When You Retire

Retirement.

It should be a celebration.

Dancing

There should be accolades for all that you did.

For all that you built.

For everyone who’s lives were made better by your service.

Laud

There should be someone to wax poetic about the standard you did not meet,

But created.

And someone thoughtful,

Who willΒ buy you just the right gifts.

Thoughtful

You will walk out of a door.

And leave it behind.

Trusting that what you built

Is strong

And sustainable.

Legacy

Because what you did was not work.

It was passion.

It was valued.

It was taught.

It was learned.

And you are leaving part of it behind.

20150219_202010

And we won’t let you down.

20150219_201632

Tagged , , , , ,

46 thoughts on “When You Retire

  1. I wish it was always so ideal!!

  2. This is wonderful! You are so creative!

  3. That would certainly be a lovely celebration.

  4. Val Boyko says:

    …or not.
    So is the life we are living πŸ˜‰

  5. oh2bhuman says:

    I’m getting close to retirement and this poem was a close reminder.

  6. Great post! You never cease to amaze me with your endless talent…you paint pictures with words and your drawings speak volumes.

  7. jmgoyder says:

    I am crazy about your drawings!

  8. cindy knoke says:

    When you speak the truth it shines!

  9. Robin says:

    Retirement is a glorious thing and yes, it should be celebrated with bells on. πŸ˜€ I love your drawings. This would make a perfect retirement card. Just saying.

  10. reocochran says:

    I enjoyed your art but did take the time to think about retirement, too. I may not leave a legacy within my work culture but within my family, I hope to. I will hope that I made a difference and would like cake, balloons and a lot of whooping it up, Colleen! Big smiles for whoever is retiring…

    • The place to leave our legacy Robin. With our family. πŸ™‚ And I hope to whoop it up with happiness when I retire and be looking forward to a life full of busy-ness and things yet to accomplish. πŸ™‚

  11. duncanr says:

    got 15 months to go – and you can be damn sure I’m counting the days down! πŸ˜†

  12. dogear6 says:

    This was what I’d hoped for instead of getting dumped out into the street. The hand is still playing out, but for right now, it’s crickets in the job market. Thanks for expressing my heart desire!

    Nancy

    • My husband did not get what he “hoped” for. He has started substitute teaching. Though he did not anticipate it turning out this way, he is really loving it. It’s diverse. Gives him flexibility. The only thing it doesn’t give, is steady pay. When the snow days fly, he doesn’t get paid like a full time teacher does. But still, he likes it, which is very much what I like for him. Still hoping for you.

      • dogear6 says:

        I didn’t want to look for a job right away, but so many people came rushing over to help, I felt it was disrespectful to not follow up. But now that I’ve got the crickets going on, I just might take some time off for a few weeks.

        • Good for you! I do like it when he gets a few days off. He keeps very busy so I feel almost guilty if he doesn’t take a day or two to do nothing. I hope you take some time to enjoy.

  13. niaaeryn says:

    That sounds like a great retirement. πŸ™‚

  14. markbialczak says:

    I hope with all my heart that this happens for you my buddy Colleen. You deserve it for the way you respect people and your work world. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

