When You Get It

That moment

In a learning process

A teaching process.

When all the little moments

Of trying to explain

And trying to understand.

The efforts of putting it together

To make it work

Come together.

And you get it.

Triumph

Over

“I Can’t”

Forever more becomes

I can

I will

I do.

 When mastery is not becoming a master.

But becoming able.

Lessons Start

*

Lessons Repeat Ad Nauseum

*

Lessons Learned

To anyone who ever taught me.

Thank you.

Thank you.

Thank you.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

61 thoughts on “When You Get It

  1. OMG. Your sketches have exploded. You may or may be aware how much your sketches have evolved. They have always been awesome. These are stupendous. Wow. Wow. Wow. ❤ ❤ ❤

  2. Its funny because as soon as i started reading this i immediately thought of learning and teaching guitar and then i scrolled down and saw your illustrations (on my iphone, this is).

    • I didn’t want to use the word guitar in what I was writing because it applies to so much of my life. However, it does specifically apply to my guitar lessons and my teacher. He is so patient. And I finally feel like I had a break through. After 2 years. It’s not easy for me. And after the last couple of weeks something just made sense in my head. The playing isn’t really any better, but something musical is staring to make sense. And it feels soooooooooooo good. 😀

      • Breakthroughs on guitar are very important and can be really wonderful…that feeling of getting to the next level. I’m sure the playing is coming along with it, even if you don’t feel it. You must be gaining hand strength and dexterity if you are playing often enough.

        • Marissa, I will never be a great guitarist. I would never consider myself a musician. I thought I was going to cry when three weeks ago my instructor told me I was a guitarist. But I am content being a guitarist in my house, picking out the melody to a little song for a grandchild. Or a song that catches my interest. I love the process of this. And I love that I can….. 🙂 When there was a time when I thought it would never happen….

  3. Becoming able. I like that Colleen. Here’s to becoming able! ❤
    Diana xo

    • Thank you Diana. Like playing guitar, I will never be a master at it. But I am able to pick it up, play it, enjoy it, and learn more. And most importantly, be glad I did it and look forward to more of it! ❤

  4. ksbeth says:

    you are so right about this process and there is no way around it )

  5. Anonymous says:

    “Exploded”…my thoughts exactly! I love love LOVE your shadow people! And I love who they represent even more!

  6. Sweet. I love those ah ha moments.

  7. NotAPunkRocker says:

    I love how you illustrated this point especially 🙂

    • Thank you NAPR! That’s my instructor! I did pretty good capturing him. I just couldn’t get the guitar in his hands too. We always both have the guitars. But other wise I did pretty good with it. 🙂

  8. dogear6 says:

    Your pictures do a superb job of showing how the learning curve works. I loved the first one especially. We don’t realize how bad we are until later when we stop and look back.

    Nancy

  9. Jim McKeever says:

    Ah, the guitar! … “Practice doesn’t make perfect …. practice makes progress.”

  10. niaaeryn says:

    Love the progression and the imagery. It is always a process one I feel even masters would say they never stop learning. Also, love his goatee. 🙂

  11. reocochran says:

    You make me wish to thank my parents, friends and family who have given me innumerable lessons and showed me patience, along with the fine teachers who also gave me their time, lessons and patience! I loved the art work, along with your message, Colleen! xox

    • Thank you Robin! Well this was prompted by my guitar instructor. I felt so great after completely understanding something he was teaching me…. I had hoped to take lessons for awhile to “play”. But after 2 years I’m still going, still loving it, and I’m learning all about music. And I am amazed that I want to. It’s what a great teacher does for us. Instills and stokes that fire for learning.

      • reocochran says:

        This is just wonderful and inspiring, since many of us stick with what we know and don’t extend our learning past what we already know how to do, Colleen. I have heard about your guitar lessons but this is fantastic how you finally ‘got’ something, keep on going. This is a great teacher who can instill and stoke your fire for learning, which I love this way of putting it! I am cheering you on!

  12. markbialczak says:

    I’m proud of you, MBC. Keep at that stringed thang! Again, BlogHeads much appreciated, artful one. ❤

  13. Sometimes as we step barefoot on the path of stones, we feel the soft grass underfoot. Congrats on the guitar achievement and also for the very cute sketches.

  14. johncoyote says:

    I agree. I’m thankful for my elders and teachers. My best teachers were the Non-commission officers in the Army who thought I had potential. A outstanding poem.

    • Thank you very much John. You have been an astute student who still learns, and now teaches. I think that’s the best gift any student can give a teacher. Is continue the lessons, by passing them on.

  15. I would love to hear you play the guitar! I am sure I would be amazed Colleen! You are a woman of many talents! Loved your poem and the pictures! 😀

  16. Off topic: I always think of you when I’m eating samoas. I’m on my third now. A fourth might be in my near future. Cheers!

  17. I’m so glad you’re continuing with your guitar, and it sounds like you are succeeding in making progress. Wonderful! 🙂

  18. Gibber says:

    Love your drawings! Congrats on mastering the song!

  19. Mustang.Koji says:

    Hmmm…. Not one. Not two. Not three… but FIVE colors???

  20. Reblogged this on dolphin519 and commented:
    Keep on trying you will triumph. Dolphin xx

Leave a Reply

