The Promise I Keep

I’ve never made a promise I intended to break.

I’m sure I’ve made promises I never had the ability to keep.

I have been the receiver of and handler of the brokenness.

A promise therefor, does not always assure.

And yet I know the truth of a promise.

Not a promise made.

But a promise born.

The only promise I have the absolute capacity to fulfill,

The only promise I believe has the power of perpetuity,

The promise I keep.

You.

Are the truth of a promise.

Β The Promise

Tagged , , , , , , ,

40 thoughts on “The Promise I Keep

  1. Great post Colleen. Earlier today I read your blog from my tablet and I was not able to like to yours, but at least I could share them πŸ™‚

  2. reocochran says:

    This is perfectly you, Colleen. I always like the way you think and draw your figures here.

  3. Mustang.Koji says:

    Now if this darned Android app will let me comment…

  4. Mustang.Koji says:

    Third time’s the charm… Such meaningful thoughts once again.

  5. S.w.e.e.t. ❀ ❀

  6. dogear6 says:

    Once again, in a short post, you convey many truths. Thanks for giving me something to think on.

    Nancy

  7. Robin says:

    Awww. Need a Love button for this one. ❀

  8. tric says:

    Oh dear I am a bit of a liar! However my promise to my children I will never break, regardless of lifes trials. As for my promise to my husband, well so far yes I really meant them and I am keeping them, for now!

  9. I believe as I become older I’m more careful with how many promises I make or commitments I make. If plans are made, I’ll do everything possible to make them happen but, I’m also learning I cannot push myself further than manageable and that’s been a hard lesson for me to learn.

  10. niaaeryn says:

    Aw πŸ™‚ promises are very important, agreed. I do my best too.

  11. Brittany says:

    πŸ’œ

  12. What you write gives your readers food for thought…and we all absorb …that’s a promise πŸ’™

  13. markbialczak says:

    Big thoughts, little Blog Heads. πŸ™‚ Major sweetness, my buddy Colleen.

Leave a Reply

