I’d Like To Think

I’d like to think I’m capable of dealing with stress and can handle the fluctuating demands of life that are never predictable, always changing, and constantly unstable.  And sometimes redundant.

I’d like to think I’m above reproach, my mistakes are few, I don’t need correction, editing, modification or any type of specific amelioration.  That I’m good enough.

I’d like to think that everything I do is pretty damn good.  My competence and artistry are unparalleled.  Surely appreciated by the masses, once they become aware.

I’d like to think that I’ve long left unsophistication and pretentiousness behind me.  Having grown into my confidence and aplomb.

 I’d like to think that any hesitation on my part is not due to self doubt, but because experience has helped me develop poise and prudence, before speaking, acting or judging.

I’d like to think that every where I go I leave a trail of rainbow candies and cotton candy clouds behind me as I mosey through life.

I'd Like To Think

I’d like to think…..yes.   I’d like to think.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

57 thoughts on “I’d Like To Think

  1. You sure are appreciated by this particular mass!

  2. April says:

    You are leaving rainbow colored candies and cotton candy behind in my world. I can’t explain how you have inspired me to treat myself better and to find joy in living.

    • April what a wonderful comment to leave me. Thank you. I kind of wrote this tongue in cheek. To keep myself in check. I sometimes “wonder” why things aren’t different, or further along (career, writing, or other life ‘things’). And then I remember why….it all goes back to what I put in to things. So I was having fun. I know I “do” things. But I wanted to remind myself that I can always be doing more, improving, learning, etc. And I’m never as good as what I could be. (Not to be confused with lack of self worth, that’s not what I mean. This is to remind me to not get stale…not be complacent……).

      • April says:

        Yes, we should never become complacent. Growth doesn’t always turn out to be exactly as expected. Sometimes we realize that all we have accomplished is exactly how it should be. I can only speak for myself but I place some outrageously high expectations on myself. I do agree that we are never as good as we could be without the effort. (I’m I understanding this right? I didn’t think you were writing about lack of self worth)

        • Yes, you pretty much get me. 🙂 I think we are on the same wave length when it comes to “outrageously high expectations on” ourselves. I think sometimes when we examine and question what we are doing and can we do better or more, at least in my experience, people start to ‘advise’ me to not be so hard on myself. To work on my self worth. While that has needed boosting in the past (!). My quest now, is to remain aware of what I do, and can do, and want to do (hence my disclaimer). 😉

          • April says:

            My sister has Multiple Sclerosis and was complaining what she can’t do anymore. We discussed what she could still do—I hope she turns her thinking around. It sure helped me, just as it helped you. 🙂

            • Ah April….I hope your conversation with your sister did help her. Our neighbor’s son has MS as well. So we know of those struggles. I will say it has helped me, often, to turn my thoughts around. But like your sister, I sometimes have to be reminded by others, or helped by others, to do that. So thank YOU too. 🙂

  3. Basking in your rainbow candies as we speak. Love you. ❤

  4. Seems to me, you hit the mark enough times to be noteworthy Colleen! ❤
    Diana xo

  5. And you would not be wrong to think any of these, Colleen. ❤ ❤ ❤ Anyone knowing you in any way sees you for what you stand for. All good.

  6. Well, for me, all of these things are absolutely true!!

  7. Elisa says:

    I am ever so grateful that I think like that less and less…

  8. You do leave rainbow candy and cotton candy clouds!

  9. markbialczak says:

    My after-clouds are so less pleasant, says MDW Karen. Hahaha. You rock, MBC. You have the Ireland pot of gold rainbow touch, my friend.

    • HAHAHAHAHAHAHA! Well I wasn’t about to draw THOSE! Since this is all ‘tongue in cheek’ we can freely associate those with this picture! 😀 I suppose I’d Like To Think my after clouds were all this pleasant as well!

  10. Oh Colleen, I adore you. Those rainbow candies you leave in a trail will have us all follow you, wherever you take us.
    I love that you remind yourself to not be complacent. It is the way I try to live, reminding myself that I can better who I am every single day. Cotton candy clouds is just what I need this weekend.

    • You are so sweet. As an aside to this post….I used to sit in church, as a child, and wonder how many people were farting. And if they all looked like big pink bubble gum bubbles people would laugh and smile at all of the people bouncing and rolling around on bubbles all of time instead of making faces and gasping for air. That’s an aside because of the picture I drew. 😉 So if we can improve on what we leave behind us…… 😀 And thank you, so very much, for adoring me. That is actually a phrase my husband and I used between us. You touched a very wonderful note in life with that.

  11. Gibber says:

    Did someone say candy?

  12. niaaeryn says:

    I like that there is cotton candy along with the rainbow, cotton candy being amongst my top vices…and it is innocent, childlike, and sooo tasty.
    I appreciate your art of words and imagery as well, but truthfully, it is the cotton candy. Blue, pink, and yellow cotton candy…maybe even and a bit of purple. 🙂

  13. dogear6 says:

    I agree with all the other comments – you DO leave rainbow candy and cotton candy clouds everywhere you go – here, at work, at home. People value you and your input to their lives.

    Make the picture bigger! Shout it, girl! Yes, you do leave that when you go by!

    As for me, I got a job offer but it pays no relocation. It’s by my daughter though. So we’ve been crunching numbers like mad and looking into various options. I turned them down once and they came back again, so I’m really hesitant to just turn it down a second time. But I’m not sure what to do either.

    This is a good book by Elle Luna and I really enjoyed it. If you have a chance to pick it up, I think you’d like it (I got mine at Barnes & Noble).

    http://www.brainpickings.org/2015/05/05/the-crossroads-of-should-and-must-elle-luna/

    Have a good week. And yes, make that picture bigger.

    Nancy

    • 🙂 Thank you Nancy! I’ve added the book to my wish list!

      Oh the job dilemma! How frustrating to not know…. I hope you keep us posted on the decision making process of this. It sounds like maybe you should add some camera filters to it and see how it looks with different visions?

      Maybe this week will bring you some clarity on what to do, or what not to do regarding making that decision?

      It must feel good though, to be pursued by someone who sees your worth. They must see some candy and cotton candy clouds coming out of you!!!

  14. Thomas says:

    So many of the statements in this post I perceive as true, because you always bring such wisdom and eloquence to your blog and to others’. It appears that you have a healthy sense of self-knowledge, as well as a mindfulness when it comes to your own thoughts. (:

    • You’re very kind Thomas. When ever someone uses the word wise/wisdom in reference to me I can’t help buy smile and tell them I’ll accept it though I am still that bumbling child who never looks in the mirror and sees wisdom. Self knowledge? Absolutely. After years of refusing to acknowledge my own thoughts and ideas…I do feel like the past decade or two has been an amazing awakening.

      I see younger people who have such an awareness and I admire it. Like yourself Thomas. It’s a wonderful gift, isn’t it? 🙂

      Thank you.

  15. ksbeth says:

    never hurts to think, colleen )

  16. Anonymous says:

    THIS IS AWESOME!!! And WOW! How ’bout those five dollar words!!!!!

  17. Mustang.Koji says:

    You ARE pretty damn good!! But better in B&W, too! 🙂

  18. reocochran says:

    I will agree with your spreading magic sweet trails across our paths and in our hearts. xo

Leave a Reply

