The Last Fire

Who found here.

Who began here.

In The Corner

Who joined this corner

That held up this house.

Who laid the stone

Row by row.

Who created shelter.

For who.

Who chiseled the stone.

Who was excited to see it begun.

Who was relieved to see it done.

Who sweat and toiled.

Who laughed or swore.

Who shed blood on bloody knuckles.

Who felt safer walking in the door.

Last Fire

Who built the fires.

Who cooked the meals.

Who ate that first meal.

Who sat in the corner.

Who was excited here.

Who was miserable here.

Who left here.

Who lived the lives

In the small footprint

Of this once solid home.

Who put down the first stone.

Who lit the last fire.

Who ate the last meal.

Who walked out the door last.

Who thought the last thought.

Who lived the last moment.

Who saw it first as home.

Who saw it last as home.

Who is no longer here.

Who would want to sit in this corner.

In The Corner

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

34 thoughts on “The Last Fire

  1. Harbans says:

    Everything is shrouded in mystery!

  2. dogear6 says:

    Someone was proud of that house once upon a time. It’s a shame that’s all that’s left. A nice continuation of your other post. I like the use of sepia on the photographs too!

    Nancy

    • Thank you Nancy. 🙂 The black and white didn’t do it justice. I tried the daguerreotype. Which I liked the most, but when I used it it cut off too much of the picture. The fireplace and chimney look like another house could be rebuilt around it and used still.

  3. Here is evidence someone once lived there, but the question is who. Sad, isn’t it?

  4. April says:

    I love the photo and your curiosity about the story behind the foundation.

    • Thanks April. I do have so many questions. I feel this way a lot when I see houses/structures. I think of the hands that built them and what would they think now.

  5. Frederick says:

    Is it just me or the last line intentionally has double meanings?

    • 🙂 Actually, I made a mistake and did not mean to put the
      (.) after the second to last line so it would read more like ‘who isn’t here who would still like to be sitting in that corner” but not read exactly like that. But after you asked this I reread it and liked how you read it. So I’m leaving it. 🙂 Good question there Frederick.

  6. ksbeth says:

    wow, i love the magic and mystery of this space –

  7. russtowne says:

    Who indeed. I love it.

  8. Robin says:

    I really like how you treated the images, and your words are almost like a song pondering the mysteries of place, time, and lives.

    • Thank you Robin. I can just imagine a family in this little space, and imagine the world when they lived it. I wish I could ‘sketch’ life like images. I can see them in my head. I just can’t get them to travel out of my fingers. 🙂

  9. reocochran says:

    This sounds interesting, sad and thought-provoking. The photos are really great, Colleen. I like the sepia brown tones, perfect to frame memories of past times in.

  10. Really makes you wonder. And want to know more. 🙂

  11. mewhoami says:

    I love visiting house ruins and imagining the lives of those who lived there. To imagine a life before our own; a family playing together, crying together, kids running in the yard good times and hard – it’s all very fascinating.

    • I can just ‘be’ in places like this and it’s like a book running through my head, or a ‘tv’ show. Scenes and ideas and imaginings…families and friends. Hard work and existence. Joy in the completion and providing of life.

  12. niaaeryn says:

    Beautiful and haunting. History and sites like this always fascinate me.

    • My brain was nearly quadruple in size when ever I would go to Ireland and see this….. Constant over drive imagining the world then, the people then, the stories…

  13. markbialczak says:

    You love the history, and the history loves you, MBC.

Leave a Reply

