Put It Down

I picked it up when I was younger.

And carried it a very long time.

It never made me stronger.

Though the weight of it grew heavier.

SHAME

I picked it up when I was younger.

And carried it a very long time.

It never made me stronger.

Though the weight of it grew heavier.

BLAME

I picked it up when I was younger.

And carried it a very long time.

It never made me stronger.

Though the weight of it grew heavier.

GRUDGE

I picked it up when I was younger.

And carried it a very long time.

It never made me stronger.

Though the weight of it grew heavier.

GUILT

I picked it up when I was younger.

And carried it a very long time.

It never made me stronger.

Though the weight of it grew heavier.

REGRET

I picked it up when I was younger.

And carried it a very long time.

It never made me stronger.

Though the weight of it grew heavier.

ANGER

Imagine the contradiction.

And the irony.

Of how my strength increased.

When I no longer carried the weights.

Put It Down

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

52 thoughts on “Put It Down

  1. This is one of the best posts I have ever read!

  2. Ah yes, for me this could have been any number of things. Great message!

  3. pepe says:

    Great post…so creative with the words and the doodle..

  4. Love the sketch. What a thought!

  5. ksbeth says:

    oh, this is amazing, colleen. wow!

  6. tric says:

    How very clever. Great post.

  7. Great message and graphics. Really makes the point! ❤

  8. NotAPunkRocker says:

    I needed this today, thank you (and I am glad you were able to drop the weights and stand up stronger and straight up).

  9. Heartafire says:

    You have been nominated for the creative blog award, you many pick it up here https://aheartafire.wordpress.com/2015/04/21/1523/

  10. mewhoami says:

    Love this! You are so right. We become stronger when we can accept and forgive ourselves, and love ourselves for who we are.

  11. floydprice3 says:

    Hits right home as usual. I love it!

  12. reocochran says:

    Magnificent words and pictures. I would like to pass these words and images around among my children and family. If this is okay and no facebook or stuff like that. Just a personal message given from me to each individual. I would describe the red outlined bags of shame, blame, and so forth. Let me know, since I won’t be seeing anyone until the weekend, Colleen. I would not copy it or draw it just describe in words.
    This is the most uplifting message, next to the special two that I have already told you were my favorites. Your granddaughter and how she made an ordinary day seem like the best kind to have. The other one may or may not be the angel who saved you from the accident, hitting and knocking over a light post, etc. Hmm, I believe there is another one….
    Huge hugs to you, my friend. This is a good one for ME, not just my family.

    • Of course you can share Robin. Print it, share it on FB. Just talk about it. However you want. I find that to be an honor that you would want to. Thank you for connecting so powerfully to what I write. I think our thoughts and feelings pull us (obviously) towards each others blogs. 🙂 Thank you for telling me this.

      • reocochran says:

        I have sometimes worried that my being a worrier, I have passed this on to all 3 of my children, Colleen. They are over-sensitive, which can mean they get hurt, they also carry baggage around, divorced kids stuff. Thanks so much, dear one for this way to express it without overdoing it. Hugs,

  13. Gibber says:

    Wow powerful post and so true yet as I’m sure you know easier said than done.

  14. Gibber says:

    But possible. 🙂

  15. Powerful post Colleen, I think that we are many who should learn by this, thanks for sharing 😀

  16. niaaeryn says:

    Beautiful all round in so many ways. 🙂

  17. markbialczak says:

    What a load you let off your shoulders, MBC. Straight posture and strong and ready!

  18. Ann Koplow says:

    Incredibly creative and helpful, Colleen. Many thanks.

Leave a Reply

