What Did I Do To My Kids?

When I got my babies up every morning I squished them with hugs and kisses and plopped them in their high chair for a  breakfast routine, complete with a face scrubbing afterwards and play for them while I went to cleaning up the mess.  Did I set them up for a lifetime of routine, unbreakable and unflexible.   Or a lifetime of refusing to adhere to anything that remotely resembled a schedule.

When I sat and read them story after story with rhymes (my favorite) or placing their pudgy fingers on words to follow along….. Did I set them up for a love of reading like me, as I hoped.   Or did I deter them from ever having the desire to sit still long enough to lose themselves in the curiosities and wondrous fascinations of other’s imaginations.  Did I send them off wanting to find their own adventures.  Or did I make them dread the thought of something other than the reality of what is right here in their own world.

When I sent them off to school every single day.  With lunches packed, with little notes, or lunch money to buy the school lunch that made them feel more “big”.   Did I help them feel prepared to deal with living in a world where I wasn’t.   Or did I make them feel like I was sending them away.  Even though I was there for them every day upon their return.  Or every day should they become ill.   Did the world without me begin to look better.  Or did the world they returned to, where I was, look all the better because of the world I sent them off to.

When we sat down for dinner every single night, at the same table, with the same people, as a family.   Did I help them understand that as a family we come together and laugh and yell, and nourish, and share, and make fun of and congratulate, and grow.  Or did I make them wish we would hurry up so they could get to the television, or the phone, or outside, or do whatever it is they wanted to do instead of eating dinner.

When I made them do their homework and help with things around the house did I teach them responsibility.  Or did they learn to resent me and the constraints I put on life instead of seeing life as a free for all.   Did I tie down their free spirit?

When I put them to bed saying their prayers and singing Amazing Grace did I send them to bed with love and security.   Or a terrible fear of off key singing and nightmare’s of tone deaf musicians.

What I did to my kids.  I loved my kids.  As best as I could.  It was a feeling.  It was an action.  It was a prayer.  It was a plan.  It was instinct.  It was hope.  Sometimes I was confident.  Sometimes I was terrified.

Whatever I did to my kids I would do it again.

It must have been okay.

They’ve both said to me they have no idea what they were thinking.   They would gladly go back to me doing everything.   They had it so easy and so good when I was the one taking care of everything.

Yes.  I would do it again.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

38 thoughts on “What Did I Do To My Kids?

  1. johncoyote says:

    I would too.
    “Whatever I did to my kids I would do it again.”
    Thank you for sharing your story.

  2. Amen. Happy Mother’s Day, Colleen. I would do it all over again as well. It was the hardest job in the world, but the one I loved the most. ❤ ❤ ❤ It's evident you feel the same way. Bless you.

  3. Of course, but could I get the youth back too? Ha, ha! Happy Mother’s Day Colleen!

  4. Mustang.Koji says:

    You mentioned one key word amongst all your other great ones: instinct. You have it. Everything else falls into place… but we know you bribed them with green smoothies.

    • Hahaha! You, and my kids, are all happy to know I did NOT get in to green smoothies until after they were raised. Trust me, they would NOT have enjoyed it. 🙂 And thank you Koji.

  5. So sweet. Happy Mother’s Day to you Colleen! ❤
    Diana xo

  6. pricelessjoy says:

    Colleen, you were a wonderful and loving mother and you did it all right! I am sure you raised two amazing and grateful children!

    • Thank you Priceless. To me THEY are priceless (if I may borrow your name for a moment) and wonderful. And if I did nothing else well or right in life, I loved them them well 🙂

  7. niaaeryn says:

    That is so sweet; made me smile a lot. Thank you for sharing. Happy Mother’s Day! 🙂

  8. russtowne says:

    Happy Mother’s Day, Colleen. I have no doubt you deserve delightful Mother’s Days.

  9. dogear6 says:

    I loved it! Happy Mother’s Day!

    Nancy

  10. Jim McKeever says:

    Well done, Colleen … And Happy Mother’s Day to you!

  11. markbialczak says:

    Your way was a good way, MBC. Happy Mother’s Day, Colleen, my special one.

  12. I look back on those times of routine with my children with such happiness. I would go back and do that again if I could. I hope your children read this blog post, Colleen. We may be talking about Mother’s Day, but your words are a celebration of your children and I think it would be lovely for them to read this!

    • Thank you Debra. What a gift, wouldn’t it be? To go back for even a few hours? I think it would be lovely of them to read as well, one usually does….one sometimes does….. 😉

Leave a Reply

