One More Minute

I asked someone to wake up tomorrow and promise themselves to spend one full minute being positive.  Just one minute.  Out of 1440 minutes.   That’s it.  One minute.

One minute where nothing negative was said.

One minute where nothing derogatory was thought or mentioned.

One minute where purposeful, even if forced, positive thoughts and ideas were generated.

Just one minute.

Then the next day they could add one more minute.

And day by day.

Minute by minute.

They could take control of their life.

Nothing dramatic about it.

Nothing impossible about it.

That person just needs to be willing to start the clock.

On one minute.

If it’s really something they want.

It’s worth the time.

One Minute

Tagged , , , , , , ,

42 thoughts on “One More Minute

  1. reocochran says:

    This could change their life, Colleen. I love increasing the minutes each day, too.

  2. Buddha9 says:

    Reblogged this on Live Love Laugh and commented:
    like

  3. An awesome idea Colleen! ❤
    Diana xo

  4. Mustang.Koji says:

    I wish certain radicals flying black flags would do the same… But oddly, they are crazed enough to believe their one minute of positive thinking would be martyrdom. Weird, huh?

  5. niaaeryn says:

    Good habits start small and expand. I especially like the positive focus…something I am reminding myself I need to do more of. 🙂

  6. aayusi says:

    That’s a jolly good idea!! Thanks for planting the seed 😀

  7. Linh Tran says:

    🙂

    Climb

    To climb a mountain

    No need to conquer the peak, just enjoy the mountain.

    In life, too, no need to get hung up on goals

    Enjoy being alive

    Poem from The picture book of happiness (written by Kazunori Shimamoto and translated by Juliet Carpenter)

  8. I think I will try this with my sister. She really does need a “thought” make-over! Great idea Colleen! You have truly changed this person’s life for the better! I think if there are others reading this that knows someone that needs this that they can use it to improve others lives as well.(As long as those we tell this to listens to us).

  9. cindy says:

    I’m reading about leadership. The fist pages talked about making a plan to improve. It doesn’t happen over night, but if one has a plan it will! This is a wonderful plan to restore positivity.!!!!

  10. ksbeth says:

    beautiful idea. it starts with a minute –

  11. I think that’s manageable. Probably, just the idea of doing it would give someone a more positive outlook.

  12. Sure is worth the time. And boy does it change the world. One minute at a time. Have a great weekend, Colleen. ❤

  13. dogear6 says:

    I wish I could sent this to my mother! I think she has positive thoughts, but not for my sister or I. Nor does she want to. She’d much rather complain about everything and compare how everyone else has it better than her.

    I found for myself that the days I’m grumpy, smiling at myself in the mirror – even unwillingly – is a great start to better thoughts. I was watching an old MASH last night and Colonel Potter was tired of everyone being grump,y so he’s telling them he wants to see big smiles and he gives them the biggest cheesy smile he could (makes me wonder if Harry Morgan had false teeth when I saw this). Then I read your post and thought PERFECT continuation of this theme.

    I’ve been reading a great book on micro-movements called “Habit Stacking: 97 Small Life Changes That Take 5 Minutes Or Less” by S.J. Scott. It’s really encouraging that yes, small changes can make a big difference and goals can get done. I started it while I was still working and it was perfect for where I was then (and now).

    Nancy

    • I love Colonel Potter! And part of me wants to say I remember that episode. I’ll look it up tonight. Can’t say I blame him for the frustration at everyone else’s grump on.

      Maybe you could print it (without my name! 😉 ) and send it to your mom! 😉

      Small life changes, I like that. A lot. I think we see change as something huge and immediate. It does not need to be at all.

  14. I love this one Colleen and do also know some people who should try this for serious 🙂

  15. Small steps add up as do a moment at a time. Great post Colleen. ❤ ❤

  16. Gibber says:

    It’s so worth it.

  17. viveka says:

    Colleen, many years ago … I was on a customer service course – and there they told me something very important. That we all have the same chance to a good day, it’s all in our attitude when we step out of bed in the morning. In this post you say the same and I’m a strong believer in this case. If we decide to have a good day, we get a good day .. even if problems may pop up … we can handle them much easier then.
    I would like the watch .. have a story to tell about a paper watch … another day maybe.

  18. markbialczak says:

    Start With One Minute. There’s a shirt for us, MBC. 🙂

Leave a Reply

