderful pictures! Looks like it was a great day. 🙂

  21. Wonderful pictures! Happy new year Colleen.

  22. April says:

    Escaping every now and then keep those responsibilities from becoming so tedious. Beautiful photos!

Leave a Reply

