My American Day

Bike Ride

Good morning America.

Farmers

Thank you.

American Day

For another full day.

2 day

I heard the Constitution Of The United States of America

Read out loud.

And people listened.

The Constitution

I stood

Among a town of strangers

Who gathered

To celebrate together.

The Symphony

And it was my first attendance

Of a symphony.

The first song I heard

Was

The Star Spangled Banner.

Perfect.

We didn’t do anything fancy.

But what we did do was perfect.

We celebrated

Being free.

Enjoying Our Freedom

I do recognize

That being free

Comes with a cost.

In addition to the men and women

Who serve us all-

We have an obligation

To do our part.

I was free to roam today.

And see my America.

Because I work,

Because I do my best,

To do what I can,

Because I can.

And because I can,

I must.

I owe it to my America

To earn my freedom.

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

29 thoughts on “My American Day

  1. bikebrown says:

    Another wonderful day in America.

  2. reocochran says:

    I like red, white and blue, Americana symbols like barns and covered bridges. Today, daughter and her sons ran a race. Before it began, there was a man playing the cornet, “Oh, say can you see. . .” I saw my grandsons take their ball caps off, put them behind their back with left hand each. Their right hand firmly placed, respectfully on their hearts. It made my day. Tears coursed down my cheeks. Micah ran in spurts a 1 mile kid’s race, Skyler ran a 5 mile adult race with his Mom. Micah got a medal (I jogged along with him while oldest daughter ran with Skyler.) Getting ready for fireworks. Hope you had a special weekend, Colleen. Happy 4th! ☆☆☆▪.

    • Robin, this is an American Day to celebrate and it seems that you “did it up” spectacularly!

      I hope your weekend is winding up with more things to celebrate my friend! ❤

  3. Well said Colleen! I’m glad you enjoyed the holiday!

  4. It’s wonderful to be in a free country and you’re right, we should earn it and we certainly have an obligation to it. Nice post Colleen!

  5. markbialczak says:

    Beautiful, MBC. Americana. Freedom, worth the effort. Thank you, all.

  6. aayusi says:

    Beautiful 🙂
    Nominating you for the starlight award !! Hope you accept it! You are one of my fav blogs !

  7. Great post Colleen, just as usual. We need to remember, if we live in a free country to appreciate this every day 😀
    Right now where I live in Spain I have learned that freedom is not for all to have, so appreciate your freedom 😉

    • I hear this every where Diana, that no matter how free we are, there are those where we are who are not free.

      It is something I do not take for granted.

      Thank you ! 🙂

  8. Heartafire says:

    An absolutely beautiful tribute to the land of ours. Thank you colleen!

  9. niaaeryn says:

    That is a wonderful day, and a wonderful celebration. 🙂

  10. Debra says:

    I am very grateful for what we enjoy as Americans. I feel like we often don’t consider the privileges that come by way of our citizenship. I celebrated the 4th at home and without much actual “celebration,” except that I did listen to some very stirring patriotic music on the radio. LOL! Nothing spells “aged” like admitting that. Ha! But it was a nice day. Your day sounds really special, Colleen. I would love to take part in something that brings a community together in patriotic celebration. 🙂 Very nice!

    • My husband said, as we hit the bike trail, that he wished he had loaded a bunch of big band patriotic music to blare as we rode. Second best….we went to a symphony! On the bike ride! 🙂

      And like you, I am extremely grateful. There is something in the news every day that reminds me. I’d be happy to just be happy, and know that others in other places were happy as well. I don’t want to be happy by comparison. I wish it for us all.

  11. Mustang.Koji says:

    You made my eyes water, Chatter Master… you and gpcox…

Leave a Reply

