Instead, There’s This

Yesterday I read a lot of words all through out the day in reference to the horrible things going on in the world.  Horrible things people do to one another; war, crime, hate.   Intensely sad things happening to us by the very nature of our vulnerability; illness, death, accidents.

I had written a post in response to all I had been reading, about how we should definitely continue to do the random, mundane, normal, routine, ‘have to’ kind of things in life.  And how our vulnerability does not lessen by living less.  I wanted to encourage, embolden and hearten.  Because I believe that if we give in-if we give up-than those horrible things win.

Instead, there’s this.  An unaltered picture I took.  It’s just a flower.  Nothing edited.  I almost deleted it when I looked at it on the camera screen, because it wasn’t what I wanted.  Then when I put it on the computer I kind of liked it.  There’s more beautiful flowers.  There’s more beautiful photographs.  But right there and right now, there is this flower.  And this photograph.  It’s something.  It’s something positive.  For this moment and for this space it is nothing but positive.  This time and this space can never be filled with negative and/or horrible.  But if I had not done that, at that moment, that moment could have been stolen by something all together different.  Instead I continue to do what I can.  When I can.  How I can.  I continue to do my mundane.  My normal.  My creative.  My attempts at life.  My have to’s in life.  My random.  If I don’t continue to do these things….then what would I be doing?

Positive Forever

If there’s this, in the time I have,

then the time I have can’t be filled with something else.

And that’s something.

Tagged , , ,

48 thoughts on “Instead, There’s This

  1. Yes, there are some things we do have complete control over and why not keep those things positive?

  2. Mustang.Koji says:

    A most beautiful macro, Chatter Master. Very, very nice, down to the crystal clear water droplets. And your message is beautiful, too.

    And what would you be doing? Or is that “should be”…? 🙂

  3. Kentucky Angel says:

    I love it Colleen. So positive in a negative world. don’t ever throw anything positive away, no matter how small. It could be the one thing someone needs to help them turn a corner.

    • That is so very important to know Angie. That one little thing, that we may not pay attention to, may be the one thing that someone else needs to hold on to.

      • Kentucky Angel says:

        I have found that to be true in my life Colleen. Someone will post something that seems meaningless to them, but will be just what I need at that moment. You never know what another person will need at any given time.

  4. NotAPunkRocker says:

    As always, you capture everything so beautifully with your words, and now this photo too ❤

  5. tric says:

    Lovely photo. Yes I think we can spend time wondering about the negative and evil, but the fabulous, real and good is also all around us, sometimes in the smallest things.
    Great reminder.

  6. ksbeth says:

    i love this spot of beauty in the midst of all the dark. these are the things, the joy in everyday views, that keep us going.

    • Thank you Beth. That’s what I thought. The day started off grey yesterday. I read some posts that were sad and heart breaking. And the news of Baltimore. And the day, though happy enough for me…was grey in color. And there in the chill and grey of day was this burst of happy red. How could I ignore it. 🙂

  7. jmgoyder says:

    My mother and I were just having this kind of conversation this afternoon! Thanks for your wisdom.

  8. Indeed, we have to put one foot in front of the other and continue on. Cannot give up because giving up means all hope is gone. Hope is what keeps us going.
    Wonderful photograph, Colleen. The rose (?) is wrapped up tight, shy, afraid, hesitant but it has hope to shine and will petal by petal unfold and give life a try. ❤ ❤

    • Thank you Tess. It is exactly what we need. The rose. Like us ” is wrapped up tight, shy, afraid, hesitant but it has hope to shine and will petal by petal unfold and give life a try. ❤ <3". 🙂

  9. Terry & I were having the same conversation about avoiding negative. Thanks for this. ❤

  10. Jean says:

    I appreciate this spot so much. The words you put into this space are moving and telling and inspiring and touching. Thanks.

  11. Very pretty flower! Your post said to me, “If there are spaces in your life, fill those spaces with love, joy, peace, and kindness and don’t let those spaces be filled with anything less than that.” Bad things happen to us and in this world when those spaces are neglected. Or.. something like that. 😀

  12. I agree, we need to do our best and not give up, but do something positive in this world and not let the negative win. You capture this so good together with your beautiful rose Colleen 😉

  13. Jim McKeever says:

    Exactly. Thank you, Colleen.

  14. russtowne says:

    Another excellent post and photo, Colleen. Did you notice the “eye” at the center of the rose bud? As you looked at it, it was looking back. I’ll bet it saw the beauty of your spirit as you admired its own.
    Russ

    • I see it Russ…..but not like you did. And now I’ll never see it any other way. That was an incredibly kind thing to say. Thank you very much. You are so very much my favorite today. 😀

  15. niaaeryn says:

    It is absolutely beautiful, perfect in stillness and time. It reminds me of bring mindful as well. With all the negativity, thank you for this. 🙂

  16. Gibber says:

    I’m so glad you did not delete this. Did you notice that the center looks like an eye? It’s the first thing I noticed when I saw your pic on FB.

  17. Gibber says:

    It’s kind of like the eye of the storm where things are peaceful

  18. I know what you’re saying, and I agree, but I would also say, Colleen, that what you do for your family, friends and others is anything but mundane. And that’s what you want to hold onto when life gets chaotic and ugly. You make a difference, my friend.

    • Thank you Debra. That was very kind of you to say. It felt good to read it. And will make me think twice about complaining the next time I am needed to do something. 🙂 Because the things we do for others do matter. 🙂

  19. April says:

    Yay for mastering more of the guitar. Learning means growth. I loved your post about help not being work. I don’t work in the type of job you do, but it is wonderful to see others reach out to those in need—just because. My deepest condolences to the loss of your Veteran. You, my dear, are far from simple minded and thank you for the spark you give me to think. Also, we all need to accept help from time to time.

    • 🙂 Thank you April. For catching up! 🙂 There was a lot going on here in this comment.

      Thank you mostly for paying attention. For the condolences. His service is today. I fully understand how not having closure can work on people!

      It is a blessing to see others reach out and help. This past week has been a week of needing to see that, and we’ve seen it amidst the chaos and destruction.

      And we all do, indeed, need that help.

Leave a Reply

