Which One Of You Told Me About “Ish”?

Who was it?

It was one of you.

It was just a week or two ago.

I was intrigued enough by what you said that I ordered it.

I don’t believe for one minute that it’s a child’s book.

I believe the author to be a genius.

And that he wrote it just for me.

And that I have been living “ISH” for ever.

I just didn’t know it.

Now I have a word for it.

An explanation for it.

An understanding of it.

It is my philosophy.

My code.

My interpretation of loving what I do

Even if I’m not great

At what it is I love to do.

Be brave everyone.

And do what it is you want to do.

What you love to do.

And share it.

With someone who loves you.

ISH

ย And encourage everyone

To do what they love.

ISH” the book.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

53 thoughts on “Which One Of You Told Me About “Ish”?

  1. It wasn’t me… But I’m definitely intrigued.

  2. Hmm wasn’t me either ๐Ÿ˜ž verrryy interesting.

  3. This is the first I’ve heard about ‘Ish’. Tell us more. ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

  4. I wonder if it could have been lovessiamese. She also has a WordPress blog name of IshKishMish. I would like to hear about this book. I have never heard of it before.

  5. Looks great. I went to Amazon and loved the little blurb about not trying to get it right, but ish.Forgive my paraphrase. What a great concept. Thanks for sharing this and letting us know about it. Love your drawing. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. NotAPunkRocker says:

    Not me, but M has been using that as a word for a few years now.

    “Are you hungry?”

    “Ish”

    Translation: I could eat if you are, or I can wait.

    ๐Ÿ˜€

    • I love the word!! I have used it in reference to time, but now I will use it in reference to my perception. I am artist-ish. I am guitar playing-ish. I am writer-ish. I am hiker-ish. I am whatever I want to be-ish. ๐Ÿ™‚ I am thrilled with this! ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. dogear6 says:

    Thanks for the recommendation! It’s a good reminder that it doesn’t have to be perfect to be enjoyable. Whatever “it” may be. So often we forget that and dismiss our own talents because they don’t measure up to someone else. It took me a long time to appreciate that my photographs don’t look anything like my husbands and that’s fine. It also helped that he finally backed off on his extremely vocal criticisms of how my work was not as good as his when he realized that I was much better than most everyone else he has contact with. So he’s gotten a lot better about encouraging me instead of comparing me.

    Nancy

    • Nancy I love this share! I’m glad for both of you that your husband has become more encouraging. ๐Ÿ˜‰ And this lesson was too long in the learning for me as well. For YEARS I wanted to “be” creative and “do” things. Why wasn’t I???? So I just started doing and by golly, HOW good I was has NO bearing on how much I enjoy. We get it, it seems Nancy. Good on us. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • dogear6 says:

        It took long enough to get there though! I’m glad my daughter isn’t as constrained by what others think as I was.

        • Isn’t that something? I like how you say that. Like you, I felt so constrained. My kids did as well, though they have started to come out of it at an earlier age than I did….but it still makes me encourage them when I see it holding them back.

  8. markbialczak says:

    You have my attention, MDB Colleen, and fully, about Ish Thank you.

  9. inmycorner says:

    Dear Colleen – it was I. My friend Gwen brought me that book and that was the subject of one of my recent posts. ( https://billduff.wordpress.com/2015/01/19/good-news-or-bad-i-will-live-ishfully-ever-after/) I will be sure to tell my friend that you so much appreciated her book too!

  10. inmycorner says:

    Reblogged this on In The Corner and commented:
    When the iron is hot (ish) it is time to strike! Glad to see bikecolleenbrown.wordpress.com found meaning in this book gifted to me by my friend, Gwen.

  11. reocochran says:

    I like books and will try to check this one out soon, Colleen. I think my grown children say this to mean, “As if?” This is how I like to think of the word, “Ish,” and hope to hear a ‘book report’ on the subject or at least a “Yes! I loved it!”

  12. niaaeryn says:

    Sounds very interesting, especially the philosophy. Will look into this. ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. reocochran says:

    The heart that looks like fireworks going off is so sweet, Colleen. I liked this drawing very much!

  14. lilypup says:

    My new favorite concept. I am living recoverish style. http://lilypupslife.wordpress.com/

  15. Gallivanta says:

    Hooray for celebrating Ish. ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. Mustang.Koji says:

    Do it, Chatter Master!!!

    • I love this book Koji. If I ever get out to California I am going to bring you a copy!!!! Or we can go to a book store together and I am buying you one. ANd you will be inspired to continue writing YOUR book. ๐Ÿ™‚

  17. Gwen K. says:

    I am so happy that this book has brought you so much joy. When I was looking for a book to gift Stacey, I was in the bookstore with “ish” in my hand and another. My son, who is somewhat of a reluctant reader, but an old soul at times, said, “the news for Stacey might not be perfect, but it can be perfectish.” From that comment, the decision was made.

    • Gwen, this book is now sitting on my desk. And your son is brilliant (no “ish” about it). I thank him for encouraging you, you for gifting Stacey, and Stacey for gifting me. And one of his next works “The Dot” now sits on the table in the living room. I love the simplicity of just doing something and enjoying it. Whether we are exceptionally great at something or not, doesn’t mean we can’t derive exceptional pleasure out of doing it. Thank you, so very much. And here’s to Stacey’s perfectish news!!!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

