It’s Better Than Not Being Able To Say

I climbed a mountain today.  Some people don’t think it’s a mountain.  Mostly because it doesn’t look like a mountain.  And probably because it only takes a few minutes to ….summit.  At least for me.   It may take some – more than a few minutes.  I’m not bragging mind you.  But all of the bike hours and treadmill hours, and stair climbing at work make climbing not so difficult for me.    At least this mountain.  Whether it’s a mountain in some people’s opinion or not, it’s a chunk of earth sticking out of the ground above the rest of the earth in near proximity to it.  And once you summit,  climb, walk, run, stroll to the top….you can see out over the town.

The point is….I climbed a mountain today.

And the point of that is, it’s better than not being able to say I climbed a mountain today.

Grand or not, a mountain is still a mountain.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

50 thoughts on “It’s Better Than Not Being Able To Say

  1. That is awesome Colleen! I did NOT climb a mountain today. LOL!

  2. markbialczak says:

    Way to climb, rise, overcome, MBC. You did it. Proud here. ❤

  3. mewhoami says:

    You’re right. Doing anything is better than not doing anything. 🙂 Congrats on your climb! You conquered that mountain!

    • 🙂 It sure beat the ‘doing nothing’ routine. (Not that I do nothing but often what I am doing requires a lot of sitting and I was tired of that….)

      • mewhoami says:

        I understand that fully. Since I work at home, I can (and do) place my laptop in a place where I can stand at it while I work, rather than sit down. I can’t stand sitting for long periods.

        • Me either. At work I built myself and my coworkers standing desks to put on top of our regular desks so we could stand at our desks instead of sitting. The only time I sit at my desk is when I’m on the phone taking messages so I can write them down.

  4. jmgoyder says:

    I live on the flats so I will try to find a mountain today ha!

  5. Congratulations, Colleen. Everyday, we climb mountains, but share with anyone. How did you notice you had? 😮
    I’m pleased to say, without planning it, I climbed three small mountains today. Without this post, I would never have noticed. ❤

  6. NotAPunkRocker says:

    One person’s mountain is another person’s molehill, and vice versa. Good for you for reaching that summit today!

    • 🙂 Thanks NAPR! I remember climbing this ‘mountain’ with a small child a few years ago. And it was her ‘first’ mountain. And it was quite a bit different for her. Today she could probably run clear to the top and wait for me. 🙂

  7. I’m gonna find one and do it. ❤

  8. msampson999 says:

    I climbed the stairs today. Can I call that a mountain? Because sometimes it feels like it! ^_^

  9. I climbed the steps.

  10. inmycorner says:

    I think I climbed it with you – at least in spirit! Bravo, Colleen!

  11. I went for a walk… Hmm not quite the same but it was cold and I was lazy. Yay you for climbing a mountain, physically and mentally. Xx

  12. Fantastic use of time. I think people with the ability to climb should climb! I’m very mindful of the gift of mobility, and walking, climbing, moving…all good for the soul! How great that you had the time to comb today!

    • Your comment has resonated with me since I read it. I have not been able to get to responding until today. But having the ability to ‘do’ is a definitely something I want to be mindful of. Thank you Debra. 🙂

  13. April says:

    A mountain climber…who knew. 🙂

  14. Very well done Colleen 😀
    I like to walk in the mountains with Odin here, when it is possible.

  15. reocochran says:

    I feel this way about the peak that overlooks Lancaster, Ohio. It is a ‘mountain’ since it is the only high point around! Smiles and hope it was a beautiful view to see!

  16. Gibber says:

    I got up that’s a mountain..lol

  17. Robin says:

    I know that feeling! I’ve climbed what some think of as a “hill” but to me, at the time, it was a mountain. (Now I’m reminded of the movie “The Englishman Who Went Up a Hill But Came Down a Mountain.”) Well done, CM. 😀

    • I loved that movie! 🙂

      Technically I don’t know if this a mountain or not, but they CALL it “MOUNT” and refer to as such. 🙂 But really, I have no idea. I’ll let it be whatever it wants to be. I enjoy it for what it is. 🙂

  18. niaaeryn says:

    Well done! Keep climbing and enjoying the climb as you go 🙂

Leave a Reply

