Thankful To Be Walking Away

There are some things that are not meant to play out the way we plan them to play out.

Today’s adventure with my friend was all about a historic small town hike.  We were going to go to the old hotel, pick up the recorded history.  Check.  Did that.  Start the recordings and take pictures.  We even created a list of items to take pictures of to have a contest on who took the most creative pictures.  Check.  We both had our cameras at the ready.

We headed out on the self guided, and very cold, walking tour.

We didn’t bother to dawdle at the first building long and once we oriented ourselves to the map we headed quickly to the second destination.   We were walking on the sidewalk.  Me in front.  My friend behind.  We were looking to our left for the numbers on the buildings to find the plaques noting the buildings on the tour.  I stopped and faced the row of buildings, stepping back towards the outside of the sidewalk.  My friend was to my left now.  The row of buildings facing me.   The street at my back.

I did not necessarily become aware of what  happened in the chronological order it happened.  Pieces of what happened came to my consciousness  as my brain could process it in.

I looked down and a flying black object was hitting my left foot.

I looked to my left and there was a black wrought iron trash can next to me, a red Toyota pickup on the other side of it.

I heard my friend yell my name.

I came to the realization that the truck was on the sidewalk heading towards me.  But I don’t remember moving.  I have no idea how it did not plow through and over my friend.  Where was my friend?

I have no idea why I didn’t move.  Or if I didn’t move.  I know I looked-and the truck was coming at me.

And then it was over.

I have no idea how I got behind the scene after it stopped.  And I saw the truck.  My friend was there unscathed.  My foot hurt.  People were approaching.  Cautiously.  No one knew what to do.  The driver still sat in the truck.  A man approached the truck, I saw him speak to the driver.  The windshield was smashed.  The truck was making noise.  It made crunching noises.  It had also plowed through a tall, wrought iron light pole, which turned out to have been part of what hit me.  The top of the light had crashed into the windshield of the truck from what I could tell.  From where I stood.  The truck made more noises.  The truck backed up.  And left.  Cars pulled up.  People were yelling out the license plate number.  People were writing it down.  People were asking my friend and I if we were okay.   Two girls came over and said they had no idea how we did not get run over.  They couldn’t believe we didn’t get hit.  We were right there, where he plowed through with the truck.  The man who went up to the driver, came over with his friend and stayed with us until the police arrived.  He said the man in the truck appeared drunk.  Very drunk.  Or very impaired in some way.   It could have been something medical, but no one knew because he pulled away so quickly.  People had seemed hesitant to approach the driver of the truck, perhaps, because of his demeanor.  I don’t know.   People were helping clear the debris from the street so cars wouldn’t run over it, possibly getting flats.    Another man came over and had us write our names and numbers down after the police didn’t arrive for awhile in case we didn’t want to wait.

I sat down and took my shoe off just to look at my foot.  It wasn’t bleeding so I put my shoe back on.  One woman thought I got hit in the back of the leg because there were marks on the back of my leg.  I told her I didn’t think so.  But who knew.  Maybe I’d have bruises later.

The police arrived.  They had us write statements.  Wanted to know if we needed a hospital.  The officer who talked with us the most was exceptionally friendly and told us he hoped we didn’t feel unfavorably towards their city after hearing our run of luck the first two days we’ve had in his little city.   We assured him that no matter what has happened the people here have been fabulous.  Which has been the saving grace to this trip.

When we looked over the scene I saw what saved me.  The wrought iron light post and wrought iron trash can that were cemented in to the ground are what saved me.  Literally.  Simply.  Truly.  You can see where the trash can was uprooted from it’s spot and moved.  You can see where he sheered off the light post and continued for how many feet before plowing in to the trash can.  My friend on one side of the scenario.  Me on the other side.

I stood there looking at them.  My friend said when it happened she could not see me at all.  She saw the truck, and not me, that’s when she yelled my name.

When I was looking at this I looked at her and asked what was between her and the truck.

She simply said “it had to be my guardian angel”.

We finished with the police.   And walked away.

Technically, that’s all we planned to do this trip, was walk this little city.   And we are walking away.

Glory be.

The truck hit the light post.  Sheering it off and driving over the top of what was left.

The truck hit the light post. Sheering it off and driving over the top of what was left.

From here, to there,  my friend was on this end.  I was on the other side of the trash can when the truck stopped, the bumper in the trash can.  I could have put my hand in the trash can.

From here, to there, my friend was on this end. I was on the other side of the trash can when the truck stopped, the bumper in the trash can. I could have put my hand in the trash can.   The light post and remnants of it lie to the right of the trash can.   The big bulb like end of it is unfortunately positioned under the helpful young woman….

The Scene of Disbelief

 

I don't even know where for sure the sign came from.  I'll have to look at the pictures better.

I don’t even know  for sure where the sign came from. I’ll have to look at the pictures better.

I thanked the police for their city making wrought iron trash cans and cementing them to the sidewalks.

I thanked the police for their city making wrought iron trash cans and cementing them to the sidewalks.

Paying Respect To The Sacrificial Trash Can.

Paying Respect To The Sacrificial Trash Can.

Note:  all pictures were taken by my friend saved by her guardian angel.  I was too busy kissing trash cans.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

97 thoughts on “Thankful To Be Walking Away

  1. Victo Dolore says:

    So, so glad you are safe! Whew!

  2. msampson999 says:

    Thank. Fucking. God.

  3. ksbeth says:

    i can’t believe this! so glad to hear you are both okay – i hope they find the driver who did this –

    • Thank you Beth. I do too. I don’t know whether to be furious that someone was wasted. Or concerned for a medical condition. (Concerned for whoever else he was putting at risk out there as well.)

  4. Tim says:

    Thank the Lord. Glad you’re not seriously hurt Colleen.

  5. Gibber says:

    Holy cow Colleen I was in tears reading this. First because of what could have happened to you and your friend and second that you are okay. I hope you’re doing alright after that fact and your foot isn’t injured to badly. Thinking of you and thanking God for the intervention .

  6. An exciting story with a happy ending.

  7. Anonymous says:

    Sooo glad ur okay!

  8. dogear6 says:

    I’m thankful God was watching over you and I don’t blame you for hugging that trash can! I tend to be a bit oblivious that way too and I’m thankful He watches over me when I’m like that too. What an experience! I’m glad you’re okay.

    Nancy

    • Thank you Nancy. It’s funny (odd funny). The day before, on our hike, we took all kinds of precautions. We knew what to be prepared for. For this city hike we felt we were being safe. We were on the side walk. Using cross walks. Just standing there. And ….wow. Like you say, HE was watching over me when someone else was not being safe. And I admit, I was shook up. After everything was done with the police we went to a coffee shop. I was standing in there and suddenly just had to leave. My adrenaline and nerves just caught up with me. Thank you Nancy.

  9. I think you both have guardian angels! That was one close call! I think it is sweet you are hugging the trash can but I believe a guardian angel directed his truck there instead of into you two! Thank God!

  10. Oh my goodness Colleen! So glad you’re okay! A guardian angel indeed! So, Is your foot okay too?

    • Thank you Marissa. My foot is okay. It’s bruised. It hurts to have the shoe on, but if the shoe is off it feels much better. 🙂

      • Oy vey! Well it sounds like it will be better soon anyway…not serious. What a traumatic incident though!! I would think you might be a little out of whack mentally though, oh but Colleen…well…ha, ha! Laughter is the best medicine they say!! But seriously, hope you are not too traumatized.

        • Thank you Marissa. Especially for understanding that part. I’m having a hard time just leaving that moment back there where it belongs. I can’t walk away from it in my head. I keep seeing that friggin’ truck, right there. And I keep hearing my friend yell my name. I told her later I felt like I heard it on a delay. And she explained that no, that’s when she yelled it. Because after it happened she couldn’t see me. And that makes me feel horrible. That for that second or two or three she must have thought I was hit by that truck. Just so much emotion in that. I told my friend today that my brain was completely out of whack …. even still today some what.

          • I bet! It’s quite an experience and then to imagine that the guy was drunk…that there was just no excuse for what happened and could easily happen again if someone acts irresponsibly! Oh dear, I’m afraid I am not making this any better. Just know you have my sympathies. Time heals all wounds.

  11. Gyslaine L. says:

    God was here Colleen 🙂

  12. jason says:

    Thank you Jesus for watching over my friend.

  13. Glad you are safe Colleen. ❤ When did this happen? Is this a recent thing? I'd be hugging that trash can too!
    Diana xo

  14. Oh my. Oh my. Oh my. Guardian angels are R.e.a.l. So glad you are both okay. ❤ ❤ ❤

  15. tarafaherty says:

    I was literally on the edge of my seat, speed reading through first, then when back for the details. I think we share the same Angel and I am every thankful that he is ever-present and SO good at what he does! Thank you for being ok…love you, sister!

  16. Holy moly! I’m so glad you’re alright. I’d be hugging that trash can as well. Angels come in all forms!! ❤ ❤ ❤

  17. Mustang.Koji says:

    omFg!!! So did you go to the doctor today????!!!! And that truck driver… Did they find that phucked??? (Sorry… but I am pissed with this society! Look at what happened to you!)

    • Don’t be sorry Koji. It’s okay. I didn’t have to go to the doctor. The foot is okay. The bruise is okay, it looks very oddly like a tan more than a bruise. And only hurts with a shoe on. Though the driver was not high on my list of people doing right by society, there was a whole bunch of good people who came running when this happened. So, that says some good things. 🙂

  18. markbialczak says:

    Good God, my buddy Colleen. And I mean that in every way. Good God to put the trash can and light post into cement, Good God to keep the truck inches from damaging you. Good God to keep the driver unharmed enough to drive away. Good God for the Samaritans to help you and your friends and shout out the license number and for the police who will surely catch him and bring him to justice.

    Thank you for keeping my friend safe, Good God.

  19. reocochran says:

    First let me say, I am so glad you are alive, Colleen!
    By the Grace of God, you were saved. I believe this in my heart, mind and deep in my soul. This is one Amazing Grace story, amazing city with cemented garbage cans and strong sturdy light posts, but really you BOTH had Guardian Angels watching out over you, Colleen!

    • I believe the same thing Robin. I absolutely do. I keep playing it over and over in my head (and need to STOP doing that). We were meant to be unharmed and walk away. Thank you Robin.

  20. tric says:

    A bit ridiculous to say how lucky you were! I’m delighted you got away so lightly, but I’m sure as time went by the shock hit.
    Glad you and your friend are okay. What a difference the day makes. Whoever was watching out for you, you owe them a drink, but maybe it was payback for you and the good you have done.

  21. niaaeryn says:

    I am so glad you are safe! Had to guardian angels, and the pole and the trash can. Way too close though. Just wow…too close.

  22. Val Boyko says:

    So glad you are here unscathed to tell the tale. That is seriously scary!! Whew!! Hugs xo

  23. Jim McKeever says:

    Scary. Glad you are OK.

  24. April says:

    Oh my! I am so happy to read that you and your friend were not seriously harmed. Traumatic events are some of the toughest to let go of in the mind. I continue to live a horribly traumatic event, but how I stop myself from dwelling on the event and every slow moving second of that day, is to focus on right now. Find something beautiful, funny, something to make you smile—and pay attention to that one thing if even for a moment. Eventually those moments will add up enough to push the trauma to the side a little.

    • Thank you April. Each day that passes, fortunately, helps me look at it more as a gift of sorts. Because we are okay. Bruised is the worst of it. Maybe the shock of it was really the worst of it to be honest. But the gratitude was certainly the best of it. The wonderful things to focus on definitely are helping pushing the trauma aside. And I’m glad they are helping you do the same. And I’m sorry you are dealing with trauma as well.

  25. Patrick says:

    Very scary, Pinky, and so glad you’re okay! No doubt you’ll be replaying this in your head for awhile. You never know what can happen…

  26. What can I say that hasn’t been said! Your Guardian Angel has my gratitude. ox

  27. a gray says:

    Isn’t it amazing how suddenly everything, without warning, turns?

  28. I’ve had quite a few of these. Am sure I used up my 9 lives decades ago. But for some reason still here.

  29. Heartafire says:

    a heads up on how fragile life if…I am thankful you were not seriously injured or worse. I am appalled as always to learn of people driving drunk. I despise the thought of that. Chatter, I am sorry you went through this, thanks you for sharing this experience and being around to do so! ❤

    • Thank you for caring Heart. 🙂 It feels good to get these comments. It shakes me up, still, to think of this. And to know people still drink and drive. I appreciate your thoughtfulness and concern. ❤

  30. russtowne says:

    I’m glad you and your friend are okay, and I hope the incident led the driver to get help and to learn from the near-tragedy.

    • Thank you Russ. We never did hear from the police. To tell you the truth I don’t think they were too worried about following up on it. But they had all they needed to go get him.

Leave a Reply

