Pop A Top For Lent

The early 1970’s were a busy time in our household.

There were a couple of little people being born.  And a bunch of us already growing up.

Some of us were a little further along in the growing up process than the others.   But none of us were very far along at all.  Being a large family we all had to pitch in.  Though some of us (them) didn’t have to do much.  On occasion they were willing to try their best to help out.   They just weren’t very skilled at it.   My older brothers had to do things like take out the trash, help dad with outside work, you know-man stuff.  I had to start the oatmeal or Cream of Wheat in the mornings, or coffee for the parents.  Help with the babies, do dishes, that kind of stuff.

The younger sister one day, wanted to help.   Or needed help.   I’m not sure which.  And decided to pack her own lunch for school.  It was Lent.  We all went to a Catholic grade school. Growing up Catholic, we don’t normally associate Lent as a time of year full of fun stories.  But I can never hear the word “Lent” without thinking of this and laughing.  And the older I get, the more I embellish it in my head, and enjoy it even more.

She oh so helpfully packed her little lunch and went off to school.

At lunch time she sat down in the gym turned cafeteria for lunch time and unpacked her lunch.

Do you know what sound makes a bunch of nuns come a running in the 1970’s in a grade school cafeteria?

Near Beer

When they hear little Bubba pop a top of her dad’s Near Beer she packed for lunch.  Thank God (no pun intended) he gave up real beer for Lent.

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

40 thoughts on “Pop A Top For Lent

  1. jmgoyder says:

    Absolutely hilarious!

  2. Oh goodness, yes, that is one for Lent!!

  3. That is hilarious!! Haha! Good thing it wasn’t the real deal! 😮

  4. cindy says:

    Laughing out loud. Not just Lol……all thevworfs spelled out!

  5. haha that’s hilarious Colleen! ❤
    Diana xo

  6. niaaeryn says:

    That is one of the best Lent stories! Still wickedly grinning at the thought of it. 🙂

  7. Mustang.Koji says:

    Umm… I THINK I get it…

  8. Cheeky begger, very cute and funny story😊 especially the nuns comin a runnin’

  9. Really? Too funny. I’ve only been awake an hour and a half. 😀 😀 😀

  10. Anonymous says:

    Wow! My Lenten adventure will now live forever!! I cannot say with certainty if this was pure innocence on my part or an attempt at rebellion…I think a little of both. I don’t remember the packing of the lunch, but I definitely remember the swoosh of the nuns as they surrounded me! I remember saying, very meekly, “but there’s no alcohol in it” and the response from one of the befuddled nuns, “I know, but it just isn’t right.”

    Thanks for the retelling, and the imagery!

  11. markbialczak says:

    I really thought you were going to say Beefaroni on a Friday, MDB Colleen. 🙂 Near Beer is better. Not to drink, though. Ugh.

  12. This cracked me up. My husband called me while I was laughing so then I had to read it to him. Thank you for sharing!

  13. reocochran says:

    This is hilarious and yes, m’am those nuns would come a running! ha ha!

  14. Gibber says:

    Now that is funny!

  15. April says:

    Hahaha! The innocence of a child….
    😀

  16. Jim McKeever says:

    Uh-oh, Colleen … “Near beer,” as in 3.2? I remember my formative years in Ohio, and there were some missteps, usually involving that stuff. I think the state has come to its senses since then, and only allows the real thing.

    • Actually, it was in the day of 3.2. But dad would give up all alcohol beer during Lent and drink his “near beer” which was alcohol free. Funny, even as little kids, we knew the difference! 😉

Leave a Reply

