Do You Know Her?

I sometimes delude myself in to thinking I’m something super human.  I can sometimes look in the mirror and envision Wonderful Woman looking back.  I have a great imagination.  Or I’m delusional.

Then I look at you.  Delusion identified.  Truth exposed.

I look at you and see a Woman doing as much as any Woman can.   I see you being a mother.   And being a damn fine mother at that.   If I could draw I would draw you as a ten foot tall woman, with your children sitting comfortable across one shoulder while the other hand is raised to ward off anything and everything bad.   You are a guardian of their childhood.  You know when to teach.   When and how to guide.   You know when to laugh with.   You know how to comfort.   And you know how to protect.  Your sacrifice for your children is admirable, honorable and the very definition of motherhood.

You are braver than any other person I know.   You take charge and get things done.  You don’t complain.   When there was no one else to lean on you did the only thing you could, and you stood up straighter.   Where others have toppled over from having no one to lean on, you keep getting stronger.  Straighter.  Taller.

And braver.

You live by example.   Working hard and making your way.   Making a way for your children.    You know that life is not just about working and you play for the sake of playing.   Laughing and enjoying.   Because it’s part of a great life.

If sadness creeps in you meet it in the hallway.   You address it.  You deal with it.  And you send it on it’s way.

If fear has ever entered I suspect you put a smack down on it.   Because I have never seen it.

Your eyes are sharp and observant.   Ever watchful.   Ever guarding.  Vigilant against harm.

You smile with genuine love for the good things in life.   The celebration in life, yours or anyone else’s.

In a world of chaos and confusion you are grounded.   Secure in what you know to be right.   You trust in love.  You believe in commitment.

I travel your path in my head.   And I shake my head in wonder.    You never let the path determine where you are going.   You have taken the path and directed it through life.

I admire who you are.   What you do.    And how you do it.

In a world where hero is not always properly defined I have no delusion about this:

You are a Wonderful Woman.  You are a hero to your children.   You are a hero to those of us who were unable to do all that you do.   

You are a model of hero.  Motherhood.   Powerful Woman.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

30 thoughts on “Do You Know Her?

  1. Renee says:

    I wish all mothers could see themselves through your eyes.

  2. 1jaded1 says:

    I can’t hit like enough. You are a wonderful woman. What an awesome post.

  3. Murph says:

    I remember this post 💗

  4. I think I know this woman. I guess most can be this woman at some points in their lives. What a great tribute to women.

  5. A powerful post, especially in light of all the news and discussions on “hero” of late. Great tribute to women! ❤

  6. NotAPunkRocker says:

    Love this post, and love you too for it.

  7. Anonymous says:

    Love this post. I see lots of wonderful women here……including the one YOU see in the mirror!

  8. markbialczak says:

    You, Wonderful MBC. And you, MDW Karen. And you. And you. And you and you and you and all of you …

  9. Val Boyko says:

    You can only see in an other what is already within you.
    🙂

  10. niaaeryn says:

    A great post for women and mothers. 🙂

  11. reocochran says:

    Such a lovely message for us all! We can believe in our abilities and bask in the power and beauty in these special, well written words, Colleen.
    On a lighter note, you may have seen this message before. I have it on the inside of my apt. door, so I read it as I leave every morning: “I may not be Wonder Woman but I can do things that make you wonder!”

  12. ksbeth says:

    what a wonderful, uplifting tribute to women.

  13. April says:

    Another great way with words which all women can relate to.

  14. What a beautiful way to express, what is motherhood Colleen.
    You are really a beautiful woman with a beautiful soul ❤

Leave a Reply

