Stolen Arrogance

It’s Sunday evening.  I should be getting my mind set for the work week.  I defy all routine and responsibility and hit the road.  With no agility but plenty of determination I plan on sweating out whatever it is I don’t want to be carrying around.

The road is blazing hot.

It’s burning up in to my calves.

The sun burning down in to my face, my arms, glaring in to my eyes.

As I glare back.

He rode past me.  Shaking his head.  His tall, lean, yellow jerseyed body on a lean, tall, powerful bike.  I let him go past.  Shaking my head and telling myself you have nothing to prove.

I thought that for about one second.   Or two.  Maybe three.

I leaned forward, took the weight off of my hands, and sucked in my abs~and all that extra stuff.

For the briefest of moments I thought maybe I had waited to long.

No…

But I caught him.

Silently.

Rode him until I was satisfied I knew he was nothing.

I had to slow down to remain behind him.

I thought  ….. stealth.

Then, just as silently, I let him go.

Nodding to his back as he pedaled away.

He had no idea he was not as fast as he thought.

I stole his arrogance.

And he never knew.

I turned around and headed back.

Mind ~ set.

Bike

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

31 thoughts on “Stolen Arrogance

  1. April says:

    That sounds like fun…I would have been left in the dust even if I sucked in my ‘abs and all that other stuff’ 😀

  2. Hahaha! I LOVE IT! You stole his arrogance. Now you are REALLY ready for the work week. 😀 😀

  3. A sense of accomplishment for sure.

  4. Haha I love this Colleen – as long as you know it! ❤
    Diana xo

  5. honestme363 says:

    Funny how competition creeps in..great post ☺

  6. jmgoyder says:

    Haha – love it!

  7. Debra says:

    Nice! I think gloating under these circumstances is perfectly permissible! 🙂 Now go and have a great week. ox

  8. niaaeryn says:

    I do not know if I could have resisted not passing him once. Well done. Yours was the higher road to take and you still stole his arrogance. Well played 🙂

  9. reocochran says:

    We are at an age, maybe you are younger but still an age where it feels good inside and outside of ourselves to be able to accomplish and meet a younger person’s ability. Even if it is for a few miles, it is a really great time! Celebrating with ice cream, I presume? Smiles!

  10. markbialczak says:

    You got yours, he got his. Perfect, MBC.

Leave a Reply

