That’s What I Said

We were driving through a far away little town and found a little coffee and tea shop. We went in to get a cup of hot tea for me. An iced tea for him.

His was an iced green tea. Lovely. Refreshing.

Mine was a hot chai something or other. Not a chai I have ever had.

It was to go.  The name of the tea wasn’t on the tea bag.   So I can’t share it with you.

I had to wait twenty minutes for it to cool off enough to sip.  America, you make your hot tea way too hot.

He asked me how it tasted.

I told him it tasted purple.

He gave me a husband look. I asked him if wanted to taste it. He said sure. He took a sip. And handed it back.

I asked him if he liked it. He said not really.

I asked him what it tasted like.

He said “purple”.

You would think by this point in our marriage he would know he could take my word for things.

After The Tea

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

70 thoughts on “That’s What I Said

  1. Haha! I take it you don’t care for America’s “Purple” Tea??

  2. Really!!! I know exactly how purple tastes!

  3. inmycorner says:

    wow -flat out purple – not even purplish!

  4. bikebrown says:

    Just plain old purple.

  5. Jean says:

    HA HA HA HA HA HA

  6. Elisa says:

    giggling and snorting, but don’t tell anyone that I snort

  7. NotAPunkRocker says:

    Violet, lilac, or ultraviolet? 😉

  8. dogear6 says:

    Yes, he should know better by now! Too funny that he ended up describing it the same way.

    Nancy

  9. Yup. Purple describes it perfectly. When will husbands learn? 😀 😀

  10. Haha! Thanks for the laugh! I was surprised to hear not too long ago about people who actually taste colours, they have something called synesthesia – it’s wild! ❤
    Diana xo

  11. GrahamInHats says:

    With apologies for the intrusion, but I thought, since you were kind enough to leave a Like/Comment on a relevant post, that you might like an opportunity to vote on the issues raised by recent WordPress changes. There is an overall objective and Voting starts here.

    https://freedfromtime.wordpress.com/2015/02/08/wordpress-changes-your-poll-1-herded-2/

  12. Gibber says:

    Is purple grape? LOVE that picture!

  13. markbialczak says:

    I already take your word for it, MDB Colleen!

    Great photo, orange up high purple down low. I think the hot tea is the road. America makes everything hot too hot, by the way.

  14. reocochran says:

    I like when this happens to someone else, Colleen. Tasting something colored purple to me means a blueberry-raspberry tea. I wish it had been tasty…

    • Oh I liked it okay. It just wasn’t what I expected. He didn’t like it. But that’s all right too. I probably wouldn’t have ordered it if I had known it tasted purple. 😉 But I didn’t mind something new.

      • reocochran says:

        Well, now I know to ask you if you liked it before I put my food in my mouth, Colleen! Smiles! I think when something doesn’t taste too good, I would probably pick a weird color like ‘puce’ or ‘dirt’ to describe it. So something ‘purple’ would be fine with me!

  15. This made me smile. Ahhh the beautiful bond between a husband and a wife.

  16. Tara says:

    1. There is no such thing as a “lovely” green tea. 2. There is fun in the men-folk not “remembering” our rightness in that there are plenty of opportunities to remind them!

  17. niaaeryn says:

    Purple…I would want to taste purple for the sake of tasting purple on the one hand. On the other, agreedc he should have just trusted your assessment. Yet. I am a bit curious now…purple tea. Sounds like a lovely day. 🙂

Leave a Reply

