She Knows What Matters

Do you ever hear a child say something, and it it stops you in that moment, grateful for being grounded?

It wasn’t a day at Disney.  It wasn’t Christmas morning.  There were no gifts or extraordinary events.   It was just a day, this day.   It was sitting at home.  With her parents.  Her sister.  Her grandparents.  Everyone was laughing.  Everyone was playing a game.  No one was fussing.  Nothing had to be prepared.  No one had to go do anything.  Everyone was relaxed.  It was nothing special.  But it was memorable in it’s ease and comfort and happiness.

Everyone was interacting.

Quietly, with a smile in her voice she said “this is the best day ever”.

I turned to look at her.

And knew.

She knows what matters.

Tagged , , , , , ,

58 thoughts on “She Knows What Matters

  1. Ahh, that’s so sweet! I’m surprised no one had their noses in their phones or tablets. LOL (like my family would be doing).

  2. Out of the mouths of babes!

  3. tffnyreyes says:

    Kids are so precious! 😀

  4. That would warm my heart, too! Fabulous!

  5. Gibber says:

    Now that’s a happy kid and a happy kid gives joy!

  6. markbialczak says:

    Connections! You saw the click. How grand, MDB Colleen. 🙂

  7. Brittany says:

    She often asks me what is the best part of my day and I always say this part of my day with you is the best!

  8. That’s awesome Colleen – I think I’ve felt that way a few times, even as an adult, but I don’t think I ever said it out loud… ❤
    Diana xo

  9. Colleen, I always enjoy the way you describe the perfect, everyday moments. You’ve done it once again.

  10. What a wonderful thing to say. Having everyone in the family interact IS the best, especially these days when everyone seems to be attached to one electronic toy or another. ❤ ❤ ❤

  11. Jim McKeever says:

    We need more of those days!

  12. inmycorner says:

    The best post ever. That you listened to her say those words, Colleen, is what made that best day ever even better. The best listener ever.

  13. NotAPunkRocker says:

    ❤ Y'all are doing something, or a lot of things, right for sure.

  14. Awesome, Colleen, and so right on. Reminded me of all the loving days with family and friends, enjoying each other, doing simple things. ❤

    • It was pretty amazing Paulette. That the simplest thing about it was it was an old fashioned game, maybe with a little updated tools to play it. But it was old fashioned none the less. And three generations laughing together. 🙂

  15. reocochran says:

    Out of the mouths of babes comes such wonderful truths. I love that it was a special day spent with family together at home, just simply the best day ever, Colleen!

  16. niaaeryn says:

    Aw 🙂 Reminds me of a John Lennon quote too–how being happy is what is truly important in life (brief paraphrase).

  17. April says:

    Some of the wisest ones happen to be the youngest.

  18. dogear6 says:

    My daughter did something similar at her wedding. We were doing a family photo with my side and she looked at all of us and said, “everyone who loves me is here”. My sister and I nearly started bawling.

    Nancy

Leave a Reply

