My America

My America

My America is not perfect.

I’m not perfect either.

But the both of us,

Are hard working.

Willing to learn.

Charitable.

We both have strengths immeasurable.

Weaknesses we are willing to address.

For all of the good deeds in our histories,

We both have failings as well.

We have both taken chances,

And we have both given chances.

We have forgiven others,

And have accepted forgiveness for our own transgressions.

And we both desire

To persevere to a higher standard of ourselves.

No matter what I do,

No matter what my country does,

We both know the truth

Of not being able to please everyone.

I am loved

And

I am hated

Me,

And my America.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

33 thoughts on “My America

  1. Happy 4th of July Freedom Day Colleen! You have written a very poignant post that encompasses millions of us!

  2. I love my southern neighbours Colleen. Happy 4th of July! ❀
    Diana xo

  3. tric says:

    Happy 4th of July to you and America.

  4. duncanr says:

    happy Independence Day, Colleen (and rest of USA)

    [got to admit you’ve made a ‘fair fist o’ it’ since severing your ties to the UK] πŸ˜†

  5. GP Cox says:

    Have an outstanding Fourth, Colleen. Your poem is quite poignant.

  6. Reblogged this on A Simple, Village Undertaker and commented:
    I have never seen it put out there any beter than this. Thanks to Colleen for this poem which should be in school textbooks all across the fruited plain.

  7. niaaeryn says:

    Happy Independence Day, Colleen! Love the sentiment for this 4th too πŸ™‚

  8. reocochran says:

    I like the whole country and am proud of recent tough decisions made in consideration to encompass all that live here in the U.S.A. Let loving our country come back in style! πŸ™‚

    • Loving our country would be great. I have to say, I saw an incredible amount of people working and playing together this weekend to celebrate. Every small community we went through (bikes or by car) were out in force to celebrate.

      • reocochran says:

        I am do glad everyone was out in your area, too. Mom’s and Lake Erie area were bustling and a great weekend to celebrate outdoor fun. πŸ™‚
        Grandson ran races while Carrie was with Sky on 5 miler, I lucked out with Micah in one mile Bay Day races. Beach 3 x (Thurs. Fri. and Sat.) and fireworks. Just need a day to recuperate, Colleen!

  9. markbialczak says:

    That’s what happens when you put yourself out there, MBC. And our America. Thank you.

  10. ksbeth says:

    yes, for better and for worse. happy 4th, colleen –

  11. Heartafire says:

    I love this colleen. I hope you had a wonderful holiday. I am trying to catch up with you as you have again dropped from my reader and mail and I do love your blog, it is inspiring and moving and it is you! Hugs!

  12. Debra says:

    An honest and balanced assessment, Colleen. I think we have privileges as Americans that we often abuse and it makes me sad sometimes to think how we must appear so bombastic to many of our foreign friends. Still, I am grateful for my American heritage. I love the way you express yourself, Colleen.

    • Thank you very much Debra. I try to honor the freedoms I have by doing the best I can. Sure, I fail, but I don’t give up or give in. We have that responsibility. I do see a tremendous amount of “entitlement” in this world-not just America. I don’t want to fall prey to that, ever.

  13. gaines2015 says:

    Excellent! Thank you!

  14. Mustang.Koji says:

    It is my America too… 😦

  15. Jim McKeever says:

    A very level-headed view of humanity and our nation. I wish others could be so objective about our successes and failures, strengths and weaknesses. Blind allegiance and zealotry don’t do any of us — all of us — any good.

    • I learned awhile ago Jim that I need to be able to recognize my weaknesses and faults so I can address them. Ignoring them and pretending they don’t exist leads to a lot of problems….and inability to become better.

Leave a Reply

