You Haven’t Met Me Yet

I sometimes read about people I would like to meet.

Past and present.

I learn of their accomplishments.

The value of what they have given to this world.

Or, are currently giving to this world.

And it made me think.

About what it is I admire.

Great deeds.

Great works.

Great charity.

Great kindness.

Great character.

And this made me think some more.

About the size of greatness.

Must it impact a billion in a good way to be great?

Must it impact a million in a good way to be great?

Must it impact thousands in a good way to be great?

Must it impact one in a good way to be great?

And this made me think yet once more.

There must be great people,

Doing great things,

For one,

That add up to millions,

If not billions.

And we haven’t met yet.

You Haven't Met Me

But I know.

They exist.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

50 thoughts on “You Haven’t Met Me Yet

  1. Gibber says:

    That’s a whole lot of thinking! lol

  2. Mustang.Koji says:

    You always have such great – yet simple – things to say.

  3. mewhoami says:

    Sometimes your writing gives me chills and this is one of those times. I love your writing style. The kindness of people often results in a domino effect. One that we may not see, but we can rest assured that it’s happening. That’s why we should all do our part, no matter how small it may seem.

    • Thank you for such kind words MeWhoAmI.

      I feel the same way. These things we do, on whatever scale they are, impact someone. And if you ask that someone how great your act is, I am sure the scale will be monumental.

  4. inmycorner says:

    Wow! That was a real thought-provoker! And if you miss the “one” person you are to meet… what a shame. Your post is so hopeful, compelling, and encouraging. It sends such a great message. You live your live the way you write, Colleen! You are so true to your word. Bravo.

    • Thank you Stacey. I try to. I often write to hold myself accountable. To “make” me stay aware, or become aware. My words here are not a complete reflection of me. They don’t always show the scars. Or the moody. Or the snappy me. But it shows the things I think about, at least the ones that I get brave enough to share. It’s really amazing how many things go through my head that do not make it to this blog. 😉

  5. NotAPunkRocker says:

    Any impact can be good, even if it is only known to the person who makes that positive change and to nobody else.

  6. Robin says:

    All it takes is one to get things started. 🙂

  7. markbialczak says:

    And they haven’t met you yet, either, Colleen. Even Steven in my book.

  8. This is awesome and I really mean it! Unsung heroes. Wow!

  9. reocochran says:

    I like this very much, Colleen. Giving to one is enough, since if each person did this it would add up, as you said, to billions! I have been thinking about writing about a few small ways I have been trying to be giving, on a very simple level, to a handful of people. Wouldn’t it be true by helping a handful of people the numbers would add up even faster?

    • Thank you Robin. And it may feel simple, the little things we do. But to the person(s) on the receiving end of the kindness it may be a very grand act to their heart. 🙂 And I suspect all of our little acts go on and on. Greater than we will ever be able to understand. 🙂

  10. Love this Colleen. I would like to meet Tecumseh, Joan of Arc and Mandella, to name just a few. Who would you want to meet? ❤
    Diana xo

  11. jmgoyder says:

    Wonderful Colleen! I wish I could meet you in person.

  12. I appreciate this poem in its simplicity, yet immensity. Yes, each one impacts many. I feel that the bloggers I’ve met have impacted me in so many wonderful ways. Nice to meet you!

  13. Oh what a lovely, positive post Colleen. A perfect way to acknowledge every small deed – so many out there. I would like to meet one a day just to inspire me.

  14. pepe says:

    yup they do exist…great person we have not met yet, but continue to do good deeds..

  15. Gyslaine L. says:

    For my part I had the chance to meet wonderful people, known on the Internet through the blog, Canada, USA, Morocco, Tunisia, Spain and France of course. It is a very rewarding experience.
    Have a good week-end Collen 🙂

Leave a Reply

