Give Them A Way To Show You

Aren’t there some days

When something doesn’t feel just right

And you realize

It’s because something is gone

Missing.

And you live only in the memory.

Instead of the looking for.

You assign a symbol in your heart

Without telling the world

For what is gone

And the next thing you know

The symbol of what is gone

Is there.

Because you’ve given

Someone

A way to show you

They really aren’t gone from you

At all.

And you go forward

Looking for

All the ways you’ve let them show you

They’re still with you.

A Moment With Robin

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

31 thoughts on “Give Them A Way To Show You

  1. Robin says:

    You put this so well! I know exactly what you mean because I have such a symbol or reminder that someone I miss is still with me. ❤ Love this.

    • Thanks Robin. I know not everyone feels the same way. To some this just ‘is’ how they continue to see reminders around them. After I wrote this and looked at it I remembered the scene from Patch Adams with Robin Williams. Which is why I used the bird in the drawing….

  2. Aoko Owiro says:

    This is quite creative and true I love it

  3. I love how you said this and it is so very true!

  4. ❤ Love this Colleen, those who have meant something significant to me are always with me. ❤
    Diana xo

  5. So beautiful. You’ve such a beautiful way of communicating so many important heart messages. Going to be carrying a lot of you around in this ❤ of mine, Colleen.

  6. Oh yes, those little things you keep after all those years just because…

  7. Struggling with this one right now. I’ll ponder this. Thanks for the food for thought.

    • I understand Carolin. It’s just one of my ‘developed’ beliefs. Surely not meant for everyone, or maybe some aren’t ready for such thoughts either. I hope this didn’t cause additional pain.

  8. NotAPunkRocker says:

    Is that a cardinal in the picture ? Because I have heard a similar sentiment about them and smile when I see one 🙂

    • Funny you ask NAPR, initially I wanted it to be a robin. Because after I wrote this and wanted to put an image, I thought of Robin Williams scene in Patch Adams. So I wanted to do a little ode to Robin Williams. I think it may technically be a cardinal. But I couldn’t tell from the editor I was using. But both symbols work here I think. 🙂

  9. ksbeth says:

    yes, lovely and so true, colleen.

  10. So, so true. Thank you for putting this into words. ❤ ❤

  11. niaaeryn says:

    So true, I have done that too. Love this sooo much 🙂

  12. reocochran says:

    I am not sure if you ever read my Grandpa’s message is in a cardinal’s song. I have had him ‘following’ me ever since he passed in Nov. 1980. I wrote he sang a song while I wept, I have had him with me every move and when it rained and he couldn’t sing, he gave me a red, soft fuzzy tail feather while I unpacked my dishes.
    Your post made me so excited at the image, Colleen. I wrote to Guideposts and they mentioned that often birds are messengers or angels carrying messages.xo

    • I’m not sure I read that Robin. I’ll have to find that one. But others have been telling me the same thing about birds. And I believe we find angel’s messages all around us. I’ve always believed that. 🙂

  13. markbialczak says:

    Perfect, MBC. You open your eyes and see things always.

  14. […] Chatter Blog – https://bikecolleenbrown.wordpress.com/ – Snippets of writing in micro-posts; short but sweet, […]

Leave a Reply

