Take Tuesday

Take Tuesday.

It seems no one else does.

It’s left to the mundane.

Don’t go to work.

Play the guitar a little longer than you normally would.

But don’t clean the house.

Drive some place you wouldn’t drive just to see what it looks like

Decide there wasn’t really anything to see

And drive some place else.

Find a place to hike.

And hike.

Because no one else did.

DSC_0012

Go get a pecan roll

And an iced coffee

And sit in a fancy coffee shop

Because you don’t normally take the time to do so.

Though everyone else apparently does.

Go find another place to explore.

Bridge Over Peaceful Waters

And take advantage of extra time

And go home.

To sit.

In peace.

And sun.

Gathering a sun burn.

And quiet.

And time not rushed.

Do nothing.

Which is something

Seldom done.

This might be something to do again.

Take Tuesday.

If you can.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

48 thoughts on “Take Tuesday

  1. You know, they say tuesdays are even more depressing than mondays because at least monday you might still be thinking about a nice weekend that past. It’s Tuesday when the reality of a long week ahead sets in. What a great day to take off from life.

  2. niaaeryn says:

    You had me at iced coffee :)…that sounds like a wonderful idea. Tuesdays can be rough.

  3. I will take this Tuesday in about 25 minutes! Love this poem Colleen! ❀
    Diana

  4. Good reminder to slow down and enjoy the day

  5. Can I Try this on Wednesday instead?

  6. Sigh. I must plan for a Tuesday. Sounds to me, a delightful day. ❀ ❀ ❀ Sigh.
    I'm retired. I can't understand why I haven't taken a Tuesday lately… πŸ™‚

  7. That was like an actual holiday, just reading and sighing and oh so relaxing. I think I will follow your suggestion!

  8. inmycorner says:

    Ohhhh – I wish I had read this yesterday! What can be done about Wednesday? grin. Great post, Colleen!

  9. reocochran says:

    This is just the best way to spend a day! Including for me, a hike, a pecan roll, coffee and the beautiful pink blossoms and the lovely bridge. Such a peaceful time and yes, Time Worth Taking!! (Tuesday or Any Day, Colleen!)

    • I have such a sunburn on the top of my legs from coming home and sitting out back for a couple of hours. I didn’t realize it was that bad. πŸ™‚ It’s kind of funny. It didn’t get any hotter than 60 or so. But the sun was so direct and WONDERFUL. The perfect Tuesday to take! πŸ™‚

  10. ksbeth says:

    wonderful approach to living fully.

  11. Perfect post – a reminder to be present. I did take Tuesday. To run, to drink hot chocolate, to eat dark chocolate and write. It was nice. Since I read this today – Wednesday.. I wasn’t present. I didn’t sit and absorb. I was all over the place. Maybe tomorrow.

    • Your Tuesday sounds like you took it just fine. πŸ™‚ I hope you get to take every day and do exactly what you need to do with it. And some days, exactly what you want with it. πŸ™‚

  12. Gibber says:

    Sounds like a good day! I’m taking next Tues. πŸ˜‰

  13. April says:

    I’ll take a Tuesday.

  14. Sounds like a fun,entertaining and “let it all hang out” kind of a Tuesday. πŸ™‚

  15. markbialczak says:

    How wonderful. It sounds as if Tuesday took you, too, MBC. πŸ™‚ To some wonderful places.

  16. Nicole Marie says:

    I think I need this. Like, THIS Tuesday. Lovely. πŸ™‚

  17. Mustang.Koji says:

    A definite “should be” situation… And I must say again, your photographic artwork is phenomenal. Your bridge shot had a wonderful range!

  18. Jim McKeever says:

    Sounds like a perfect Mental Health Day. Guitar included. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

