Help Is Not Always Work

Every day at work we field calls about helping others.  It’s our job.

Last week I was reminded that helping others is not always work.

It might happen at work.  But that doesn’t mean it’s about work.

It might mean it’s about people helping someone because this someone is a face they see on a regular basis and they learn about him and find out he could use some help.  And they reach out.

From one human being to another.  And one human being reaching out grows in to a small group of human beings, reaching out to that human being in need, to help him.

I was contacted by someone in this small group of bright humanity to be asked some questions.  I wasn’t very brilliant in my answer giving but did my best.  The other day they sent me an update.  We exchanged some emails  with me expressing appreciation for them sharing what they had done, with me.  If they had not told me I would have been completely unaware of their good deeds, as is most of the two hundred plus people in the building I’m sure.  In our exchange my contact said to me “I ask myself everyday why some folk talk about people and why others help those people!”

I have been thinking about that comment.

This group of people saw someone struggling with something.  Whatever it was – they saw it.  They saw a man with a need and doing without, and stepped in, on their own.  And helped.  They didn’t sit around and talk about it or wish for it to happen.  They just stepped in and did it.

Being in a ‘job’ where I help others every day I know it is not always easy to be of service to others.  It very often is difficult and it is work.  There isn’t always an answer.  There isn’t always an easy solution.   Helping is not always rewarding.  It can be frustrating.  And it can be, and often is, refused.  Even when we stand there eagerly with what we “think” is a wonderful solution.  The figurative and literal door can, and has been, slammed in willing to help faces.

But…

Then I am reminded.

By something so kind and genuine.

By people doing the kind and genuine.

They show me again….

That help…is not always work.

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

53 thoughts on “Help Is Not Always Work

  1. Nice to read that there are some kind souls out there Colleen 😀

  2. It must be gratifying to be in a position where you can help someone every day, even if you’re not always successful. Yes, a big difference between thinking about helping and actually doing it.

  3. You nailed this one on the head. I’m never sure with some individuals rather they want my help or not. Some will come right out and ask, and that’s the way I like it. If I know of an easier way or about resources they might not know about, then I like to pass that information on to others.

    • In my ‘job’ people call us to help others, some of those others want our help, some do not. Some call us themselves for help. It’s a hodge podge mixed up collection of who wants what. And it’s a hodge podge mixed up collection of whats out there to help. But usually, there is something. 🙂

      • How well I understand this quandary. I have individuals who will bring me boxes of unorganized medical records for review and after I spend hundreds of hours of reviewing and writing a summary wherein they’ll more than likely receive 100 percent disability, they’ll say they don’t deserve it, yet return a month later asking for help in receiving help from a weekly food pantry that delivers. I do this on a volunteer basis and sometimes it tries my patients when they’ve taken up time I could have used helping someone else.

  4. russtowne says:

    Another gem of a post, Colleen.

    “That help…is not always work.”

    And help that works is beautiful indeed.

    Thank you for all the ways you help others, including through this blog.

  5. Rightly said Colleen. Being able to ask without question a humbling and gratifying experience. Wonderful words lovely.

  6. Val Boyko says:

    I love this aha moment Colleen. Why indeed … 🙂

  7. johncoyote says:

    “It very often is difficult and it is work. There isn’t always an answer. There isn’t always an easy solution. Helping is not always rewarding. It can be frustrating. And it can be, and often is, refused.”
    Words above are true. Many reasons to refuse help. Pride is a hard barrier to overcome. Powerful words and thoughts my friend.

  8. Reaching out to help someone should be a matter of course in our lives and it’s heartwarming to hear people still do good just because there is a need. ❤ ❤ ❤

  9. Robin says:

    One of the things I enjoy most about your posts, CM, is how they often warm the heart and soul. Thank you for sharing that and reminding us of certain truths. 🙂

  10. I know that you work in a field that you are always helping other people and that is your career. For me, there is a difference between career and work. Careeer being doing something you love and work, well, work. As I have come to know you, I see your job as your career. It also seems to me that helping others is your second nature. Helping someone when it comes from human love and respect for another becomes an act of love and not “work.”

    • I agree with you Priceless. And I do have a career. This is true. And these people who helped this man? They helped out of kindness and love of humanity. There is no doubt about that. 🙂

  11. I love the way people still surprise me Colleen. ❤
    Diana xo

  12. Kindness and being genuine are such wonderful traits that make a big difference. A breath of very fresh air. Beautiful post, Colleen. ❤

  13. Jim McKeever says:

    Colleen … Since it’s baseball season, would a baseball metaphor apply here? The best hitters in the game “fail” two out of every three times they step into the batter’s box. They make an out and saunter back to the dugout, head down, grimacing, having “failed.” But that third time, they get a base hit, drive in a run, “pick up” their teammates, etc. I’ll take that kind of math.

    • Jim, this absolutely applies. And quite well I might add. I will take this kind of math as well. It actually makes me feel ‘better’ about the times when I can’t get my ‘help’ to help. 🙂 Your’e my favorite today. 🙂

  14. markbialczak says:

    It’s a great thing when you see people who see help is what’s needed and, so, they give their help. I like that you saw it and appreciate in and know that in the even in the business of helping people, it’s not always so. Happy day, MBC. And please enjoy it. 🙂

    • Thank you MBM, I did enjoy this day (16th). And though the 17th was a bit more difficult, it was still a good day. Surrounded by people who were kind and understanding. Helping, comes in so many forms. 🙂

  15. lbeth1950 says:

    Sometimes you help because it’s who you are, don’t you?

  16. niaaeryn says:

    A wonderful reminder too…I love that they updated you so you knew as well. Nice to hear about positive energy flowing well 🙂

  17. reocochran says:

    It is heart-warming to hear about people who put their words and thoughts into actions, Colleen. Without looking for praise or any feedback. Just because. . . so perfectly said and a shining example of what it means to be giving, without feeling like it is work at all.

    • Sadly, I think the working world where ‘help’ is what they do, have even made helping a difficult thing to do. So being able to do it without all of the red tape and muckety muck makes it so enjoyable. 🙂

      • reocochran says:

        I am glad you reminded me of the red tape and muckety muck. I used to break the rules while at the women’s battered shelter, taking risks with asking for more than some wished to give, I did get a grant written and passed, thanks to a fine politician Senator Gene Branstool. (For more money to be funded into the children’s programming in shelters.)

  18. tric says:

    I know people complain about people but I think there are more great people than bad.

  19. Mustang.Koji says:

    And if the time comes, I am sure YOU will be helped by those who love you, Mamo.

  20. There are wonderful people in helping and support roles/positions who go entirely out of their way to make certain they are offering their best. I think it’s a privilege to be able to help others, and I am fortunate to know many who are very giving. 🙂

    • It makes such a difference in every day life when you can look around you and see good ‘works’ and kind acts as an every day occurrence. I can’t imagine living without that Debra.

Leave a Reply

