Possibly A Slight Exaggeration

I have a fairly strong ability to leave work behind me.  I can define that by saying I will be working on a situation one day, walk in to work the next day, and have no recollection of what I was doing the day before.   Until I start working on it again.  Then it will come back to me.

When I leave work, I leave it at work.  For the most part.  It has been a true blessing for most of my work life.  Not that it has always been left at work.   But 98% of work, has been left there.

In the past month or two I have developed the habit of walking out after work with my boss.  After all of our years working together this has not always been something we’ve been able to do.  Right now, we can.

We were talking about the busy-ness of the day today and as we walked out the door she said “Colleen just leave it behind you, leave it here”.

I turned to look at her and said “who are you?”

😉

Tagged , , , , , , ,

34 thoughts on “Possibly A Slight Exaggeration

  1. I believe she really meant, SHE should leave it behind. I may be wrong. Maybe she doesn’t know you or your ethics that well. ❤ ❤

  2. Haha, well said and so nice to have a boss you can joke with. That’s fortunate. 🙂

  3. That is hilarious! You left her there too! Hahaha! Brilliant!!

  4. Good for you! I have ways broughty work home with me mentally. Now, thank goodness, my bosses are a lot more easy going and I leave my work at work without even thinking twice!

  5. How lovely that you’re at a level where your boss and you can just sort of look at each other, and say leave it behind! Love it.

  6. niaaeryn says:

    Sounds like a good thing to do with work…and a good end of the day 🙂

  7. Maybe you can take a little credit for positively influencing your boss. Sounds like it to me. 🙂

  8. Patty B says:

    Good for you, I often find it hard to leave work behind but like you have a boss that tells me to just leave it – although I find it easier to leave the actual behind but like Marissa have more of a difficult time mentally.

    • Mentally I clock out and go. I have to. There’s just things I can’t take home. It’s a rare occasion when I can’t leave it at work. And sometimes I choose to bring it home to think about it because it deserves to be thought about.

  9. markbialczak says:

    Comeback of the century, MDB Colleen. What’s your next job going to be? 🙂

  10. NotAPunkRocker says:

    Good one! 😀

  11. reocochran says:

    This was a clever comeback line and you had me believing you delivered it, Colleen! This is how I roll, I sometimes think of the best punchlines or comeback lines and have to write them down, which you did on this post! ha ha ha… I told my boss, by the way, “I hate my job but I like the people too much to quit.” Seriously, this week, too. Just de-stressing, but she smiled and said back to me, “Tomorrow’s another day, Robin. Come back and it may not be so bad.” (ha! is what I wanted to say, but didn’t want to push my luck!)

Leave a Reply

