It Was A Simple Thing

It was the simplest thing, really.  I was driving home from work.  And on the sidewalk to my right was a little kid.  She was jump roping, moving forward, like jump rope running down the side walk.  And it felt so very good to know that kids still did that kind of thing.  Wearing a red and white shirt.  Shorts.  And tennis shoes.  With hair flying.  It felt very retro to be watching.  And it felt very much the norm of what life should be.

I needed that.

A Simple Thing

Tagged , , , , , , ,

48 thoughts on “It Was A Simple Thing

  1. Yes, really at the very best they’re up and down in their scooters if not glued to some tv and joystick. Who would ever think that a simple piece of rope kept is entertained for hours?!

    • Right? And the competitions and the creativity that that piece of rope prompted in us. And all of the parts and parcels along the way that became part of the created world. We had a ‘farm’ we went to on the weekends in our youth. A hill behind the house with a long ditch. That ditch became a huge valley, a divide. We had to survive that divide, we battled over that valley. We hid in it. We created entire worlds in it. We may not have had jump ropes there (we probably would have tied each other up). But we had that energy and that imagination. 🙂

  2. Robin says:

    I felt that way watching a little girl play hopscotch. It’s good to know the classics are still being played. 🙂
    Love your thoughts and drawing, as always.

  3. That is great to hear that because I haven’t seen kids doing that in years! It automatically reminded me of playing Jax, hula hooping, and pick up sticks. We use to have a ball doing these things! Thanks for the nice memory Colleen!

    • You’re welcome Priceless! We had so much fun doing more than what kids do on these electronics. SO much more fun. And I still see kids doing these things. Not that the electronics have to disappear. But there is nothing like seeing kids run, sweat, laugh, get dirty, and having their parents out their playing with them. Or even sitting there, with a glass of iced tea, watching. And enjoying. 🙂

  4. GP Cox says:

    That IS what life used to be before video games and internet!! Everyone sidewalk had a hop-scotch chalk outline on it, jump rope and wrestling on the lawn…. Great way to grow up!

  5. inmycorner says:

    Sounds like your heart just “skipped” a beat! grin. How nice to see kids out playing – living through them once again to experience the sheer joy of jumping! Lovely.

  6. reocochran says:

    I am enjoying this drawing and the old fashioned way of transporting oneself with jump rope, Colleen. This helped me to be transported, too.

  7. reocochran says:

    I am enjoying this drawing and the old fashioned way of transporting oneself with jump rope, Colleen. This helped me to be transported, too.

  8. Wonderful to see a child busy skipping. Beats what most kids do today. Nothing much physical. 😦 Love the sketch, Colleen. It’s sweet. ❤ ❤ ❤

  9. I think we all need to see more of that. ❤

  10. dogear6 says:

    The boys who live next to us are often shooting hoops or in the street playing tennis. It’s great to see any kid outside just playing!

    Nancy

    • We were sitting on the porch last night and we heard a family of children down the street. Playing. Screaming. Yelling at one another. I told my husband…..’man that sounds so normal to me’. Growing up with 7 siblings and a neighborhood full of kids, it’s what evening sounds like in my memory.

  11. niaaeryn says:

    That sounds like the best fun. Loved jump rope as a kid…sad but true though, it is retro. Maybe it will come back in style and more kids will be outside playing instead of on the Xbox inside?

    • I will say, I do see a LOT of kids outside playing. The sports fields around town are always full of team activities. But I also love to see the regular old ‘play’. The imagination kind. No rules. No structure. Just imagination and made up toys. 🙂

  12. Gibber says:

    I’m always happy to see that some kids still do play outside. 🙂

  13. Agree. Like stepping back in time several decades, yet definitely how it should be still.

  14. markbialczak says:

    Hooray for things that last, MBC!

  15. It’s crazy but I get excited when I see stuff like too. I don’t see kids playing with toy anymore. I mean in public. My daughter had her favorite doll she use to take with her ever where… Your drawing is getting even better.

  16. We might nit be able to see this ‘simple thing’ in the future. I bought my daughter a skipping rope and hoola hoop ones and she lost interest right away but if the ipads… cute drawing.

    • Thank you.

      I made hula hoops for myself a few years back to work out with! 🙂 It was such fun and brought back some fun memories. If your daughter doesn’t like jump rope and hula hoops, at least she seems to be enjoying the cooking!!!! 🙂 That is a wonderful thing to be doing with a child. Though I probably won’t get to drive down the street and see her doing that. It’s the same kind of joy.

Leave a Reply

