Well Done Ireland, Well Done

Your Heart.  Your Love.  Your Right.

I have lived my entire life

Without any other human being

Getting a vote

On who I can marry.

Or not marry.

Love.

Or not love.

To anyone waiting on that vote

My heartfelt sympathies.

Well Done Ireland!

But today

If you have been waiting…

I hope you live in Ireland.

Because you wait no longer.

Congratulations to all of the newly engaged.

(My apologies to all of Ireland, I know your national symbol is the harp.  But I can’t draw that – yet.)

Your Heart Your Love Your Right

COMHGHAIRDEAS!!!


		
Tagged , , , , , , ,

27 thoughts on “Well Done Ireland, Well Done

  1. I didn’t realize that the Irish participated in “arranged marriages.”

    • OOPS! No, I didn’t mean that Priceless. I meant that here in USA no one tells me (heterosexual) who I can love/marry. But most of the world if you are in a same sex relationship you are being told if you can/cannot marry or even HAVE a relationship. So many places are having a “vote” on whether there will be allowed same sex marriages. But no one ever had the right to tell me who I can and can’t be in a relationship with. I couldn’t imagine having to wait and “let” someone vote to tell me if I could get married or not. But, Ireland was having that vote, and they voted yes. First country in the world to do so. YAY Ireland! 🙂

      • Oh, okay – thank you for explaining. I think it would be a difficult position to be in, having to wait for someone to “allow” you to marry the person of your choice.

  2. reocochran says:

    Yes! You go, Ireland! I appreciate any brearthroughs in the world in the area of Love and Acceptance, Colleen.

    • I hope many do. I think that there are a lot of people out there showing us the way of acceptance and tolerance Robin. I think they are both young and old, I think they are across the board in all walks of life. And I think we are across the board, in all walks of life, who need to hear these messages.

  3. I think you made a valiant effort nonetheless. Bravo Ireland!

  4. tric says:

    We are so proud here. The first nation in the world to ask it’s people to change the constitution, and it’s a massive yes. Huge numbers took planes from abroad, as far away as Australia, to come home to vote.
    It’s party time here in Ireland.
    This was so personal to so many. My 13 year old burst into tears this am when she heard. So lucky to have lived this historic day.
    Bet the Irish in you is buzzing today Colleen!

    • The emotion in this ‘vote’ has got to be more powerful than I can imagine Tric. So personal, so multi-layered. The generations this is impacting. And in your post….remembering the ones who never got to see this. That really struck a chord. People who suffered silently, greatly….. Ireland really has spoken loudly. The world needs to pay attention.

  5. Not to worry about not drawing a harp. Ireland knows your beautiful heart. ❤

  6. Yay! What a wonderful tribute!

  7. Hear. Hear. I had no idea. Forget the harp. A heart counts for a lot. ❤ ❤ ❤

  8. ksbeth says:

    and this makes me so very happy for everyone. )

  9. niaaeryn says:

    Woot! And I love the shamrock you made. Beautiful 🙂

  10. Robin says:

    Cheers to Ireland! I like your shamrock. It’s wonderful. 🙂

  11. markbialczak says:

    To the forward thinkers over there. Equality for all, MBC, in your favorite place!

  12. Don’t you just love it Colleen? What a wonderful progressive example Ireland has set for the U.S. and the rest of the world. I take my hat off to them, er, I don’t have a hat but if I were wearing one …and I celebrate them for their decision.

    • 🙂 I do love it! I get the hat thing….not wearing one either so I will celebrate their open hearts. And hope the world is watching. Wouldn’t it be lovely if it started a world wide trend of acceptance?

  13. It was a big surprise to me, Colleen, and I take it from what I’ve been hearing it was a surprise to many! But what a wonderful turn in events and I hope that Ireland’s bold move will reverberate and spread beyond those lovely borders! Keep practicing…I’m sure you’ll be drawing an Irish harp before you know it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

