That Thing You Meant To Do

You know how you do something for someone

And you think it’s a thing,

You’re doing for that someone else.

A kind thing.

A good thing.

That makes that someone else feel good.

And then it turns out

That that thing

Turns out to be a thing

That stops you in your tracks

When that someone else says to you

Out of the blue

As you’re saying goodbye

Without knowing it’s something you say to others

Every day

“You’re my favorite”

Your eyes grow wide

In wonder

Amazement.

Turnabout.

And that thing you meant to do

For another

Is done for you

Instead.

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

33 thoughts on “That Thing You Meant To Do

  1. reocochran says:

    I am wishing this had a different outcome but you must just let it go. I believe your intent was very sweet, as you are a kind and caring person, Colleen!

  2. reocochran says:

    It may have not come out the way I wanted in this comment, Colleen. I believe you wished to not be thanked or receive recognition so instead you did, which is very wonderful indeed. You deserve the words, “You’re my favorite!” Bask in them… smiles!

    • πŸ™‚ Thank you Robin. I did understand. πŸ™‚ The wonderful thing was, I just didn’t expect to walk out feeling so good. I mean, I knew I would feel good for having seen him. And we had such a nice visit. But when I was leaving and he said that to me I was so surprised. There’s no way that he would have known that’s a phrase I use in my blog. And I was so touched that out of no where he handed it back to me like a present. It just felt so good. πŸ™‚ Thank you for knowing that. πŸ™‚

  3. Mutual admiration. Reciprocity. Karma. It actually happens a lot. I suspect the turn of events was both warranted and appreciated. πŸ™‚

    • Thank you Eric. I know I use the phrase a lot in my blog, and comments, and in my ‘every day’. But he wouldn’t have known that. And when he said it….it just felt so …. wonderful. And appreciated. Thank you. πŸ™‚

  4. Nothing wrong with being appreciated for your kindness. Save that extra umph for the time you have a really hard case that hurts to care for. ❀ ❀ ❀

  5. Give an take Colleen! A good thing all around!

  6. Can’t stop smiling from this one. Terrific.

  7. Yes. I know that thing. Happens to me often Colleen. ❀
    Diana xo

  8. inmycorner says:

    Funny how that works, eh? I guess that’s why they call kindness the gift that just keeps giving! Kindness is infectious – you deserve it back to you. You take time for people – and it shows. You think of others and it shows. What a happy post! I outta print this one and take it to Toronto with me – for the nurses, doctors, visitors to see and say – “Who wrote this? Why? What does it mean?” grin.

  9. Smile and take it in and know you have touched a life. πŸ’š

  10. tric says:

    That’s so perfect. I can only imagine the impact of his words. Brilliant, a real tale of the more you give the more you get.

  11. Gibber says:

    How wonderful and you deserve it.

  12. niaaeryn says:

    Sounds like good karma doing its thing. πŸ™‚

  13. Mustang.Koji says:

    The whole word should say to you, “You’re my favorite today!”

Leave a Reply

