Dragged In

My friend and I sat talking.

I was expounding on the frustrating situation.

The situation of another.

That really did not involve me.

And my ever so wise friend said:

“So they dragged you into their roller coaster?”

I felt my eyes grow wide.

Yes!

My friend smiled at me.

I smiled back.

My friend said:

“Throw your hands up and yell-wheeeeeeeeeeeee!!!!!”

As sheΒ threw her hands up in the air.

So I did.

And I laughed.

And I felt better.

And still do.

Thank you my ever so wise friend.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

46 thoughts on “Dragged In

  1. She was being dragged in by you, too, to enjoy the ride! πŸ™‚

    • Well, let’s be honest here, she was a lot smarter than me. And that being said, sometimes it really takes a simple lesson and a simple statement to help us learn how to deflect such things in the future. Lesson learned. πŸ™‚

  2. What an awesome friend!! Yes, very wise. πŸ˜€

  3. That’s fantastic! I love when friends can really give you the perspective you need. 😊

  4. reocochran says:

    I am so grateful for coworker friends who have helped me get through my days, along with friends outside of work, who listen and brighten my afternoons and evenings, too.
    You are lucky to have this ever so wise friend and she made me smile, too. Don’t let anyone pull you (drag you) into their personal roller coasters. These are great words to live by, to put on the refrigerator, for me to remember, too. Thanks, Colleen! You gave me that well needed “Wheeeee!” and I am soaring!

  5. I love friends like that Colleen! Weeeeeeeeeeeeeee! ❀
    Diana xo

  6. dogear6 says:

    My son-in-law has a great expression for that – not my circus, not my clowns. The first he said it, I was surprised, but I like it!

    Nancy

  7. At least it wasn’t one of those spinny rides…you never would have been able to get off!

  8. markbialczak says:

    We all need friends who are the ticket-takers to help us keep level in life, my buddy Colleen. And I agree with Marissa, too. The spinny ride would have been worse. ;-o

    • I’m glad I’ve got friends who can be ticket takers, blunt info givers, and humor advisers when needed. It takes all kinds MBM. πŸ™‚ And yes, the spinny ride would have induced some hurling in addition to the stress. πŸ˜‰

  9. mewhoami says:

    Great friend you have there. It’s never fun to get on other people’s roller coasters.

  10. That’s the friend you need, to drag you up when low and a loud Wheeeeeeee is a wonderul way of doing it. ☺️

  11. April says:

    Now that’s a very wise and fun friend to have. πŸ™‚

  12. Wheeeeeeeeeeeee! πŸ˜› πŸ˜› ^^’

  13. Cecilia says:

    A real good friend! Great post, thanks for sharing.

  14. niaaeryn says:

    A good friend, and a good take on it. Reminds me of that Polish proverb I kept seeing, something like, “not my circus; not my monkeys” but I like the roller coaster, weeee, better. πŸ™‚

  15. Oooh I needed that Colleen. I’ve been saying wheeee for a while. Eye opener that. Thank you friend of Colleen, you are lovely.

Leave a Reply

