A Parent’s Sacrifice

I had just gotten home from work.

I was tired and just wanted to sit down and relax.

My daughter called and said she wanted to stop by,

I said okay,

Where are you.

In front of your house.

I told her I was inside,

Come on in.

She came in.

We both got something to eat

And went to sit outside in the backyard.

She had to practice some things for school.

What can a mom do?

I couldn’t say no.

Tired or not.

Long day of work or not.

So I obliged.

I sat back

Put my feet up

And let her practice her foot massage techniques.

I think she needs more practice.

The things moms do.

We never stop sacrificing for our kids.

❀

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

45 thoughts on “A Parent’s Sacrifice

  1. reocochran says:

    Yes, such sacrifices, hope she needed LOTS of practice, Colleen! hugs xo

  2. Haha! What a terrible sacrifice! It must have really hurt. Haha!

  3. Oh that’s so good. Made me laugh. Does she need others to practice on? πŸ˜‰

  4. ksbeth says:

    always giving, you are )

  5. niaaeryn says:

    Not a bad sacrifice I think. πŸ™‚

  6. It is Friday night after all. I almost split out a sip of wine, when your punch line made it’s mark. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  7. markbialczak says:

    Why I’m very happy Elisabeth is becoming a physical therapist assistant, MBC. Exactly.

  8. haha love it Colleen! πŸ˜‰
    Diana xo

  9. Gibber says:

    I think she needs more practice too!

  10. russtowne says:

    It’s so noble of you take take one for the team, Colleen. I love the story set up and punch line. Well done!

  11. April says:

    You are one lucky mom!

  12. Nice! Tough sacrifice πŸ™‚

  13. Robin says:

    How selfless of you to allow her to practice on you. πŸ˜€

  14. And so it goes Colleen. Mom sacrifices are endless. Your lucky daughter has you for a mom. It is a whole bunch of giving, a whole bunch of tolerance and a lot of loving.

    I just returned from a 3 day trip to Astronomy camp with my daughter’s class. My body is surely in need of some rest. I have not written, not read, in school mode the last two weeks.

    • Sounds like you need to sacrifice a little bit more….to MY daughter!!!!! I remember my first sleep over excursion with this very same daughter. At her school. For second grade. They had all 2nd grade classes stay. Parents helped chaperone. I was one of them. My child slept fine. There was one little child who could not sleep, every time I looked, she was sitting atop a rolled up wrestling map, eyes HUGE just looking like a cartoon version of her little self. She wasn’t crying or acting out. Just sitting there. She didn’t want any comfort other than to be close to me and my daughter. But every time I dozed off I would startle awake and see her watching us. It was a very long night. I remember those sleepless and sore nights well!!!!! πŸ˜‰

  15. Thomas says:

    So touching! Glad to see you articulating about this healthy mother/daughter relationship; they are not to be taken for granted. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

