When They Start To Talk

When they start to talk, what will they say?

A friend of mine was visiting when my children were little.   I was surprised when out of the blue she said I must talk a lot to my children.   I asked why she thought so.  She  said my children seemed comfortable speaking and really enjoyed talking (they still do).    She attributed that to me communicating with them.

Years later those talkative children grew up to sprout another generation.  And I observed childhood  from yet another angle.  A different and more relaxed perspective.  With a little more patience.  And a lot more latitude.

With the very first grand I would sit her on my lap almost daily  and ask her “what did you do today?”  This habit started even before she could talk.   I would then talk to her about all kinds of things, and sing to her.  Gradually she would jabber and  then  talk,  and then  sing with me.  Apparently I do like to talk to little beings who do not have any way to get up and walk away from me or defend their little ears from me.

Gradually her communication skills grew.   And then it happened.  That moment when she began to speak for herself.  Deciding what it was she wanted to say.   What it was she wanted to know.   We were sitting together in our favorite chair.   She was talking away.  She was just like her mother, she really likes to talk too.    Some things I understood, some things I just absorbed with happiness because she wanted to tell me these things.

And then…

From her own little curiousity she asked:

“What did you do today Mamo?”

I guess what they learn to say might depend on what it is they hear being said.

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

44 thoughts on “When They Start To Talk

  1. How sweet! They are so adorable!

  2. Oh I love it Colleen. I agree, agree, agree. I talked to my girls all the time, while cooking, while cleaning, while reading – they didn’t get it, and it didn’t matter, the tone I used was a conversation with them nevertheless.

  3. Oh yes, those little ones just love to talk!

  4. Happiness is grandchildren you see and interact with. Can’t stop smiling about this post. This is a sweet way to start my Tuesday. ❤ ❤ ❤

  5. mewhoami says:

    Children are sponges indeed. They take in whatever they are given, and when squeezed let out what they’ve learned. You’re a good teacher, just by being you.

  6. So precious. Love starting my day with this. ❤

  7. Gibber says:

    So many precious moments to cherish. 🙂

  8. Heartafire says:

    The little ones are so sweet and have so much inside to tell us, it is such a pity if that is stifled, it effects the self esteem of that little human that can stay with them a lifetime.

    • I hear that Heart. I hope the littles in my life are never stifled. I love their natural selves and who I see developing. It’s amazing to be able to see, yet again, from another generation.

  9. Jim McKeever says:

    Nature or nurture? I’ll vote for nurture most of the time. Lucky kids and grands you have!

  10. My only real regret is that I didn’t write down all the truly sweet and funny comments my granddaughters have made. I suppose that’s impossible, but I have spent a lot of time talking to them and delighting in every word. Can you imagine having these precious children and NOT spending as much as possible getting to really know them? And it sounds like you have a little one who understands a bit about reciprocity. 🙂

    • My kids and niece are so much better at writing down the funny things said and done. I wish I had done more of that as well. I’ve captured a few of them.

      And no, I can’t imagine not wanting to be with them. There is never a moment when I think….no, I don’t want to see them. Ever.

  11. I recorded my girls only briefly unfortunately when they were little and throwing a tantrum …to hear it now is priceless.

  12. reocochran says:

    I adored the fact your granddaughter asked you how your day was and what did you do today? Is this the same sweetheart that said it was the best day of her life? smiles… I did not put it the way your post did, but I remember her breaking us all into big smiles from her special way of saying she was enjoying her time with the family.

  13. tarafaherty says:

    :’)

  14. Mustang.Koji says:

    …and you must’ve beamed!!! What a wonderful way to start off, Mamo! (At least she didn’t say, “What SHOULD you have done today, Mamo?”) 😁

  15. niaaeryn says:

    That is adorable in so many ways. 🙂 I like that talking is encouraged in your home. I wish I could recall if my parents did the same…memory at that age is tricky.

  16. markbialczak says:

    Oh, the torch, it burned a glow in my heart, my buddy Colleen. Beautiful.

Leave a Reply

