Drug Dealer Etiquette

One day last week a friend and I met for a bike ride.

I see lots of things on bike rides.  I’ve seen a man in his underwear.  I’ve seen bikers who have wiped out and needed to go the hospital (I’m referring to other bikers, not me).   I’ve seen bikers crying while they ride.  I’ve seen bikers smoking while they ride.   I’ve seen beater bikes.  I’ve seen bikes that cost half a year’s salary.  I’ve seen drunk men standing on the trail creating a running creek across the path with their urine that I had no intention of riding through.  I’ve seen way too many people making out, but hey, share the love I guess.  I’ve seen homes along the rides that I have no idea how many staff it takes to keep it clean.  And I’ve seen the homeless sitting along the way, just waiting out their day.  I’ve seen, and heard, laughing, singing, fighting, and moaning from other bikers  (any of those sounds could have been me….).

Saturday we hit the trail with no expectations other than a good ride on a hot day.

On the way towards downtown Big City I look to my right and there are two grown men crouching in the woods.  I’m looking down at them.  They’re looking up at me.  You couldn’t see them until you were right there.

What could I do?

I said “Hi”.

They both said “hi” as I kept pedaling.  Well wasn’t that odd.  I figured them to be homeless.  But there was just something a little odd about it.  Homeless and finding a place to sit, I get that.  It gave me that uncomfortable feeling and realization of life for everyone isn’t easy.  I’ve seen lots of kids along the trails in the woods, exploring, smoking, just talking, and it doesn’t really surprise me.  It feels like a kid kind of thing to do.   I don’t know.  I let it fall from my thoughts as we rode and talked.

We passed these very possibly and likely homeless men.  We headed in to The Suburbs of the Big City.  We rode our bikes up and down a few of the streets.  Talk about polar opposite moments.  Homeless guys literally in the bushes.  To this….extravagance.  I felt wealthier just riding my bike there.

Eventually we turn around to head back.  As we approach the corner from the opposite side I see one of the men I had seen in the bushes standing on the corner across the street.  He was just standing there.  Another man was further away, walking towards the guy I had seen squatting in the bushes.   Just as the walking man got to the Bush Squatting Guy my friend starts yelling “Colleen…..Colleen”.   I turn to look at her.  Her eyes are telling me something.  I slow down and she pulls up next to me.   “Did you see that?  Did you see that?  They just did a drug deal right there!”

I told her no!  I didn’t see it because she was yelling at me and I was turning around to look at her.   She assumed they were either stoned or stupid to be doing the drug deal right there where they had.  I had to agree.  I hate to call people names, but if you’re dealing drugs you kind of ask for it.  It was a very busy corner slash intersection.

I think the drug dealers should have a little bit more common sense and etiquette in their dealing.

  1.  If you hide in the bushes for whatever other reason, why not do the drug deal in the bushes so we don’t have to see it?
  2. If you have to deal the drugs aren’t you suppose to do it at night and not at high noon?
  3. If you have to deal the drugs aren’t you really bad at it if two fairly  naïve bumpkins can watch the whole thing from their bike ride?
  4. If you have to deal the drugs….

Yeah, there’s nothing really funny about this.

At all.

I pretty much get that within your culture there is no etiquette.  And I guess I’m trying to find a way to lighten up the fact that I can get on my bike and ride someplace with my friends, or my children, or even alone and come across your world.

I really don’t want to lighten it up.  I want it to go away.  And I don’t mean just go away where I don’t have to see it.    I want it to go away.  End.  Stop.

I’ve seen too many lives and worlds destroyed by what you do.   My bike ride wasn’t ruined by what you do.   But so many more important things are.  Including your life.

 You know what one of the saddest things is about this post?  It is probably the most ‘searched’ title I have.  Not because their looking for my post.  But so many people are typing into a search engine:  ‘drug dealer etiquette’.   Like there is such a thing.  

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

39 thoughts on “Drug Dealer Etiquette

  1. OMG, how terrible! I’m glad you and your friend are still okay. Dangerous! This country is being ruined by illegal drugs. I hate them too!

  2. There are young girls who live in the apartment next to mine. They are nice enough but you can tell they like to party once in a while. Well, let me clarify that, they really aren’t nice because they rarely say hello, even if you say hi to them first. I just want you to know that they aren’t all out crazy kids, but just seem like they like to party every now and then. Anyway, once I was outside the apartment building with my daughter and one of the girls comes out with money in her hand, goes to a guy waiting in a big car stays in there a while, and comes back with a small container. Now I’m no prude but I certainly didn’t appreciate it since I was out there with my daughter, and then considering the fact that this girl is usually so rude. But the drug dealer and the girl did thank each other as she was walking away. Now that’s drug dealer etiquette!!

  3. It would be really great, if no one any longer felt the need of drugs. Unfortunately there are many kind of drugs, also legal as alcohol and medications, which also make people strange in the mind. Good post Colleen 😉

    • Thank you Irene. You’re right, of course, about availability of drugs-even legally. Like you, I wish for the addict to be ‘healed’ and drugs to not be a problem. I would willingly use up any wishes given to me for that.

  4. Having worked in the homeless sector for over two decades, I can tell you there may not be a drug dealing etiquette but there sure is code of conduct amongst the homeless people!

    I agree though Colleen, nothing funny about drug dealing. 😦
    Diana xo

  5. It’s sad our drug dealers feel comfortable enough to transact their deals out in the open.

  6. reocochran says:

    I was a little worried about your saying hi and acknowledging you saw those people crouched in the bush, Colleen. I don’t mind drug humor since believe it or not, I am not so innocent. But being from yhe 70’s doesnt mean i want yo see the real deal. . . Just liked my Cheech and Chong laughs including “Up in Smoke.” 😉

    • I have never seen Cheech and Chong! 🙂

      And I was safe, we were flying by on our bikes, they were sedentary and not moving. They were as surprised as I was that I saw them and acknowledged them. They responded with a startled hi to my startled hi.

  7. niaaeryn says:

    I have seen similar and was surprised how many are done in broad daylight. It is sad…and I am shocked that it is such a common search term. I would think word of mouth would be more the way to learn such etiquette. Mayhap, the police were looking for pointers for undercover? Or writers? Trying to see a possible positive side for the searchers…a thought.
    Sorry to hear it all the same. It would have marred my enjoyment of the ride a bit.

    • I admit it startled me, and it occurs to me how bad it is for it to be this obvious.

      The search term throws me too. I don’t often check my search term hits, but on the occasions I do, it’s always there.

      • niaaeryn says:

        That is a tad disheartening that it is always there. Thanks to Google and other browser’s privacy thing I do not often see search terms anymore…that is frustrating because I have no clue what people are looking for or are interested in reading. So I now rarely check and write what I want to write. It is nice but when terms do come up it has been for head dresses from Big Trouble in Little China, or sex memes,.or spooking and forking. No clue why that is.
        Sorry to hear it though, Colleen. I am sure many come for your writing and Zen insights. I do. 🙂

  8. I already found that whole story crazy and unsettling, but then your last line about the search term really put it over the top. My gosh! Just… what?!

    • Right? I mean, who? Why? Is there a drug dealer kind of ethic where they have to study up on this? I know I shouldn’t make light of this. But to deal with it….

      I can’t figure out the reason for searching such a thing.

  9. tric says:

    There are a huge number of our young here in Ireland taking ‘recreational’ drugs. They source them easily. My daughter was only telling me today that where she lived an icecream van used to visit regularly but it had very little ice cream in it!

  10. markbialczak says:

    It’s a sad reality that they don’t think they need to hide their dealing from the bright sun of the world, MBC. Oy.

  11. Gibber says:

    Very sad. Gotta wonder what happened to those people to drive them to drugs. 😦

Leave a Reply

